We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel. Great location”
Review of Hotel du Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Globe
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Fantastic location opposite old town close to restaurants etc

Hotel is quite dated, though clean. Definitely not luxurious!

Rooms at the back have views of internal courtyard & are reasonably quiet

Roof terrace has fantastic views but is quite rundown

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gl0balTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Globe for 3 nights at the end of June. Great location and great price. The receptionist at the desk was most friendly and helpful. There was plenty of storage space in the room, windows had double gazing, and beds were pretty comfortable. There is an added benefit of a garage for a reasonable rate if you have a car. I would definitely recommend the Globe and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m&m56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The Hotel du Globe was pretty much as expected. The room was quite plain with old furniture, but a comfortable bed. The room had a balcony which was very pleasant, as we were on the third floor, away from the road. The air conditioning worked well. A pity there was no fridge, but you can't have everything. The bathroom was fine, but the shower was a bit small. The breakfast was very good and was good value, if, like me, you like to eat a large breakfast. The only snag was that, because the hotel is quite cheap, there was a group of American teenagers at breakfast, dominating the breakfast room with all their backpacks etc. They were not badly behaved, but it was not a quiet, peaceful breakfast! The hotel was very good value for 75 Euros per night, excluding breakfast, so I think you have to accept that it will attract young people at that price. All in all, I would recommend this hotel as good and acceptable for the price paid for a few nights' stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Hotel du Globe was a good choice for a one night stay in Aix-en-Provence. We checked in at night, and the night staff was helpful, and told us they had a cancellation and let us put our car in the garage. The day staff were also nice and helpful.
Our room was really plain, maybe needs some new paint, but was clean enough, and not noisy although it was overlooking the street. It has a/c, which is great, has a tv and the size is OK.
The location of the hotel is really good, it is walking distance to the city center to go sightseeing, so we left our car there and explored the city. We didn't take breakfast at the hotel, so can't comment on it.
Liked best: location, clean, parking.
Liked least: not so comfortable for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationTimeGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed for 5 nights in the heat of July, 2009. Hotel du Globe is in a fantastic location in Aix: the Hotel de Ville is literally right up the street, s short walk of a few minutes. Right next to the Hotel de Ville is the major outdoor seating restaurant area, with literally 20-30 restaurants from which to choose.

Right across the street from the hotel is a wonderful bakery.
The hotel is simple and basic, but the rooms are actually quite large; the a/c was heavenly. The windows have metal slide down shades for total quiet at night. The hosts speak English and are helpful.

There is a garage for parking! Reserve in advance. Parking in Aix is VERY hard to find.
Overall: a fantastic hotel at far less than comparable Aix hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinqueArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

For the money, you can't go past this hotel. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a lovel balcony overlooking the street. It wasn't noisy at night as you can put an electronic door down in front of the glass.

It was a good size room however, the shower was VERY small.

Great location, couldn't have been better.

Friendly receptionist with good English.

We paid for their parking which was adequate. Wouldn't have been much good for a large car.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooks1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We found this hotel perfect for our requirements and budget. It's location is ideal for exploring the old "Aix". Across the road is the fantastic patisserie " Le Fournee de Joseph" where you get a great coffee, great food and a wonderful welcome and great service.
The hotel is close to shops, bars, restaurants and the thermal spa.
Not far to train and bus stations, Cours Mirabeau and various other attractions.
Although breakfast is available at the hotel, it is optional and at 8 Euro per person, there is a far better option across the street.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HJHKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#35 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Globe

Address: 74 cours Sextius, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £77 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Globe 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Globe Aix en Provence est situe en plein centre ville, a quelques pas du vieil Aix, de la fontaine Rotonde et du Cours Mirabeau. Present dans l'hotellerie Aixoise depuis 1970, l'Hotel du Globe 2* propose 46 chambres dans une ambiance chaleureuse. Service petit dejeuner continental buffet, reception 24h/24h, wifi gratuit, garage sur reservation. Un toit-terrasse est a disposition, offrant une vue panoramique sur la Montagne Saint-Victoire et les toits d'Aix en Provence. L'Hotel du Globe est un lieu de sejour ideal pour visiter notre cite mais aussi la Provence et ses villages pittoresques. Votre voyage commence ici.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Globe Hotel
Du Globe Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing