We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”
Review of Hotel du Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Globe
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This small, inexpensive hotel has an excellent staff, clean, well-kept rooms (though smallish), and a lovely roof-top lounge area. The breakfast is fresh and a great start to the day. The location is close to everything, but quiet. We spent 5 nights at du Globe.
We had a medical issue while in Aix. The hotel manager, Muriel Chevalier, helped us locate the necessary doctors and made the calls for us, since our travel French doesn't include much medical vocabulary. She and her staff assisted with arrangements, faxing of medical docs, and other advice. We are enormously grateful to them all. We found that the medical personnel we encountered spoke very little English (and really didn't want to).
The personal service in this pleasant hotel made our stay in Aix a pleasant memory, in spite of the illness.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent three days here. The location is excellent and easy walking distance to most attractions. The size of the room and bathroom/ensuite was lot bigger than we expected after Paris! The staff were all very helpful and friendly and spoke excellent English. Yes, the lift is tiny but at least there was a lift to take the luggage up. Would highly recommend it and definitely stay here again. Breakfast was average and we preferred the bakery across the road which offered excellent coffee too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeffasinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent 3 days there. Terrific value and good location with easy walk into the old section of town. Small but clean rooms, reasonable breakfast for 8 €. Tiny elevator only goes to first three floors not the fourth. The staff was very friendly, pleasant and always helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel looked like it had recently been decorated. Modern and shiny and new! Lovely room, but tiny tiny shower! Roof top terrace was amazing. We had a drink in the late sunshine at the end of a long day enjoying the town. Friendly staff. Clean linen and towels. Air con, tv and free wifi. We stayed 1 night on way back from London and it was just what we were looking for. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduglobe, General Manager at Hotel du Globe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you so much for posting your impressions!
I am delighted you've had such a great time at Hotel du Globe and enjoyed our roof terrace: it's true that a chilly rosé with cheese & bread watching the sunset is a must! Great pictures….thanks for sharing!
Muriel Chevalier
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Myself and My Partner stayed here for 3 nights. We were happy with our choice in picking here. The Hotel is in a good location and it was great to get a safe car parking spot in such a busy central location. The hotel itself has everything you need, rooms are clean with air-conditioning and good sound proofing with windows and electric shutters. Downsides of the room were it was a bit dark with the red painted wooden ceiling, no tea/coffee making facilities (might be a french thing) and the toilet and bathroom were separate. Other than that, I felt the staff were great and really made the place, they were friendly and helpful despite us not having a word of french. The girl at the reception in particular was excellent, so on top of everything multitasking with smile on her face, very impressed with her parking skills. The breakfast was good for a continental breakfast but I think its overpriced as it has no hot food. It seems like its a newly renovated hotel, I did wonder why they have a new spiral stair case that you cant use and the you have to use a side stairs to go up and down. All in all a good value stay with safe parking and good staff.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduglobe, General Manager at Hotel du Globe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Bonjour!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about our hotel….I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
And a big thank you as well for the great compliment about our reception staff: we really try to do our utmost in the aim to satisfy our customers….Mary is definitely top!
To answer your query about the spiral stairs, they actually are emergency exit stairs, very steep and narrow. That’s why I prefer to have our guests use the other large stairs, on the other side of the same 1st floor corridor!
Now about our breakfast, I take the opportunity here to tell all our guests that I totally understand that someone who doesn’t eat much prefers to have just a juice, a coffee and a croissant for €4 or €5 in one of the nice café or bakery around the hotel. We offer a continental buffet breakfast including hot drinks, fruit juices, fresh croissants (3 varieties), fresh bread, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts, cheese, fruit salad and boiled eggs… for € 8. Or you can also have just a good espresso as a good starter for the day! I am delighted our guests have the choice of a good breakfast either at the hotel or nearby in the old town, depending on their appetite!!!
It was a real pleasure having you here with us at Hotel du Globe while exploring Aix en Provence for a few days and we hope to have back one day!
Sincerely
Muriel chevalier
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is defenitely à great budget hotel. I stayed in à double by myself with à comfortabel full size bed, great à/c, blackout shutters and à spacious bathroom. Rooms are white and simple.
( i like white thats when u know how clean it is ))
THE staff are friendly and helpfful.
THE hotel is à 5 min walk to centre.
All this for 83eros!!!
I woud recommend this no need to spend more here. save your $$ for shopping !
Julie and Marie Merci Beaucoup !

Room Tip: Room17 double bed n small showen. Room 18 double bed and bathtub (its big so beter for men
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I'm glad I chose to stay here. I stayed for 4 nights by myself. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and a good size, the breakfast was great and the location was very convenient. I would consider staying here again next time I'm in Aix.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali_bub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#33 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Globe

Address: 74 cours Sextius, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £78 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Globe 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Globe Aix en Provence est situe en plein centre ville, a quelques pas du vieil Aix, de la fontaine Rotonde et du Cours Mirabeau. Present dans l'hotellerie Aixoise depuis 1970, l'Hotel du Globe 2* propose 46 chambres dans une ambiance chaleureuse. Service petit dejeuner continental buffet, reception 24h/24h, wifi gratuit, garage sur reservation. Un toit-terrasse est a disposition, offrant une vue panoramique sur la Montagne Saint-Victoire et les toits d'Aix en Provence. L'Hotel du Globe est un lieu de sejour ideal pour visiter notre cite mais aussi la Provence et ses villages pittoresques. Votre voyage commence ici.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Globe Hotel
Du Globe Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing