We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay outside of Aix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau de la Pioline
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay outside of Aix”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We traveled as a family of four (2 small children) and had a pleasant stay for three nights.

Yes, location is a bit out of town, but it is on a lovely grounds. (Aix itself is about 10-15 minutes away, and parking is difficult in-town. ...I really dont think you could find such nice accomodations for this price point in Aix.) Don't be alarmed by what people say about the hotel being in an industrial part of town; there are high end automobile dealerships and a garden store nearby - it does not feel dangerous or ugly by any means.
We had an issue with the air conditioning in our room - it barely functioned. I was disappointed they couldn't get it fixed in the three nights we were there, but they supplied extra fans, and ultimately their fabulous front desk manager, Claire, made things right for us - she saved the stay!
Re breakfast: our best recommendation is to exit the hotel and take a right. A very short drive down on the left is a shop called Paul, located on the end of a small strip mall. It is actually a well-known chain boulangerie (bakery) and delicious, not to mention reasonably priced.

And yes, we would return; it was lovely. (P.s. A tip for Americans like us - Remember you are in a foreign country so their norms and customs are different than ours; embrace it!)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinKOKOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    72
    29
    22
    8
See reviews for
42
114
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Sadly overtaken by ugly Industrial complex all around. The chateau and its grounds are beautiful although no lift means having to climb stairs to large airy comfortable rooms. Drive to Aix if looking for life or restaurant other than hotel food which was not up to French standards.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The chateau is a superb building, and the restoration in 2011 is exceptionally well done (it should have won awards), and the reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Although in a slightly odd spot on the edge of the city, it would make a restful, elegant, place to stay whilst exploring one of France's most beautiful cities, if it weren't for some of the worst food we have eaten in years. The restaurant is more expensive than some of the good restaurants in the city, but the food can be inedible. The menu was the same for lunch and dinner for the 5 days over two weeks we were there, and just not anywhere near a good enough standard. We are sure the food is not prepared on the premises and that this is one of those places the French chefs are getting upset about at the moment. Don't eat there!

Room Tip: It's a pity the rating does not cover food! Why is this?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is run by inexperienced staff, the price is based on the Chateau itself and not on the level of service, the large dusty white chippings leading up the drive and to the Chateau would ruin anyones shoes, our garden room was very average no view of the garden just a tree in the window, bath is so high, need a step to get into it
Dinner was horrid, hubby ordered a hamburger and was served a prawn burger with mustard and chips on the side, the chef is confused.
My one filet of sea bream was so overcooked, it was hard to tell what it was.
The gardeners were blowing the leaves off the chippings in the morning, covering all the cars and our two motorbikes in fine white dust, when we asked him to stop, in our best french, he said it was his job and carried on
We booked for 3 nights but checked out after one,
The breakfast is is rip off and as the hotel is in the middle of commercial estate you cant exactly walk out and find somewhere else. The outside breakfast area has no atmosphere at all

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewelly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we arrived in Aix En Provence and didn't know what to expect. among the car dealers and car service stations we were sure we got to the wrong place, suddenly we take this little turn and enter a different world. just AMAZING. this little castle was built in 1606 and the character of the place didn't seem to change much, which is what we loved. the stuff was very helpful and hospitable and was there to tend to every need. rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are all new and very convenient.
if you can have dinner at the hotel, food was Great and Service as well. the surroundings were even better then the food, sitting outside in the center court of the hotel with a lovely breeze, although its already mid July.
15 min from Aix center, by car, but if you don't mind not able to walk to the center then its
definitely worth staying here.
we travel a lot and this has been one of the most beautiful and great experiences we had.
Worth Every Cent.

Room Tip: we traveled with our 3 kids ages 11,7,5, if you need to be close ask for rooms 17,18 they are conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zvi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Make no mistake the chateau Pioline is a beautiful building, but that doesn't make it a good hotel. Its not that it's now surrounded by an industrial estate, as the web site does warn you about that, and once you are in the hotel you don't really notice it. Nor that its a couple of miles out of Aix (although the buses into town do stop early evening - and the taxis back are quite pricey). No it's the corporate attitude of the place, which the faceless staff have all adopted too. This hotel is clearly aimed at the business market. On our arrival after quite a long drive we were confronted in the Foyer by an engineering exhibition, and the associated conference had taken over the rest of the ground floor rooms. Although it was gone 3 pm our room wasn't ready so we were directed to the pool to relax. In getting to the pool we had to wind our way through various groups of people enduring 'soft skills' courses in the open air. I will also just mention that we were offered a drink as the room wasn't ready, and it was only the threat of putting it on trip advisor that persuaded the staff not to charge for it!

The room was OK, but felt quite spartan. There was a huge TV, but no English speaking channels. A nice touch was the Nespresso machine, but more than three pods would have been welcome.

My advice, if you are planning on a trip to Aix is to find the best hotel in the town for the same price as you would pay here and to stay there. I'm sure that you'll have a better stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in the town centre, not here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Exetergourmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

As i tend to travel a lot, i did stayed at this hotel previously and so was told change of ownership, and so decided to go and check for myself. New management seems to know their business well.
Staff was very attentive to our demands. In the end i would go back as i come in the aera quite often. Sincerely from NYer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
807 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Mas d'Entremont
Le Mas d'Entremont
#16 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Pioline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Pioline

Property: Chateau de la Pioline
Address: 260 rue Guillaume du Vair, 13546, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Pioline 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16th Century Chateau, a 2-story, U-shaped mansion with yellow plaster exterior & tile roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de la Pioline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Pioline Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing