We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tourist-friendly”
Review of Hotel du Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Globe
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Right in the heart of Aix, and walking distance to all center-city sites, this budget hotel was a welcome surprise. The staff was outstanding -- very welcoming and helpful. Not only did the manager direct us to their lovely rooftop terrace, she offered to cool or keep any purchases, advised us on sights and repeatedly asked how we were doing. The petit dejaner was more than adequate and better-priced than comparable offerings in the local restaurants. The room was small, as to be expected in the city center, with a lovely small terrace overlooking the bustling, tree-lined street. As an added bonus, there was an electric blackout shade that allowed us to sleep in blissful darkness (no streetlight came through at all). I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler to Aix, budget or otherwise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

From the outside and seeing the two star sign, my first thoughts were not very good, but this changed as soon as entered the hotel

Firstly a charming and very pretty hostess welcomed us, with a 'bienvenue à notre hotel' she then explained about breakfast times, and other local details, especially about their 4th floor terrasse which to be honest is just great, very calm, sunny and with sun beds, a nicely hidden detail in the middle of Aix

Our room was extremely clean, room #31, the bed comfortable, with a nice bathroom, the only critic I would give and its not the hotel's fault is the noise, tour room was on the street side, and in the evening there a a couple of bars not far away, so you could not sleep with the window open, there is of course air conditioning, which we didn't use

If you need a quiet room as for a room that is not on the street side

Breakfast is fine, with two prices, either 4 or 8 euros depending if you just want a smallish breakfast or a bigger one

A hotel that I can recommend, you are minutes away from the center of town and so just great for a break, well worth stopping there.

Room Tip: chose the rooms on away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had just stayed at Hotel du Globe 2 days ago for 1 night only.
The location is superb being near to everything. We got a room on 2 floor facing the back side. This works fine for us since we had just finished our long journey from Asia to Aix-en-Provence. We really need a good night sleep for the journey ahead. Anyway the room is clean and quiet even though it is quite basic. What could we ask for at this price?
We had the breakfast which is quite adequate,
My only complaint is the car park. The entrance and the parking space are quite narrow. It is not built for big cars!
Anyway Hotel du Globe is great for a short stay. I would recommend this hotel if budget is a concern.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkfchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in May 2014. Some rooms larger than others (could tell by emergency exit floor plan), ours was definitely one of the smaller ones, saved from claustrophobia by our terrace which helped make the room feel a bit more airy. Staff was very nice and helpful, breakfast was average (not as many choices as other places I've stayed in France, but had a bit of meat and cheese, so at least more than just bread and coffee), TV, wifi (was down one night but they had it fixed next day), no safes in room, rooms fairly quiet with terrace door shut. Everything clean, not a bad choice for a simple and short stay. Large terrace with chairs and tables also on top floor available to all guests, nice when sun less hot.

Aix not very large, so easy walking to anywhere from this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank km_travels_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduglobe, Directeur général at Hotel du Globe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear km_travels_8,
Thank you for staying here with us at Hotel du Globe and for taking time to write a review about our 2 star hotel. I confirm that we have different categories of rooms: triples are indeed larger that doubles or singles. All our rooms are very bright & clear, size for a double is around 17 m² and it sounds like you were lucky enough to get one with a balcony. Our continental buffet breakfast offers not only hot drinks, expresso, juices, cereals, bread and pastries, but also dry sausage, cheese, fruit salad, yogurts, fresh fruits and boiled eggs, for only €8.80. Concerning our great roof terrace, be reassured one part is exposed to sunshine for those who want to sunbath, and another part is shaded by a nice shade sail for those whose Provencal sun is a little too hot. You are right, the historic center of Aix en Provence is quite small and our terrace is so enjoyable and relaxing after an active visit by walk. See you soon!
Muriel Chevalier
Manager
Hotel du Globe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel in a a small but tastefully decorated and furnished room with a comfortable double bed. It was in a great location, close to the train station and bus terminal and a short walk from the centre of the old town. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the Wifi was good and there was a decent selection of cable TV channels. The hotel also had a wonderful sunny roof top terrace with views over Aix and beyond. It was equipped with sun lounges, tables and chairs and was a great place to watch the sun go down over a picnic dinner with wine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduglobe, Directeur général at Hotel du Globe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SuzieLee,
Thank you so much for your nice words; the whole team has sincerely appreciated your fantastic & fair comments.
I am delighted you had a lovely stay with us :-)
Take good care!
Muriel Chevalier
Manager
Hotel du Globe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a quick pass-through visit to Aix en Provence. Holel is In the center of the old town which is dirty (lots of dog dirt on the street, buildings that could be quaint but are unkept, etc.). Hotel is clean and well kept. Lobby is newly redone and small but nice. Breakfast area is neat and pleasant. Good for a quick breakfast (costs extra). Room was at the back and therefore fairly quiet. The room smelled of fresh paint which was unpleasant. Furniture was cheap looking but did the job. Beds were fairly hard but not horrible. However, the pillows were the worst I have ever had. Pancakes would have been better. Bathroom only had low hand-held shower. It did the job but wasn't ideal. We parked nearby on the street to check in and thought the hotel had parking. Got a parking ticket for €60 for some reason I have yet to understand. The hotel only has 7 spaces so we paid €45 to park in a nearly garage. Overall, it was a clean room in which to sleep. Would probably choose somewhere else for a better experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MABOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduglobe, Directeur général at Hotel du Globe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your impressions about our 2* hotel and also our old city of Aix en Provence, after a one night stay. I noticed you have appreciated our location, the cleanness, our lobby, our breakfast area. I hope you had time to enjoy our roof terrace as well. In regards to the room, painting has been done in December and January when the hotel was closed, beds are new, 4 pillows are available in each double room and we’ve just started our new project which is the renovation of our bathrooms. I totally agree with you about parking in Aix, it is quite difficult as well as driving in the historic center. That’s also why Aix is such an amazing old town where walking to discover it is most enjoyable. We can park only 7 cars in our hotel garage but many public parking are located just nearby at the cost of € 15 / 24h. I feel so sorry for you that you didn’t appreciate your day spent in Aix en Provence... I hope to welcome you here for another experience.
Muriel Chevalier
Manager
Hotel du Globe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed there for three nights from 29 Apri to 1 May.
First, the location is good. It's easy to find, and a bus stop to the train station and bus terminal is close.
Second, hotel staffs were friendly. I've seen four different staffs during the stay, and every staff was so nice and kind.
Third, the cleaness of the hotel was better than expected. I've stayed a few budget hotels in Paris, but they had common cleaness issues. So, I had been worried about it, but the room seems newly renovated and clean.
Simply good enogh!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiazoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Globe

Address: 74 cours Sextius, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £81 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Globe 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Globe Aix en Provence est situe en plein centre ville, a quelques pas du vieil Aix, de la fontaine Rotonde et du Cours Mirabeau. Present dans l'hotellerie Aixoise depuis 1970, l'Hotel du Globe 2* propose 46 chambres dans une ambiance chaleureuse. Service petit dejeuner continental buffet, reception 24h/24h, wifi gratuit, garage sur reservation. Un toit-terrasse est a disposition, offrant une vue panoramique sur la Montagne Saint-Victoire et les toits d'Aix en Provence. L'Hotel du Globe est un lieu de sejour ideal pour visiter notre cite mais aussi la Provence et ses villages pittoresques. Votre voyage commence ici.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Globe Hotel
Du Globe Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing