We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel du Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Globe
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were not sure about this hotel since it is only a two star but we had a great stay. From the time we arrived, Julie at the front desk was so helpful and attentive. She offer to help with the luggage, made dinner recommendations and places to see. She even printed us directions on how to get to the next town we were going to visit. The room was very nice and impeccable, breakfast was also quite nice. The hotel is very well located so you can walk everywhere. If you have a car it might be a bit of challenging, they only have seven parking stalls available so we had to park at a paid public parking lot, ten minute walk. Good value hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back and it was very quiet, there is a lot of noisy traffic on that street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanaMCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    300
    66
    18
    4
See reviews for
66
259
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here as a base to explore Aix for 3 nights and the price was really very reasonable via booking.com. As a hotel, it was quite basic and bare-bones but the rooms have been recently renovated, very clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. It is conveniently located in the old part of Aix and is only 5-10 minutes walk away from the old squares, cafes, bars and restaurants as well as the Hotel de Ville. It is also about 20-25 mins' walk (with some luggage) from the SNCF and bus stations at Aix. There was free wifi available throughout the hotel (although at times the connection from our room could be patchy and slow) and it was quiet at night. Our room, while a bit small, was adequate for our needs - likewise, the bathroom was a little on the small side but again, quite adequate. For English speakers, you can also get CNN on the cable TV. The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful, so we had a pretty good experience on the overall. We didn't take breakfast at the hotel as there were many cafes nearby which were slightly cheaper. This is a good, moderately priced hotel to stay at in Aix - just don't expect any frills and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face the main road and it should be relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artemisworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent only one night in this hotel. It really is very good because it is located in the city center and we did everything on foot. The room was clean and comfortable. We did not hear noise from the street and the breakfast is plentiful. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

You really can't beat the price or location of this place! Just a few blocks (less than 5 minute walk) and you are right in the town center.
I really thought the rooms would be really small and dingy for the price and was so surprised to get such a nice room that was really clean with a balcony! Also the roof top terrance is not to be missed. We captured some amazing photos one night while the sun was setting!
I would recommended getting the parking garage if you have a car as parking is really limited with the chance/risk you will be towed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrom2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a good 'budget' option for a weekend first time visit to Aix, and settled on Hotel du Globe based on price and location.

Whilst the common areas look a bit dated; our room appeared recently renovated -- fresh paint, dark toned laminate wood flooring, crisp linens, flat screen with English channels, nice little terrace and nifty blackout blinds. Bathroom was dated with tiny shower but adequate and spotless. Traffic noise with the terrace open but really effective soundproofing when closed for sleeping. Reliable, free wifi.

Breakfast was available for an extra per diem but why bother with all the artisan patisseries within a stone's throw. Location was right on the edge of the heart of the town centre so ideally located for the pedestrian tourist.

We were really happy with this place. The price was right, and if anything they undersell themselves with their marketing photos/etc. Happily recommended - Bon voyage!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Looking for a decent budget room for your stay in Aix-En-Provence? Look no farther! For it's price the rooms are clean and comfortable and you are pretty close to the interesting parts of town. In particular if you are the night owl/lounge type there are several bars and cafes open on the street that the hotel is located at, so you'll find plenty to do to keep you up.

It's a bit of a distance from the TGV bus stop of the city train station, so be prepared for a walk. Like most hotels I've been to in France, the elevator is tiny so try not to pack multiple giant suitcases or you'll be making several trips.

The room was suitable. Tiny, as you would expect in France on a budget, but clean and comfortable. My one complaint was the shower, which was tiny and a sort of two closing door barrier. It's easy to not quite close it all the way and get water all over your bathroom floor. Also the hallway had a slight smell to it, but it was bearable and didn't follow into the room.

The staff was nice and spoke English, so I had no problems there. Overall, not the most beautiful hotel but great for a stay when you need a place to sleep on the (relative) cheap.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We just wanted an inexpensive base for an overnight stop in Aix plus a chance for a quick explore before we moved on to Avignon. This fitted the bill perfectly. Easy walking distance to all the sights and restaurants; very friendly and helpful staff on the desk; overnight parking (for nine euros, I think) in the secure adjacent car park; and an excellent buffet breakfast. The room was small but it was fine - comfortable and clean. I'd want a more spacious room for a longer stay but I'm very happy to recommend it highly for an overnight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinbrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#11 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#12 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Globe

Property: Hotel du Globe
Address: 74 cours Sextius, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Globe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Globe Aix en Provence est situe en plein centre ville, a quelques pas du vieil Aix, de la fontaine Rotonde et du Cours Mirabeau. Present dans l'hotellerie Aixoise depuis 1970, l'Hotel du Globe 2* propose 46 chambres dans une ambiance chaleureuse. Service petit dejeuner continental buffet, reception 24h/24h, wifi gratuit, garage sur reservation. Un toit-terrasse est a disposition, offrant une vue panoramique sur la Montagne Saint-Victoire et les toits d'Aix en Provence. L'Hotel du Globe est un lieu de sejour ideal pour visiter notre cite mais aussi la Provence et ses villages pittoresques. Votre voyage commence ici.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Globe Hotel
Du Globe Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing