We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aquabella Hotel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Lidingö
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You cant get closer to shopping and restaurants than this. The facade of the hotel might look a bit shabby but inside its just fine. Its a 3/4 star place with a nice poolarea and the hotelrestaurants look great with tempting menus . Havent had time to visit unfortunately.....so much to do here so little time.....
Reception staff not overly friendly but ok. Cleaning staff extremely nice though.
Good beds and linen.
Has to be one of the best located hotels in Aix. which also happens to be one fantastic city

Room Tip: There were some constructionwork done on the the hotel outside towards the Spa.The higher the roomnr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good morning! I thank you for your good comments. I hope we will see you again in our hotel. Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    487
    191
    63
    21
See reviews for
119
607
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good location, clean spacious nice rooms, reception staff are not very helpful or friendly but they are not rude, breakfast is good and we thoroughly enjoyed some oysters one evening in the restaurant. The pool and the spa facilities are amazing especially for a 3/4 star hotel. We would probably not stay again it's got everything you need but is a little lacklustre; if you want a clean, good value hotel in Aix with great facilities then this Hotel is perfect. I think if the staff were more friendly, and upbeat or even just smile then this Hotel would be so much better - it just feels a bit flat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good morning , I thank you for your comments. I took your remarks into account and transfered them to the front desk manager.
Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is in a good location. Clean, nice. There is just something missing from making it a top notch hotel. It is almost there. Room was clean, comfortable, nice. Friendly staff. Breakfast was good, but expensive. It was nice that the toilet was in a separate room, but no ventilation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are pleased that you spent a nice stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in Aix en Provence.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A very well positioned hotel in Aix - just down the road from the Cathedral, The rooms are getting a bit worn and maintenance is not one of their strong points. The restaurant was excellent not too expensive, The pool you will love. Good car park just two mins away and under cover. This year it has gained a four star rating but for us who have stayed for the past four years nothing has changed. From the TGV station a one way fare by taxi is 40 euros. All in all a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Good rooms on fourth floor try for 409
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are pleased that you spent a nice stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in Aix en Provence.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a lunch at the restaurant l'Orangeraie today. Food was blatantly partly frozen and partly burnt -- which is quite an amazing feat by itself. We politely pushed the dish away and asked for the bill, just before the managing director jumped on us because we were foolhardy enough to have manifested our lack of interest in the microwaving skills of his staff.

A bad dish can probably be forgiven, if you believe that its unusual -- which is hard to believe here. Not the rudeness and the sheer lack of the smallest amount of professionalism.

Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir, Since you arrived in our restaurant, you did not seem to be in a good mood.
Despite, all the efforts we made to be nice with you, we were not be able to make your lunch pleasant.
We are very sorry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited Aix for the first time as part of a two-centre holiday (Avignon as well). The Aquabella is a stylish and modern hotel on the outskirts of the centre, about 10 minutes walk from the Cours Mirabeau (main street). Our room was large, light and airy, with great views of the garden and the Roman walls. It was spotlessly clean, with a comfy bed, lots of storage and great shower with plenty of hot water. Staff were pleasant, helpful and (mostly) at least bilingual - which was a help as we visited during the French transport strike and had to change travel plans more than once.

The restaurant's a bit or a curate's egg. Breakfasts are terrific, especially for France. There's a huge variety of food: fruit, yoghurts, pastries, toast, cheese and ham, and even a limited cooked selection for those who want it. Lunch (outside on the terrace) was OK, but a limited selection if you don't want meat-on-a-skewer and salad every time. However, our biggest disappointment was with dinner: much trumpeted, but sadly failed to deliver - at least for us. We found it a very confusing offering, with limited choice, and the more adjectives on the menu, the more disappointing the taste of the food. Maybe we're not the target audience (or insufficiently gourmet-minded to appreciate it), but we found much better value by walking into town and taking pot luck from the wide range of eateries there. And on that point, it may not sound far into town - but it's a fair way back, uphill, in the rain . . . . .

In spite of the challenges, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Aix, and we'd go back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor. next to the lift shaft, but no noise problems. However, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello!
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We have read your comments about the restaurant. We are sorry you didn't appreciate our restaurant.
We hope we will see you soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Sadly, coming to the end of our holiday in Aix. Stayed at the Aquabella for one week. Excellent location, superb leisure facilities, gardens and terrace. The staff are wonderfully helpful, polite and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are varied, with quality and freshness. All in all a really "smashing" establishment. Can recommend also Provence Connection for trips. Details from Tourist Information.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello!

Thanks a lot for your good comments about our hôtel!

We hope we will see you again in Aix en Provence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Property: Aquabella Hotel
Address: 2 rue des Etuves, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Aix en Provence, surrounded by a magnificent Mediterranean garden, you will find the Aquabella Hotel. With 108 comfortable rooms. Our charming hotel, open 24/7 all year round, promises you a unique stay where everything is done with you in mind... Let go and emerge yourself in the serene, contemporary surroundings, taking advantage of the Sensory Spa and heated outdoor pool (open from May to September, weather-dependent). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing