We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK...Just lacks character”
Review of Aquabella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquabella Hotel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK...Just lacks character”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights in a reasonable room. Location is great, pool area, garden and spa facilities are great, staff were helpful. The whole place just lacks character. The lobby and bar area are dull. The restaurant L'Orangerie is devoid of decor. A pleasant enough stay but I would only go again for the lovely pool and gardens.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnysideupmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good morning! Thank you so much for your good comments. We hope we will see you again in our hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    487
    192
    63
    21
See reviews for
119
608
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a good quality hotel that we have been pleased to return to.You stay here if;
- you want to be in walking distance from the old town,
- you would like a beautiful pool with or without associated spa facilities,
- clean comfortable rooms with free wifi,
- a reasonable restaurant should you not want to go out in the evening.

There are clearly a number of good hotels in Aix-en-Provence however the town planning restrictions of old European towns means that within old cities there is generally no space for pools, and if you are on holiday in the summer a pool is essential. Particularly if you have no car this hotel ticks all the boxes allowing you full and easy access to all the ambience of a wonderful town whilst providing all the services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevanDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good morning ! Thank you so much for your good comments. I hope we will see you again in our hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at hotel. They just received their 4 star rating. Location was excellent. Pool is beautiful. We had a room on the top floor and the view was wonderful. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Service was excellent and the front desk staff was friendly, knowledgeable and made very good dining recommendations. Before arriving I had made a few requests. All requests had been granted as soon as we arrived. One complaint...no one helped with bags from car or to room. That should be an easy fix!

Room Tip: ask for room in high floor facing old part of city for the view...with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good morning ! Thank you so much for your good comments. I hope we will see you again in our hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidingö
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You cant get closer to shopping and restaurants than this. The facade of the hotel might look a bit shabby but inside its just fine. Its a 3/4 star place with a nice poolarea and the hotelrestaurants look great with tempting menus . Havent had time to visit unfortunately.....so much to do here so little time.....
Reception staff not overly friendly but ok. Cleaning staff extremely nice though.
Good beds and linen.
Has to be one of the best located hotels in Aix. which also happens to be one fantastic city

Room Tip: There were some constructionwork done on the the hotel outside towards the Spa.The higher the roomnr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleSthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good morning! I thank you for your good comments. I hope we will see you again in our hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good location, clean spacious nice rooms, reception staff are not very helpful or friendly but they are not rude, breakfast is good and we thoroughly enjoyed some oysters one evening in the restaurant. The pool and the spa facilities are amazing especially for a 3/4 star hotel. We would probably not stay again it's got everything you need but is a little lacklustre; if you want a clean, good value hotel in Aix with great facilities then this Hotel is perfect. I think if the staff were more friendly, and upbeat or even just smile then this Hotel would be so much better - it just feels a bit flat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate_robinson_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good morning , I thank you for your comments. I took your remarks into account and transfered them to the front desk manager.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is in a good location. Clean, nice. There is just something missing from making it a top notch hotel. It is almost there. Room was clean, comfortable, nice. Friendly staff. Breakfast was good, but expensive. It was nice that the toilet was in a separate room, but no ventilation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are pleased that you spent a nice stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in Aix en Provence.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A very well positioned hotel in Aix - just down the road from the Cathedral, The rooms are getting a bit worn and maintenance is not one of their strong points. The restaurant was excellent not too expensive, The pool you will love. Good car park just two mins away and under cover. This year it has gained a four star rating but for us who have stayed for the past four years nothing has changed. From the TGV station a one way fare by taxi is 40 euros. All in all a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Good rooms on fourth floor try for 409
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandjocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAQUABELLA, Directeur général at Aquabella Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are pleased that you spent a nice stay in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in Aix en Provence.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabella Hotel

Property: Aquabella Hotel
Address: 2 rue des Etuves, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquabella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Aix en Provence, surrounded by a magnificent Mediterranean garden, you will find the Aquabella Hotel. With 108 comfortable rooms. Our charming hotel, open 24/7 all year round, promises you a unique stay where everything is done with you in mind... Let go and emerge yourself in the serene, contemporary surroundings, taking advantage of the Sensory Spa and heated outdoor pool (open from May to September, weather-dependent). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aquabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabella Hotel Aix En Provence
Aquabella Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing