We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great facilities, breakfast disappointing.”
Review of Hotel Artea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Artea
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very nice hotel, wonderfully located with more space than usual. I would recommend against taking breakfast, though, as it is not worth 12 Euros and there are lots of better options within a block or two.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The façade of the hotel looks very poor and so the entrance without the lift, but once you are in there is a big surprise.
VERY welcoming, helping and pleasant stuff.
They speak good English, help to bring the luggage to the room.

We had a big and clean room, big bathroom, great breakfast. The internet works great and the parking is not a problem because around the corner there is a big parking place with moderate prices.
We had a small refrigerator in the room with bottle of water for our use.
The location is fantastic.
We highly recommend this hotel for staying and enjoy this nice city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located a few minutes walk from the centre and all it's shops, cafés and bars. The rooms were nice and clean and comfortable. There is a small parking garage around the corner which you pay for but you must book in advance. Would definitely stay here again if we came.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmsCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Rooms better than expected from other reviews, clean, and we got rooms at 2.nd floor. Friendly staff. Parking was cramped but convenient. Breakfast better than usual for a French 3 star city hotel. Good choice for a basic accommodation in Aix.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelartea, Gérant at Hotel Artea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for helping us to improve the quality of our services.
looking forward to hearing from you soon,
best regards

Véronique Majourel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location was terrific at the edge of the old city and modern shopping at Cours Maibeau. The superior room was clean and good size for a French hotel, and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioner struggled even when it was not too hot outside so we opened the windows and we're awakened at dawn by street noise. . The lounge area was tiny, would only seat about 12 and was full, so we had to socialize in our rooms. The desk clerk was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelartea, Gérant at Hotel Artea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much to help you to improve the quality of our services.

Maranatha group bought Artea hotel in December 2013. We know that we have some works to make every rooms as cumfortables as possible.
We are please to let you know that every works will be done as soon as possible.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon,

Best regards


Véronique Majourel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Hotel Artea is definitely a bare bones hotel. The dorm-like room was adequate and clean and the beds were comfortable. Double flights of stairs(total of 24 stairs) lead up to the main desk and each floor above. There is no elevator but the staff is available to carry luggage. The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. If you are in Aix with a car, I suggest parking in the public 'Rotonde" around the corner from the hotel. It is convenient and far less expensive than the Artea parking. A boulangerie and café nearby are great spots to get a breakfast patisserie and café. Air conditioning, after it took 2 days to fix, was minimal making for quite warm sleeping.

Room Tip: Some rooms have futon like mattresses. The staff easily changed us to a room with comfortable mattre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadtripperFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelartea, Gérant at Hotel Artea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give information about our hotel.

I have taken good note of all your comments and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by air conditionning.

Maranatha group bought Artea hotel in December 2013. We know that we have some works to make every rooms as cumfortables as possible.
We are please to let you know that every works will be done as soon as possible.

Please be assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupation. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon,

Best regards


Véronique Majouel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The only thing in its favour is the location which is right on the edge of the old town and the Cours Mirabeau. Gloomy and badly in need of updating. Communal areas dirty particularly entrance stairway. Had to ask for air con to be mended as didn't work. No apology - just a bit irritated by the request. Breakfast is laughable. Don't bother - just go to a local cafe. Miserable selection of leftovers at 8.30, dirty tables uncleared, sullen unhelpful staff. When it's gone it's gone seems to be the attitude so by 9am there's almost nothing left. Vending machine coffee tasted like hot chocolate. No tea bags apart from Fruits if the Forest and staff just shrug if asked for help. Absolutely not good enough. Seriously needs some management. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank anniewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#31 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#33 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#18 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artea

Address: 4 Boulevard de la Republique, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artea 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private 3 star townhouse hotel, l'Artea captivates with its Mediterranean spirit and its discreet and elegant décor. Located in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, this friendly hotel was once home to Darius Milhaud, famous composer of classical music. It was in this former private townhouse, one of the most beautiful in Provence, that Darius Milhaud composed magnificent symphonies, operas and other musical pieces. L'Artea offers an interesting and rich cultural access through its proximity to the tourist office, the Rotunda Fountain, and the Grand Theatre de Provence. Within the historical quarter of Aix-en-Provence the hotel unveils its 48 comfortable rooms. The hotel l'Artea offers a pleasant well-equipped meeting room for up to 50 people. Have a relaxing stay in one of our comfortably well designed rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Artea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artea Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing