We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service despite the super tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Christophe
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good location and service despite the super tiny room”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We started our Cote D'Azur journey from Aix en Provence - we picked this hotel as it's close to everything in the city centre - few minutes walk to La Rotonde & Cours Mirabeau. As we did not reserve a parking space, the reception lady was nice to let us parked the car at their underground parking lot, unloaded all our luggages and bags, then showed us the nearest parking area.

The hotel itself was very classy and neat - we were arranged to stay in room 210. When we opened the door, I was a bit shock as the room was way too tiny for two people with two huge luggages. The space in the room was just ok to place one luggage on the bench and the other one I had to open it on the bed. There was actually no space to walk in the room as well - the space between the bed and the working table could only fit one person! We later bought some snacks back to hotel, we both could only sit on the bed to enjoy the food.

That said, the overall experience was fine. The toilet was clean and surprising, most spacious than the room itself, ha! The receptionist was very kind to show us where to eat and walk around town. Glad we stayed only one night so it wasn't too much of a disappointment. I am not sure if all other rooms are that tiny but if they saw us with two huge luggages, they could have arranged a slightly larger room for us.

Room Tip: Rm 210 is way too tiny which would be good for someone traveling by oneself or a couple with light b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
styleardeco, Front Office Manager at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very glad that you enjoy your stay in our Hotel.

Unfortunately, you stay in the smaller category of room we have but at the same time it is the cheaper one. These rooms are cosy but indeed a bit small (around 12 square meters).
We are very pleased that you notice our new refurbished bathroom.
Once again, I invite you our Website to see the different room categories we’ve got.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you another time and we thank you again for your feed back.

Best regards
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    192
    98
    32
    19
See reviews for
52
176
33
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at Hotel Saint Christophe last September 2013 with my mom and sister. We booked a room with a loft since we needed a triple room. The room was a little tiny, common with most European hotels but it was clean and the bathroom was spacious which is a plus! he receptionists were also helpful in giving information about the place. The best thing about the hotel was its location. It is very near Cour Mirabeau where there are many cafes and shops and it also connects to the other streets. However the con side is that is very near the main street so you can hear the noise from the outside both during the day and at night. There was also construction nearby when we stayed so good thing we were tired from walking the whole day that we were able to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldiaries16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
styleardeco, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Bonjour,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on trip advisor.

Your comments are important; thanks to them we can improve our services and make sure that our Hotel matches with our client needs.
The hotel location is spot in the center of Aix, so as you know we are exposed time to time to some urban noise.

All our rooms are equipped with double glazing windows and we are changing them for the last generation double glazing window which apparently is the best you can have (beginning December).
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Locates at Cours Mirabeau and walking distance to all main attractions and restaurants. We booked a triple room and was assigned a beautiful split level room on top floor. Sitting area was quite spacious with a huge sofa bed with beautiful view of the streets and two single beds at upper level. Service was good. However, the breakfast at Leopold was a bit disappointing at 10 euro. Not much selection, coffee and bread/pastry were not up to standard. Breakfast at nearby cafes were much better at about 6 euro.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eelmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you like Art Deco you may like it. If not you'll be depressed. This hotel is need of renovation and cleaning. The location is superb. Just minutes from the rotonde and the cours Mirabeau. Skip breakfast it' s ghastly. The worst croissants ever, bread not much better

Room Tip: One with terrace helps to avoid the dreaded decor. But for now there is a huge crane hovering over f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FmaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

When we checked in to the Hotel Saint Christophe on our first visit to Aix en Provence, we asked if there was a room with a view, or a range of views from the hotel. The very kind and attentive reception staff told us that it was "a very nice room." In fact our room was tiny and our view was of the air conditioning duct work and a pool hall across the street. We asked for something better and were moved to a higher floor where the same view was a little less intense. But overall the stay was pleasant and the restaurant excellent.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sebastianpuig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Christophe. The location is great. Unfortunately, the room safe was broken. Oh well, no big deal. We really appreciate Sophie's help from the front desk. She was really helpful and kind during our check-in and restaurant recommendations. Unfortunately, her thin, young male colleague was practically rude to us. We stopped by the desk 5 or 6 times during our staff. Every time we asked a question, he said I don't know or you can ask my colleagues later. I asked him a specific question about the lavender fields and he told me to "go check the brochure over there". I told him I already had it and asked the question again. He answered, "yes, go to that town". It's a pity when you learn to avoid the Reception desk. By the way, the wifi was intermittent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Clean room.AC worked perfectly. Plenty of hot water in the shower. Bed was comfortable. Quiet room in the back. Front desk staff was very courteous. They honored our parking reservation in the garage below the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#31 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#21 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#27 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#28 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Christophe

Property: Hotel Saint Christophe
Address: 2 avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Christophe 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Christophe hotel is ideally situated, opposite the Rotonde Fountain, at the entrance to the historic centre pedestrian precinct, less than 50 metres from the Tourist Office, and very near the Cours Mirabeau, museums, typical markets and the Grand Theatre de Provence. The hotel is also 5 minutes on foot from the regional train station and the bus that takes you directly to the TGV station, and 30 minutes' drive from Marseille and the Marseille-Provence airport in Marignane. In the Saint-Christophe hotel, the setting is Art Deco, with a combination of Provence and contemporary styles. It has 67 comfortable rooms, some of which have a balcony or a patio. You will also enjoy our restaurant, the Brasserie Leopold, our conference rooms and the lounge area where you can relax in comfortable armchairs with a drink. If you are here for business, you will be just 15 minutes' drive from the business parks of Les Milles and the Technopole de l'Arbois, and you will appreciate the business centre in the hotel lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Christophe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing