We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and dirty hotel, to avoid!”
Review of Hotel Artea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Artea
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Me and my wife have stayed in better but few worse 2* hotels, both in France and other countries in and outside of Europe.
We stayed at Artea two nights at the beginning of May 2008.
The rooms tariffs are expensive compared to the low overall quality of services offered by Artea.
The rooms are just adequately sized (we were 2 people in a double room) but the walls dusty, the bathroom walls and door dirty, and the 'clean' towels very musty (the second day they give us a towel already used and we had to ask a new one) the soap was really cheap, and the bathroom really quite ugly. Can't say I'm that into nice bathrooms, but this was dire.

The staff are not particulalry helpful, and apart from one lady who was kind, all others looked like they'd rather be somewhere else.

In a strange way the hotel resembled Aix a bit, in that the town itself is a bit dirty, with the typical French dog poo everywhere, little character (surprising given its heritage), few good places to eat, and not much to do. Having arrived in Aix from Arles, and Avignon, I would reocmmend both of these over Aix.

Needless to say, I wouldn't stay there again.

Go there only as last chance, if you don't have any other solution!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GiuseppeTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2007

We stayed for one night and would recommend it for anyone looking for a stepping stone from Marseille airport into Provence. It's half an hour up the road and much nicer than Marseille.

The hotel is basic but clean and although the staff don't speak much English, I was able to communicate quite well with them with my basic French. Very friendly and accomodating.

Nothing special but great location for the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Munkeybutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

I'm surprised by some of the reviewers' comments about the lack of help from the front desk at this hotel - maybe you had the 'bad shifts'. Our experience was completely different. Not only were they helpful (in English and French) but they went as far as to help us plan the logistics of several tricky side trips. We simply explained our wishes and they went to great effort to assist us in finding the cheapest routes and times.

The room we had (a family one) was huge - one section for our two teens and a separate bedroom for parents. Extremely clean (cleaner than my house and I'm a clean-freak).

For us, the hotel was a welcome oasis of warmth and help. I'd recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mikkaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

This hotel was easy to find from the bus station. It was quite loud outside, yet once you entered the hotel, it was very quiet. The front
desk staff was not very welcoming, even to a French speaker. The room
was quite large for European hotel rooms, with a huge window. The air
conditioning was fine. The bathroom was quite dingy--the floor seemed
dusty and the lighting was very dim. However, the location of the hotel was very convenient. Our guess is that there are probably nicer
hotels for a similar price.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LMLevicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

I have stayed in better but few worse 2* hotels, both in France and other countries in continental Europe. The location is good, about 10 mins walk from the bus station and 5 mins or so from the centre of town, and just across the road from the tourist office. The staff however are not particulalry helpful, and apart from one lady who was kind, all others looked like they'd rather be somewhere else. Leaving my key on the desk one morning, right in front of where one of the receptionists was sitting, with a 'thankyou' as I left, her having clearly seen me place it there, I was surpriused to see it in exactly the same place, obvioulsy not having been touched, in the aftrenoon when I went back, if she had left the desk for one moment someone obvioulsy could have taken it.

The rooms are adequately sized (we were 2 people in a double room) but the walls dusty, the bathroom walls and door dirty, and the 'clean' towels very musty, the soap was really cheap, and the bathroom really quite ugly. Can't say I'm that into nice bathrooms, but this was dire.

In a strange way the hotel resembled Aix a bit, in that the town itself is a bit dirty, with the typical French dog poo everywhere, little character (surprising given its heritage), few good places to eat, and not much to do. Having arrived in Aix from Arles, and Avignon, I would reocmmend both of these over Aix.

The best thing we did while there was take one of the atfernoon tours out of Aix, from the tourist office, to the Petit Liberon to see some of the hilltop villages. Only once having been on a tour before when I was muchy younger I was a little sceptical (no time to look around, rolling up in villages en masse etc.) but it was very well and sensitively done, with about 12 of us in a small bus, good commentary in French and English from a british tour who had obviously gone native - we visited Bonnieux, Menerbes, Oppede-le-vieux and Lourmarins all of whih were spectacular and which I would highly recommend.

Needless to say, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLondonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

This hotel is in an excellent location. Besides that it's just a place to sleep. Reception staff was useless. They could place an automated computer kiosk for check in and check out that would be more friendly and helpful. The room was a mixmatch of touchups and quick fixes. There is no elevator and you have to carry your own luggage up and down a spiral staircase. The hotel is kind of dark and needs a complete make over. Everything did work however (although our bathroom only had a bath no shower).

With all that said, the hotel is located in a perfect location with easy walking access to the heart of Aix. It is easy to get to (follow the signs for city center and you are there). Safe, public parking is right behind the hotel (two very short blocks). The hotel has a small reserved area in front on the street where you can unload your bags (yourself - no bell hop). We needed a room for four (wife, and kids 7 and 4) and the hotel offered a room with four beds. The room was quite. The hotel is perfect for touring Aix but more than a night or two there would be depressing.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4Ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
417
Reviewed 5 July 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in a double room next to the reception area. The room and bathroom area were big and airy with soundproof windows. Although we were facing the back street with constructions going on, we did not hear a thing.

Both the day and night time receptionists spoke English and one of them was not very helpful. There were a separate shower and bathtub. It took me five minutes to figure out how the temperature in the shower worked but for my husband, after 10 minutes, he gave up and used the bath tub.

The receptionist was the only person who had the remote control of the aircondition, therefore if we need to change the temperature, we need to call him/her. As one of the reviewers said quite right, the airconditioner blew really cold air so the room sometimes could be too cold.

There were a lot of storage space and the TV was rather big. The bed was good size and comfortable enough. However, at 7 something in the morning, the restuarant staff started making a lot of noise next door (kitchen behind the reception area). Luckily, we had to get up early to explore the city, it was fine with us. If you want to lie in, it is better to choose another room.

The best thing in this hotel is the location. It is very near a carpark and is right in the tourist area. It is advisable to reserve a parking space there as the hotel is situated in an extremely busy street. We had a lot of problems in finding a parking space to unpack our luggage. However, there is a big car park 5 minutes away.

All in all, I will come back to this hotel if I return to Aix one day because of its location. It is also not bad at all for a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#30 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Galice Centre-Ville
Best Western Le Galice Centre-Vi...
#25 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artea

Address: 4 boulevard de la Republique, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £58 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artea 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private 3 star townhouse hotel, l'Artea captivates with its Mediterranean spirit and its discreet and elegant décor. Located in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, this friendly hotel was once home to Darius Milhaud, famous composer of classical music. It was in this former private townhouse, one of the most beautiful in Provence, that Darius Milhaud composed magnificent symphonies, operas and other musical pieces. L'Artea offers an interesting and rich cultural access through its proximity to the tourist office, the Rotunda Fountain, and the Grand Theatre de Provence. Within the historical quarter of Aix-en-Provence the hotel unveils its 48 comfortable rooms. The hotel l'Artea offers a pleasant well-equipped meeting room for up to 50 people. Have a relaxing stay in one of our comfortably well designed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artea Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing