We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way above the expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Way above the expectations!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

That was our first time in Aix en Provence and after reading several reviews, we decided to stay in Adagio. Perfect decision!
We made the reservation from hotel's website, then I sent an e-mail to ask few more questions, prompt reply was shocking. In a few minutes, I received all my answers. Really shocking when our previous France experiences are considered. What a good start!
Aix en Provence is a small city. We flew to Marseilles and took the shuttle from airport and arrived Aix. From the bus station, it took only 10 minutes to reach the hotel, easy to find. And if you are driving, they have a parking lot as well. The receptionists were extremely nice, kind and helpful, another shock...The check in lasted for 2 minutes, we got a room on 4th floor. It was very nice. Clean, modern room, neatly designed, with a nice bathroom, enough closets even for a long long stay and a fully equipped mini kitchen. Before going there, I though having a kitchen for a short stay was nonsense but now I know that is wrong. Having a kitchen with all needed utensils and equipments is fantastic.
The hotel is very close to Aix en Provence center, almost 10 minutes walk, no need to take a cab, just a short stroll. The city center is full of sidewalk cafes, restaurants and everything you might need. (there is also a big Mono Prix Supermarket which we shopped a lot and cooked ourselves nice meals in our mini kitchen, marvellous! Buy yourself a nice bottle of wine, some bread, delicious French cheese, you already have the cork screw and wine glasses in your room)
There is also free internet connection, wifi in the lobby and cable in the rooms. The only negative thing I might say is the PC at the lobby. The connection interface might make you suffer. So if you need internet, use your own PC.
As a result, Hotel Adagio (full name Hotel Adagio Aix Centre) was a pleasant surprise for us. We will absolutely try the other ones in the chain as well.

Room Tip: Ours was on the forth floor, number 410, loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aysem_duygu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    301
    56
    19
    13
See reviews for
220
230
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

These apartments look good on first inspection but hide some disgusting practises. We arrived and found that our sheets had not been changed from the previous guests. Very long black hairs were found in the bed even though the bed was made up as though it was fresh. We rang reception, he came up and offered new sheets(which we needed to change as housekeeping were finished for the day) or a new room. We opted for new sheets. As he went to fetch the sheets, I started to strip the bed and to my horror found a ghasty amount of hair on the mattress protector. I would say it has never been changed since the bed was first bought.......it was that bad. When the young man from reception came back up we showed him what we found and asked for a new room all together. I was feeling very sick by this time. Long story short, it took another 5 rooms before we settled on one as they were all in the same state!!!! We settled for it as it was nearly midnight. This room wasn't perfect but better. We had to change the sofa sheets for our son, lay an extra sheet on top of our bed and wipe down the floors as they were filthy. In the morning we spoke to both the manager of the hotel and the manager of housekeeper and had the opportunity to show them what we found.
We hope this has shaken housekeeping up and given any future guests peace of mind about finding a clean apartment.
We found all the other staff very nice and friendly, especially the young man on in the evening of the 4th Jan. The manager gave us free breakfast for both mornings for our troubles.

Room Tip: If you want a good view ask for a room on floor 4 facing the old town. If you want to pick up the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnitaH4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Perfect location for the city exploration and a comfortable stay. The Casino supermarket is near for those that would like to cook their meals themselves. For others there are lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, RI
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this location for 4 nights. We checked in with Gregory at the front desk. He was very nice but made check in a little confusing. I pre paid but apparently had to pay an extra tax for the second person upon arrival. I had to figure that out on my own as it wasn't explained. I was also distracted by being told I had a special rate (I just booked the room online directly with Accor Hotels) and that cleaning wasn't included in my very special rate. I was told that I could pay extra for cleaning or borrow a vaccuum if I wanted (funny). I didn't mind either of these things, it was just a little strange how it was presented to me. Could very well have been a language translation issue. Personally I prefer no housekeeping so I don't need to worry about sleeping in.

Facility: Very up to date and modern. Great location on a quiet street which allows for a great night sleep and the ability to also walk to the busy center with no problem.

Room: The room was a great size and had plenty of closet space. Everything that is needed for cooking or storing food is there as well as a dish washer (big plus!). I stayed the week before Christmas so it was very quiet. The bed was decent, however the pillows and bedding could be of better quality.

Staff: Very little interaction with staff. I did not eat breakfast at this location. I had to have the front desk print something for me which was no trouble at all. We were greeted by most of the front desk staff as we came and went.

Amenities: There is only shampoo/body wash combo. Be sure to bring your conditioner if needed. The free wifi worked really well and was a big plus for me.

Overall I had a great stay at this location and I recommend it for a low maintenance apartment style stay if that suits you as well. Was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the courtyard and it was very quiet. I slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We were delighted to discover Aix-en-Provence, a wonderful place to taste great wines and food, and to feel the spirit of the Provence! The Adagio hotel was located very near the "Place de la Rotonde", which is a great place to find restaurantes and shops. Just a few more minutes walking and we reach the "Cathédrale de Saint-Saveur" and the wonderful street "Cours Mirabeau". We found its location very good.

The room was really nice, new, equipped with kitchen and a huge bathroom, a small bedroom and a great living room, which had a sofa that turned into bed. We were in 3 people and could enjoy a very pleasant night with silence and privacy. All was really good-decorated and working perfectly.

The only thing we won't recommend is the breakfast. It costs 10€ pro person and was a bit disappointing. Better walk some minutes untill the Rotonda Square and choose one of the wonderful places there to enjoy a great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laetitiaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The hotel has excellent location at the heart of town, within walking distances of all the central alleys of the town. The facilities in the rooms and in the hotel are good and professionally managed except the cleaning service which needs improvement. The reception staff is very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goyalair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I booked this apartment for myself while travelling to Aix-en-Provence for 6 nights. It is a beautiful hotel, very chic, modern and clean. It was such a wonderful surprise as I didn't expect the room to be so spacious. There is a kitchenette a large bathroom, desk and bed which folds up onto the wall to become a couch. The service is great and the front desk staff are really lovely. There is a laundry on site which made life easier. Breakfast is a small buffet of croissants, bread,ham, yoghurt, and juices. Location is a few minutes walk from centre of Aix and there is free wifi in the lobby. A really great stay if you're in Aix. I even extended my stay a few more nights because it was so nice!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayteeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre

Property: Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Address: 3 rue des Chartreux, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre is perfect for all types of stay and boasts a lovely setting in the city center, close to shopping streets and tourist attractions such as the Cours Mirabeau. This Aparthotel offers 89 comfortable apartments ranging from studios to 3-room accommodations, each with a fully-equipped kitchen, bathroom and living area, so guests can retain their independence. A car park is available as well as a range of services including free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Aix-En-Provence Centre Hotel Aix-En-Provence
Aix En Provence Adagio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing