We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
109
241
123
36
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
241
123
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco great location cours mirabeau apple store old city train station la rotonde small room pleasant hotel air conditioning croissants standard room central location marseille airport brasserie leopold garage
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018

The location is ideal and the staff were very helpful. However; Aix is currently one big construction project, including in front of the hotel. I would suggest contacting the hotel regarding the construction status before booking. Also, the standard room is tiny. Upgrade, if at all possible. Wifi was dicey at best. Btw, paid parking in the hotel gargage is limited, so be sure to reserve in advance

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Passenger315662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

The location of the hotel is excellent just next to Rotonda, Cours Mirabeau and the narrow streets of the old city
The bed and specifically the matress was extremely bad. Had an enormous curve that made it really intolerable for a person with a back pain problems
The staff was really eager to help and extremely friendly, but unfortunately there wasn't much they could do.
Since one chooses a hotel mainly to sleep there, this is really a strong problem.
Otherwise, if this would be improved I would give a much higher rate.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in what we were told is the best luxury room in this hotel. It is well appointed, but very tiny. It has a small terrace, but no view worth seeing. It’s bathroom is part of the bedroom — separated only with a curtain (although the toilet is in a separate room). Since we were two friends traveling together, the curtained-off bathroom was unwelcome in such a tiny space. Perhaps honeymooners wouldn’t mind. We got used to the room after the first day, but never got over the disappointment of being surrounded by construction. We learned that a tram line is being developed — good for the city, but not guests at a hotel surrounded by ripped up streets and sidewalks. Check the status before booking. The hotel restaurant is at best mediocre. If you eat there — check the bill. There could be mistakes on it. The front desk is very good — helpful and pleasant — the brightest spot in this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction1936, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear Linda,

We thank you for your comment on TA.

We feel sorry that our Hotel didn't match your expectation.
All our team try its best during your stay with your friends.

Indeed, the luxury room is 1 of our best room in our 3 stars hotel.
I guess, your expectation will be fullfill with a 4-5 stars hotel for your next visit.

The whole city center is under construction, the rotonde will get quickly clearer for christmas time and the final stone is due for September 2019.

Finally concerning your comment over the restaurant, mistakes can happen. It is more likely the other way around that we forget items on bills.

We stay at your disposal for your next visit.

Best regards
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Lovely hotel with great location, however we felt somewhat annoyed that the hotel had not bothered to inform us when booking of the dreadful amount of work going on in the city, parking at the hotel we had to negociate driving down a one way street the wrong way to access the carpark,this we were only able to do with some kind strangers help.
the dust and noise was horrendous throughout the city . Our room wasn't ready, when we did gain access it was like a shoebox., gentleman on reception was very nice,girls were indifferent really/. WIFI rubbish. would we stay in the city but not in this hotel

Room tip: make sure that building works in front of this hotel are complete before you book
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank allen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction1936, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Allen,

We would ,like to thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

Indeed, there is a lot of work in progress in the center and the traffic get very difficult at peak hours since a year.
Hopefully, we will get a brand new center in less than a year with the "BHNS" which is a ecological bus.
The traffic should be improved.

The closest carpark is Parking Mignet which is 150-200meters from the hotel.
We are happy to help as much as possible to give direction our client for them to unload their luggages and park their car.

Regarding room category, our standard category is around 12-13 square meters.
For your next visit, we advise you to book a prestige room for only 20€ extra for a spacier room.

We stay at your disposal and encourage you to contact us directly to benefit from our best rates and advise.

Best regards
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

It's not the fault of the Saint Christophe that the paved sidewalk out front is being torn-up and replaced with stone blocks. But the resulting noise, dirt, dust and general mess made for a less than pleasing arrival. (Much of Aix-en-Provence's old town is currently a construction site, as streets and public fountains are receiving a complete overhaul. Frankly, I wouldn't recommend visiting until the work is completed in 2019.)

We arrived at 2:20 p.m. and were informed by a woman at check-in that our room would not be ready at the normal check-in time of 3:00 and that we should return between 3:30 and 4. She offered to store our bags, but made no attempt to assist us with them.

We thought we'd have lunch in the hotel's brasserie while we waited, but were rebuffed by a waiter who told us coldly that lunch was "fini". So we went elsewhere.

When we finally received our room key (with no apology for the delay) we discovered our room was on two levels. There were two hard metal chairs, a small desk and a TV on the tiny entrance level, along with the bathroom. The bed was in a loft, reached by steep, narrow stairs. This would definitely be a challenge for anyone with mobility issues, and made awkward any middle-of-the-night trip to the toilet.
Decorative glass urns on a wall shelf were covered with a thick layer of dust, which made us wonder about the hotel's housekeeping in general.

The Saint Christophe's public areas seemed somewhat tired. Perhaps the dirt and dust that were blowing in from the sidewalk were more than the hotel could cope with. Carpets were, unsurprisingly, dirty.

Hotel staff were polite. But just barely. Smiles were carefully rationed.

Two nights were more than enough for us. Next time we'll stay somewhere else. Anywhere else, really.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tattnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction1936, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Tattnall,

We would ,like to thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

There is a great
Indeed, there is a complete overhaul of the city center.
Time are a bit difficult for traffic but soon enough, we will have a brand new center with a modern public transport.

We apologize for the late check in.
We are more than happy to organize a drink for you in the lobby while you lare waiting.
I understood that it hasn't be offer to you, and I lam sorry.

We have taken note of your comment on the cleanliness of our hotel.
Cleanlinless is a priority for us. You can be sure that we will underline your comment to our internal, professional housekeeping team.

We stay at your disposal and encourage you to contact us directly to benefit from our best rates and advise.

Best regards
Nicolas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews