We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and paradise in Aix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau de la Pioline
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxation and paradise in Aix”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for night here and loved it.
The hotel is beautiful and even though it is just 8 Km's from town, you feel so isolated and like you are hidden away in the country side.
Jean Paul, the Manager was very helpful and did all he could to make our trip special.
A great hotel in Aix to use as a base for touring this region.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    77
    30
    25
    8
See reviews for
44
122
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Chateau de la Pioline's attribute is its location if you use it as a base for touring around Provence. As Aix is in the Centre of Provence the hotel has good road access to many places to visit. For us, it was Nice, Avignon, Rousillon, Marseilles, etc. The hotel obviously has old world charm and worth the experience. The restaurant experience is good.
All in all, a memorable experience and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Chateau as part of the TedX in Aix program in May. It is an oasis in the midst of a busy commercial district. We were warmly received. The staff were invariably helpful and went out of their way - providing some coffee and croissants after breakfast had closed.

Our room was spacious and comfortable, well appointed with windows overlooking the garden.

We had dinner there three times. The food was good but not great. The setting is so elegant one expects really good food. Other reviewers complained about the price of breakfast - we found it to be the same as it would be in any other hotel - pleasant choices and expensive.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When we arrived the first impression is very nice but within seconds you realise the grass has not been cut for as while. We have been upgraded which is very nice - the room is big but furnished with all kind of different styles and the cheap lampshades do not give the impression that any money is spent in this Hotel - despite very high prices and the neighbourhood of the industrial area. We had a quick look in the room service menu and - wow - for a Coke they charge EUR 15.00!!!! Unbelievable! Looking around the Hotel is in need of serious investment and the "boy" in reception is one of the most hopeless staff I have ever come about!

The TV only offers French programs - when you pay more than EUR 100.00 for a room you can expect at least some foreign programs!

I tried to look at the Menu but it took the reception a while to find one and when I saw the prices I lost apetite right away looking at the prices for a mediocre offering!

For Breakfast they charge EUR 20.00 but we prefer to go to the local bakery and get a French breakfast for slightly less i.e. EUR 5.00 for 2.

Surely not a place to go as they seem to just see the customer as a cash cow!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Situated 20 minutes from Aix en Provance this little chateau is very well maintained. We took the family room and was surprised (good news) that the room is actually separated in one very large suite and other big one and both are accessed by a corridor that has a door that you can close for your privacy. the rooms a very charming with a bit of elegant sophistication. As we are a couple do architects with 2 boys (17 and 7) the choice was perfect.

There are a lot of stores only 5 minutes away an the other surrounding small cities are amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandreGBarroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

In fairness I did not stay here again, there is not a chance I would, but I was driving past so popped in for a drink by the pool. Nothing has changed and the staff remain unwelcoming and rude. They do not know how to run a hotel and need to learn from better establishments. I have seen some of the reviews subsequent to my last stay and it seems that mine was not an isolated incident. There are now 15 hotels rated better than this in Aix and my suggestion would be at all costs look at one of those instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mustbefivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our arrival felt weird as we drove by car dealerships and neon signs well outside the main city of Aix-en-Provence. Not a nice setting. But you turn into the long driveway lined with tall hedges and enter a different world with extensive grounds and greenery. This stately, historic chateau dates back to the 1600's and was once occupied by Catherine de Medici. It has a slightly hollow atmosphere and rooms almost echo - spacious and comfortable. Sound-proofing is weak as we could hear conversations in other rooms. The lobby bar has odd decor, the dining room is beautiful. We didn't eat there - the extensive breakfast costs 20 euros. The staff was delightful and eager to please, especially charming Jean-Paul at the front desk. Several people went above and beyond to help us out. This property is not handicap accessible as there are stairs everywhere. Lovely as it was, I would not stay here again due to location but we must remember it was here before the strip malls were.....You must have a car or you'll feel stranded. Good location for exploring the Luberon hilltowns or Cassis, but not good if you're goal is to explore Aix.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor. Our first floor rooms required going down stairs, then back up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
605 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
834 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,108 reviews
4.9 mi away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
324 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Pioline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Pioline

Property: Chateau de la Pioline
Address: 260 rue Guillaume du Vair, 13546, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Pioline 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive 16th Century Chateau, a 2-story, U-shaped mansion with yellow plaster exterior & tile roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de la Pioline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Pioline Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing