We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour Designer in Provence”

Tour Designer in Provence Private Tours
Ranked #1 of 44 Tours in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TOUR DESIGNER - Private tours in Provence with private tout guides
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are just concluding a 12 day cruise and this private tour we booked through Tour Designer Catherine, was simply the highlight. The guide, Marjolaine, was everything and more. She was prompt, informative, enjoyable, and it was as if she could read our minds at all times. We saw three beautiful places (Cassis, Sanary and the hilltop village of Castellet) AND we stopped at a winery! We returned to the cruiseship in plenty of time and in talking with fellow cruisers NO ONE had the extraordinary day we enjoyed out of the Toulon port. ONLY with this magnificent design company. Absolutely a must! Oh my.....nearly forgot another two extraordinary highlights----We swam at the beach AND visited three mini fiords (les calamques) via a local boat. Amazing! Sincerely, A Happy Cruiser (on a time-frame too- pick up at 9 and drop off by 4!)

Thank Mackenzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"mediterranean cruise"
in 7 reviews
"shore excursion"
in 6 reviews
"small company"
in 2 reviews
"historical insight"
in 2 reviews
"ship docked"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 12 reviews
"specific interests"
in 3 reviews
"mercedes van"
in 4 reviews
"la seyne sur mer"
in 3 reviews
"greatest tour"
in 2 reviews
"putting together"
in 2 reviews
"wish list"
in 2 reviews
"via tripadvisor"
in 2 reviews
"great sense of humor"
in 2 reviews
"her colleague"
in 2 reviews
"young woman"
in 4 reviews
"cap canaille"
in 4 reviews

90 - 94 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our cruise ship, Regal Princess, visited Toulon on 8 June 2014. We arranged a private tour to visit Aix en Provence and Marseilles with Catherine at Tour Designer@provence-travel. There were 8 of us which is the max number to fit a small van in Europe and France. It was not easy to contact Catherine. She is very popular and always on the road and out of office. But her reviews at Tripadvisor is too good for me to let go. Our patience and perseverance paid off very well. We could not get Catherine this time but the guide , Marjolaine, did a wonderful job that day. The car and guide were there waiting for us when we got out the ship. The car was a very comfortable 9 seater ( max seat is 8+1) and the best thing was she had a wireless microphone with her. She gave us general explanation and pointed out points of interest once we were on the road. She spoke clearly and softly. We could hear her very well and she could engage with us very well. This was our first experience to have a guide using a microphone and it was a very clever upgrade. Her driving was v good.

We were given a walking tour at Aix en Provence. It was a good walk. She showed us places with necessary info and we enjoyed the local market especially. At Marseilles, we were brought to a look out with great view but less crowd. We had a good walk on our own too with all info and direction given.

Marjolaine did a fantastic job to show us the best of Aix en Provence and Marseille within the short given time. She controlled her time very well. It was a fantastic experience for all of us. We are very happy with her service and we wish we can have longer stay. We hope we can do a longer tour with the company in the near future. A big thank you.

1  Thank Shu Yin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Since Catherine is so highly regarded, recommended and sought-after, we quickly booked her services in November 2013 for our day in Marseille seven-months later on June 16, 2014. Not only were we fortunate enough to have reserved Catherine’s personal services, but we received the added bonus of having our tour priced at her 2013 rate. Since our group of 8 was interested in visiting smaller villages, we had selected Catherine’s “The Area Of les Alpilles In Depth” tour. This was a terrific choice!

From the moment Catherine met us promptly at our ship, throughout the entire ride in her comfortable 8-passenger mini-van, until our return to the ship at the end of the day, Catherine provided a running commentary of the culture, history and beauty of Provence and, specifically, the les Alpilles region. She is extremely friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, and, most importantly, a safe driver. We wended our way up from the Rhone valley toward the limestone peaks to the picturesque mountain-top village of Les Baux de Provence for a wonderful visit and a sumptuous patio lunch. Then, on our way to visit Saint-Remy-de-Provence, we stopped at a winery to taste a variety of local wine, and at an olive vineyard for enticing olive-oil tasting. In Saint-Remy, Catherine guided us through the hospital at which Van Gogh had spent a year.

Thanks to Catherine and Tour Designer In Provence, our stop in Marseille was truly outstanding and memorable.

Thank LosAngelesBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

There's a reason that Tour Designer has only received five star reviews. Catherine is absolutely the best professional tour guide available. She created an excursion that fit my wants, and a price that was very reasonable. And Marjolaine executed the tour with class and enjoyable knowledge of the southern Provence region.

Catherine's professionalism shined through on the day of the tour. Our cruise ship was diverted from Marseille to Toulon, about 30-40 miles apart. When I emailed her about the change, she was already aware of the port change, but then was able to inform me that my time of port arrival had been moved earlier. She then moved swiftly in recommending an alternative to my original itinerary, as the change in ports made the original itinerary add an extra hour of travel time taking away time from the actual tours.

While I did miss out on my most desired activity, the revised excursion was a great replacement. Having put my trust in Catherine to know the area was the best decision I could have made at this port of call.

1  Thank jlee621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

From the first point of contact via email, to the last moment of farewell, Catherine was simply wonderful. We had a one day stop in Toulon on our cruise, and after reading rave reviews booked our 2 families (14 people) for a day tour. It was brilliant!!!!

Catherine helped us choose our itinerary based on what we like, and was so accommodating - even at the last minute when our cruise had to change times due to rough weather.

Catherine and Anais were fabulous guides. They took us to 3 beautiful towns - Cassis, Le Castellet and Sanary. We never would have found these gorgeous towns on our own given our limitted time.

Both Catherine and Anais filled us in with local information, history and shared their love of Provence, but in an interesting way and not bombarding us with too much information! Every member of our family (aged 18-55) had the best day ever

We travelled in 2 extremely comfortable Mercedes vans.

We highly recommend Tour Designer for however long you have in Provence. You won't be disappointed in these lovely lovely ladies!

1  Thank Barb577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour Designer in Provence Private Tours also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone

Been to Tour Designer in Provence Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing