We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful and peaceful sight to see”

Montagne Sainte Victoire
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.85*
and up
Private Tour: Marseille and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This majestic mountain was the subject of several Paul Cézanne paintings.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
431 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful sight to see”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

On our tour of Aix de Provence we saw this mountain and it was so beautiful and peaceful. I was not familiar with the paintings of Paul Cezanne but now I am and can understand why.

This was the highlight of Aix de Provence for me.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gregmNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    216
    21
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Go on a clear day”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Once out of the hubbub of Aix en Provence and its suburbs, you can quickly find yourself in areas that are peaceful, quiet and beautiful. The countryside around the mountain is rich farmland, dotted with attractive little villages that captivated the artist Paul Cezanne - and rightly so. I rode here and there in the area, all with the mountain by my shoulder, and I could never stop gawking. A rugged, stunning area of Provence.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank D'Arcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I love it...”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I leave nearby and I love this mountain. It's one of the most magic landscapes in Provence. Totally worth going around it and if you're brave and have few hours, you can easily climb at the top for a nice view of the valley. But probably the best is to see it from the South of Aix-en-Provence

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stunning views in a relatively unspoiled location. Well worth the climb. Small visitors centre with toilets and parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ploppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great nature”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Didn't actually hike Mt. St. Victoire, but in Cezanne's footsteps from where he painted his favorite mountain. Perfect weather made for a great hiking experience with a very good guide to make it educational as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezertravls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montagne Sainte Victoire also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Montagne Sainte Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing