We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like almost like a three star boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Globe
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Felt like almost like a three star boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel in a a small but tastefully decorated and furnished room with a comfortable double bed. It was in a great location, close to the train station and bus terminal and a short walk from the centre of the old town. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the Wifi was good and there was a decent selection of cable TV channels. The hotel also had a wonderful sunny roof top terrace with views over Aix and beyond. It was equipped with sun lounges, tables and chairs and was a great place to watch the sun go down over a picnic dinner with wine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduglobe, Directeur général at Hotel du Globe, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear SuzieLee,
Thank you so much for your nice words; the whole team has sincerely appreciated your fantastic & fair comments.
I am delighted you had a lovely stay with us :-)
Take good care!
Muriel Chevalier
Manager
Hotel du Globe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    297
    66
    18
    4
See reviews for
66
257
43
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a quick pass-through visit to Aix en Provence. Holel is In the center of the old town which is dirty (lots of dog dirt on the street, buildings that could be quaint but are unkept, etc.). Hotel is clean and well kept. Lobby is newly redone and small but nice. Breakfast area is neat and pleasant. Good for a quick breakfast (costs extra). Room was at the back and therefore fairly quiet. The room smelled of fresh paint which was unpleasant. Furniture was cheap looking but did the job. Beds were fairly hard but not horrible. However, the pillows were the worst I have ever had. Pancakes would have been better. Bathroom only had low hand-held shower. It did the job but wasn't ideal. We parked nearby on the street to check in and thought the hotel had parking. Got a parking ticket for €60 for some reason I have yet to understand. The hotel only has 7 spaces so we paid €45 to park in a nearly garage. Overall, it was a clean room in which to sleep. Would probably choose somewhere else for a better experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MABOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduglobe, Directeur général at Hotel du Globe, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions about our 2* hotel and also our old city of Aix en Provence, after a one night stay. I noticed you have appreciated our location, the cleanness, our lobby, our breakfast area. I hope you had time to enjoy our roof terrace as well. In regards to the room, painting has been done in December and January when the hotel was closed, beds are new, 4 pillows are available in each double room and we’ve just started our new project which is the renovation of our bathrooms. I totally agree with you about parking in Aix, it is quite difficult as well as driving in the historic center. That’s also why Aix is such an amazing old town where walking to discover it is most enjoyable. We can park only 7 cars in our hotel garage but many public parking are located just nearby at the cost of € 15 / 24h. I feel so sorry for you that you didn’t appreciate your day spent in Aix en Provence... I hope to welcome you here for another experience.
Muriel Chevalier
Manager
Hotel du Globe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed there for three nights from 29 Apri to 1 May.
First, the location is good. It's easy to find, and a bus stop to the train station and bus terminal is close.
Second, hotel staffs were friendly. I've seen four different staffs during the stay, and every staff was so nice and kind.
Third, the cleaness of the hotel was better than expected. I've stayed a few budget hotels in Paris, but they had common cleaness issues. So, I had been worried about it, but the room seems newly renovated and clean.
Simply good enogh!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiazoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were not sure about this hotel since it is only a two star but we had a great stay. From the time we arrived, Julie at the front desk was so helpful and attentive. She offer to help with the luggage, made dinner recommendations and places to see. She even printed us directions on how to get to the next town we were going to visit. The room was very nice and impeccable, breakfast was also quite nice. The hotel is very well located so you can walk everywhere. If you have a car it might be a bit of challenging, they only have seven parking stalls available so we had to park at a paid public parking lot, ten minute walk. Good value hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back and it was very quiet, there is a lot of noisy traffic on that street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanaMCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here as a base to explore Aix for 3 nights and the price was really very reasonable via booking.com. As a hotel, it was quite basic and bare-bones but the rooms have been recently renovated, very clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. It is conveniently located in the old part of Aix and is only 5-10 minutes walk away from the old squares, cafes, bars and restaurants as well as the Hotel de Ville. It is also about 20-25 mins' walk (with some luggage) from the SNCF and bus stations at Aix. There was free wifi available throughout the hotel (although at times the connection from our room could be patchy and slow) and it was quiet at night. Our room, while a bit small, was adequate for our needs - likewise, the bathroom was a little on the small side but again, quite adequate. For English speakers, you can also get CNN on the cable TV. The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful, so we had a pretty good experience on the overall. We didn't take breakfast at the hotel as there were many cafes nearby which were slightly cheaper. This is a good, moderately priced hotel to stay at in Aix - just don't expect any frills and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face the main road and it should be relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artemisworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent only one night in this hotel. It really is very good because it is located in the city center and we did everything on foot. The room was clean and comfortable. We did not hear noise from the street and the breakfast is plentiful. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

You really can't beat the price or location of this place! Just a few blocks (less than 5 minute walk) and you are right in the town center.
I really thought the rooms would be really small and dingy for the price and was so surprised to get such a nice room that was really clean with a balcony! Also the roof top terrance is not to be missed. We captured some amazing photos one night while the sun was setting!
I would recommended getting the parking garage if you have a car as parking is really limited with the chance/risk you will be towed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrom2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Globe

Property: Hotel du Globe
Address: 74 cours Sextius, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Globe 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Globe Aix en Provence est situe en plein centre ville, a quelques pas du vieil Aix, de la fontaine Rotonde et du Cours Mirabeau. Present dans l'hotellerie Aixoise depuis 1970, l'Hotel du Globe 2* propose 46 chambres dans une ambiance chaleureuse. Service petit dejeuner continental buffet, reception 24h/24h, wifi gratuit, garage sur reservation. Un toit-terrasse est a disposition, offrant une vue panoramique sur la Montagne Saint-Victoire et les toits d'Aix en Provence. L'Hotel du Globe est un lieu de sejour ideal pour visiter notre cite mais aussi la Provence et ses villages pittoresques. Votre voyage commence ici.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Globe Hotel
Du Globe Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing