We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location, dust bunny convention on the floors.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed one night with a tour group following a long day touring from Avignon and a walking tour of the charming city of Aix. Hotel is very basic. Was disappointed as we drove up, location is inconvenient to the city center and not many dining options nearby, plus we were tired, so all 50 of us ate in the hotel restaurant. The bar man turned head waiter did his best and he was to be commended for his effort and patience, but the kitchen was not prepared or capable of serving so many at once and it took well over 2.5 hours for mediocre food at best. Agree with other reviews that the breakfast was almost inedible, especially the mystery scrambled eggs. One positive, room had ample outlets for charging iphones, blackberries, ipads and tablets. No bath gels or shampoos except for an in-shower pump container. eck. Luckily we brought spares from a previous hotel. No in-room safes. Room seemed clean however there was a dust bunny convention on the floor and don't even look under the bed.... This was the least desireable hotel stay during the entire 8 night tour of France. Would've preferred a location in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed overnight on way back from south of france. Had expected it to be better than a motorway hotel. Quite basic. Looks pretty grim from outside. Rooms basic but clean. Feel photos make it look better than it is. Meal at night o.lk and waiter very nice. However, breakfast was inedible. Hideous scrambled egg - tasted like it was made from powdered egg, flabby croissants, scummy water from machine which wasn't boiling made tea horrible. Would not want to stay here again. Just grateful got a good deal on price as would have been miffed if I had paid 140 euros which it definitely doesn't deserve.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1379jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel has a location that make it very confortable if you need an hotel to sleep just out of the highway. It is confortable even if you want to visti Aix-en -provence. The ratio qualitiy price is good. The room are clean and new. The breakfast if a good buffet and the room is nice. From outside it does not give a good impression becasue is a modern building quite anonimus. The is a swimminbg pool. At the sme price level you can find a lot less quality in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefano32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed at the Oceania for one night, and the place was fine. Americans will be very comfortable here; it's clean, the bathroom is well laid out, and it has AC. Breakfast was quite good for a continental-type breakfast in Europe, and the service was fine.

My only issue: major slamming doors. I don't understand why hotels insist on installing doors that slam, and these ones in particular slammed quite impressively. Overall sleep quality was just fine, though.

I would also agree with other folks -- this place is pretty far from the city center, so although you get the consequent quiet/safe, I recommend this one for people with cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadisonsTravels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have been traveling through France and Italy for the last three and a half weeks and this is the first hotel we have stayed in which has a shower separate to the bath -yay! All others have been shower over bathtans they are terribly unsafe. I notice that particularly in Italy that all bathrooms have got emergency call systems in their bathrooms and I suspect the shower over bath scenario is why.

This was a lovely hotel, with sound rooms, a lovely breakfast, welcoming staff and good food in their restaurant for the evening meal. It is about a 30 minute walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

stayed 3 nights in this hotel. room was ok and detailed cleaning service everyday. bed was so comfortable.

breakfast was included and perfect.

free and safe parking was additional reason for us to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mesut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel is located next to the highway where the noise from the trucks is impossible. The rooms are so small you cannot open two suitcases. The reception staff is not helpful and certainly not knowledgeable for the city of Aix en Provence. The brreakfast is the only positive thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aix en Provence
Ibis Aix en Provence
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,065 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#11 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
402 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arb...
#24 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escale Oceania Aix En Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Aix En Provence

Address: 12 avenue de la Cible, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Aix En Provence 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 km from the town centre, the hotel Escale Oceania Aix en Provence is an ideal spot for visiting the region. With easy, pratical access and free private car park, the hotel offers this year comfortable refurbished rooms, together with new facilities: fitness room, outdoor swimming pool, lounge bar, terrace, a tree-filled garden and free WiFi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Escale Oceania Aix En Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing