We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, restaurant could improve”
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aquabella Hotel
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, restaurant could improve”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited Aix for the first time as part of a two-centre holiday (Avignon as well). The Aquabella is a stylish and modern hotel on the outskirts of the centre, about 10 minutes walk from the Cours Mirabeau (main street). Our room was large, light and airy, with great views of the garden and the Roman walls. It was spotlessly clean, with a comfy bed, lots of storage and great shower with plenty of hot water. Staff were pleasant, helpful and (mostly) at least bilingual - which was a help as we visited during the French transport strike and had to change travel plans more than once.

The restaurant's a bit or a curate's egg. Breakfasts are terrific, especially for France. There's a huge variety of food: fruit, yoghurts, pastries, toast, cheese and ham, and even a limited cooked selection for those who want it. Lunch (outside on the terrace) was OK, but a limited selection if you don't want meat-on-a-skewer and salad every time. However, our biggest disappointment was with dinner: much trumpeted, but sadly failed to deliver - at least for us. We found it a very confusing offering, with limited choice, and the more adjectives on the menu, the more disappointing the taste of the food. Maybe we're not the target audience (or insufficiently gourmet-minded to appreciate it), but we found much better value by walking into town and taking pot luck from the wide range of eateries there. And on that point, it may not sound far into town - but it's a fair way back, uphill, in the rain . . . . .

In spite of the challenges, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Aix, and we'd go back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor. next to the lift shaft, but no noise problems. However, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello!
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We have read your comments about the restaurant. We are sorry you didn't appreciate our restaurant.
We hope we will see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    481
    190
    62
    21
See reviews for
117
600
28
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Sadly, coming to the end of our holiday in Aix. Stayed at the Aquabella for one week. Excellent location, superb leisure facilities, gardens and terrace. The staff are wonderfully helpful, polite and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are varied, with quality and freshness. All in all a really "smashing" establishment. Can recommend also Provence Connection for trips. Details from Tourist Information.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jb332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello!

Thanks a lot for your good comments about our hôtel!

We hope we will see you again in Aix en Provence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galati, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel worths is excellent ! Clean and confortable ,with a nice view .The best in the room is the bed ,which was a huge matrimonial bed . It is situated near the centre . The breakfast is awesome ,french style combined with continental one .

Room Tip: the room at the 4th floor with the view to the swimmingpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello!

Thanks a lot for your good comments!
I am so glad you appréciated our hôtel . We hope we will see you again in Aix en Provence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel to stay in Aix. Good location, downtown the city.Nice breakfast and lovely treatment by staff. Good and nice swimming pool and it is included in price Gym and covered swimming pool. Good restaurants close to the hotel. I will repeat. Comfortable rooms.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello!

We thank you for your good comments. We are pleased you appreciated your stay in our hôtel. We hope we will see you again in Aix en Provence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On the edge of the old town, walking distance from everything you want to see or visit. Wonderful pool to relax in at the end of the day. Rooms are large compared to the rest of rooms you tend to get in France. Average restaurant. Nice bar for cheap drinks on the corner. Very friendly staff and clean and quiet rooms. Awesome complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knives25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your good comments. We are pleased you appreciated your stay in our hôtel. We hope we will see you again in Aix en Provence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
221 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Very good option in Aix-en-Provance!
Nice, clean, quiet, and for a reasonable price.
Location is very good, many restaurants and turistic locations near by. Also, a Parking area very close with a discount offered by the hotel.
Spa, pool and fitness Center in good conditions.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Acboronat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Good evening!

Thank you so much for your good comments!
We are pleased you appreciated your stay in our hôtel. We hope we will see you again in Aix en provence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A large-ish modern hotel just on the edge of the old town in Aix. We had a room with a balcony on the 5th(?) floor. The room was very comfortable, light and bright as it should be in Provence.

Just a nice solid hotel, you will enjoy your stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZN9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Good evening, Thany you so much for your good comments! We are pleased you appreciated your stay. We hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Property: Aquabella Hotel
Address: 2 rue des Etuves, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Aix en Provence, surrounded by a magnificent Mediterranean garden, you will find the Aquabella Hotel. With 108 comfortable rooms. Our charming hotel, open 24/7 all year round, promises you a unique stay where everything is done with you in mind... Let go and emerge yourself in the serene, contemporary surroundings, taking advantage of the Sensory Spa and heated outdoor pool (open from May to September, weather-dependent). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing