We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - you get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Artea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artea
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average - you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Stayed at the Hotel Artea for two nights. This was exactly what I'd expect from a 2 star hotel. Good location in terms of proximity to the town, but /extremely/ noisy at all hours at the front of the hotel. Good wide screen TV, but nothing in English. Room was comfortable, clean and reasonably decorated with a roomy bathroom. My partner was very uncomfortable on the bed, but I found it OK. The staff were pleasant, although one did direct us completely inaccurately towards catching a bus to our next destination. Aix itself, as well as the surrounding regions was fantastic; recommend it highly. We went walking around Le Tholonet using the Moon Walking and Eating in Provence guide. A real high point of our stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and nicely decorated room with wide screen tv
  • Disliked — The noise, although the room was well-insulated for sound.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    205
    83
    31
    22
See reviews for
80
167
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

If you want to be close to the Cours Mirabeau and the center of town--near the railway station and the bus station, this is the place.
The people at the desk are very businesslike, but not unkind. The stairway is not the cleanest, but our room was very clean, ditto the bedclothes and towels. Nice breakfast room. Can be a little loud at night, but we would stay here again.
In France, by the way, do try to speak a little French. It is appreciated.

  • Liked — The uniqueness of the building and the location.
  • Disliked — The fact that there is no elevator.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank romarin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Me and my wife have stayed in better but few worse 2* hotels, both in France and other countries in and outside of Europe.
We stayed at Artea two nights at the beginning of May 2008.
The rooms tariffs are expensive compared to the low overall quality of services offered by Artea.
The rooms are just adequately sized (we were 2 people in a double room) but the walls dusty, the bathroom walls and door dirty, and the 'clean' towels very musty (the second day they give us a towel already used and we had to ask a new one) the soap was really cheap, and the bathroom really quite ugly. Can't say I'm that into nice bathrooms, but this was dire.

The staff are not particulalry helpful, and apart from one lady who was kind, all others looked like they'd rather be somewhere else.

In a strange way the hotel resembled Aix a bit, in that the town itself is a bit dirty, with the typical French dog poo everywhere, little character (surprising given its heritage), few good places to eat, and not much to do. Having arrived in Aix from Arles, and Avignon, I would reocmmend both of these over Aix.

Needless to say, I wouldn't stay there again.

Go there only as last chance, if you don't have any other solution!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GiuseppeTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We stayed for one night and would recommend it for anyone looking for a stepping stone from Marseille airport into Provence. It's half an hour up the road and much nicer than Marseille.

The hotel is basic but clean and although the staff don't speak much English, I was able to communicate quite well with them with my basic French. Very friendly and accomodating.

Nothing special but great location for the town centre.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tight parking
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Munkeybutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

I'm surprised by some of the reviewers' comments about the lack of help from the front desk at this hotel - maybe you had the 'bad shifts'. Our experience was completely different. Not only were they helpful (in English and French) but they went as far as to help us plan the logistics of several tricky side trips. We simply explained our wishes and they went to great effort to assist us in finding the cheapest routes and times.

The room we had (a family one) was huge - one section for our two teens and a separate bedroom for parents. Extremely clean (cleaner than my house and I'm a clean-freak).

For us, the hotel was a welcome oasis of warmth and help. I'd recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness, helpfulness of staff.
  • Disliked — Didn't seem to have a common area in which to sit?
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mikkaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

This hotel was easy to find from the bus station. It was quite loud outside, yet once you entered the hotel, it was very quiet. The front
desk staff was not very welcoming, even to a French speaker. The room
was quite large for European hotel rooms, with a huge window. The air
conditioning was fine. The bathroom was quite dingy--the floor seemed
dusty and the lighting was very dim. However, the location of the hotel was very convenient. Our guess is that there are probably nicer
hotels for a similar price.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LMLevicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

I have stayed in better but few worse 2* hotels, both in France and other countries in continental Europe. The location is good, about 10 mins walk from the bus station and 5 mins or so from the centre of town, and just across the road from the tourist office. The staff however are not particulalry helpful, and apart from one lady who was kind, all others looked like they'd rather be somewhere else. Leaving my key on the desk one morning, right in front of where one of the receptionists was sitting, with a 'thankyou' as I left, her having clearly seen me place it there, I was surpriused to see it in exactly the same place, obvioulsy not having been touched, in the aftrenoon when I went back, if she had left the desk for one moment someone obvioulsy could have taken it.

The rooms are adequately sized (we were 2 people in a double room) but the walls dusty, the bathroom walls and door dirty, and the 'clean' towels very musty, the soap was really cheap, and the bathroom really quite ugly. Can't say I'm that into nice bathrooms, but this was dire.

In a strange way the hotel resembled Aix a bit, in that the town itself is a bit dirty, with the typical French dog poo everywhere, little character (surprising given its heritage), few good places to eat, and not much to do. Having arrived in Aix from Arles, and Avignon, I would reocmmend both of these over Aix.

The best thing we did while there was take one of the atfernoon tours out of Aix, from the tourist office, to the Petit Liberon to see some of the hilltop villages. Only once having been on a tour before when I was muchy younger I was a little sceptical (no time to look around, rolling up in villages en masse etc.) but it was very well and sensitively done, with about 12 of us in a small bus, good commentary in French and English from a british tour who had obviously gone native - we visited Bonnieux, Menerbes, Oppede-le-vieux and Lourmarins all of whih were spectacular and which I would highly recommend.

Needless to say, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything but the location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLondonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#31 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#32 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rotonde
Hotel La Rotonde
#23 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artea

Property: Hotel Artea
Address: 4 Boulevard de la Republique, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artea 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private 3 star townhouse hotel, l'Artea captivates with its Mediterranean spirit and its discreet and elegant décor. Located in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, this friendly hotel was once home to Darius Milhaud, famous composer of classical music. It was in this former private townhouse, one of the most beautiful in Provence, that Darius Milhaud composed magnificent symphonies, operas and other musical pieces. L'Artea offers an interesting and rich cultural access through its proximity to the tourist office, the Rotunda Fountain, and the Grand Theatre de Provence. Within the historical quarter of Aix-en-Provence the hotel unveils its 48 comfortable rooms. The hotel l'Artea offers a pleasant well-equipped meeting room for up to 50 people. Have a relaxing stay in one of our comfortably well designed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Artea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artea Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing