We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Artea Aix Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$269
US$194
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$213
US$208
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Boutique Hotel Cezanne(Aix-en-Provence)
US$182
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire(Le Tholonet)(Great Value!)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Le Concorde(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Campanile Aix En Provence Ouest - Jas De Bouffan(Aix-en-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquabella Hotel(Aix-en-Provence)
US$214
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$345
US$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
96
214
99
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
214
99
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscours mirabeaude la republiqueheavy luggagebase from which to explorestar hotelbig roomtourist bureaurecommend this hotelfamily roomcharming placebreakfast roomreception deskwi fihotel is locatedbed was comfortableelevatorparking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2006

Superb location close to the centre and just across the Boulevard from the old quarter of Aix. The room was spacious and well decorated with delightful 'authentique' pine beams - charming entrance hall. Great view from the window over the Boulevard de la Republique of Santa bombing along at 4 am on Christmas morning - a sight not to be missed. Service and breakfast very good. Christmas in Aix is to be recommended for those seeking to escape the commercialism and awfulness of the modern British Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeW96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2005

We loved the entrance, stairway, and terra cotta floors; it all felt old-world & what we expected in Provence. Room Very Quiet for sleeping. Did not try their breakfast; went out for our own.

Biggest complaint: front desk staff was not helpful at all, and basically seemed miserable to be working there. We had to keep going back 3X to get them to open our phone line so my husband could call work in the U.S. I got much more help (suggestions on what to see; when I asked) from the housekeeper.

Typical bath w/ handheld shower thingie. We liked it. The construction is still going on in the block next door, but wasn't an issue.

Check In and Check Out was a breeze, tho, so I give points for that.

Provence was beautiful and warm, though unfortunately we caught Two unknown holidays while there for 3 days! Day of Ascension and celebration of Allied Victory (w/ USA's help, I might add) in Europe. Day of Ascension, many shops closed, but we visited the main cathedral (beautiful) and caught part of a service with lovely gregorian chanting.

I recommend to anyone if they go: hit the Saturday morning flower mart (& fish market & everything else market --loved it) in the town square.
We also enjoyed shopping and wandering up and down every street and , of course, the food.

If returning, we would probably try to book something else but would consider Artea again if nothing else looked better.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OrlandoMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, wa
16
Reviewed 16 October 2004

This is a hotel in the midst of improving its rooms. The new rooms are about as pleasant as a ** room can be. The older rooms are rather worn, tho. As of Sept 2004 there is also a large project to construct luxury apartments on the block next to Hotel Artea. Things will probably be better once this is completed. All of the rooms have sound-proofed windows and the room facing the construction in which I stayed was surprisingly quiet.

Agree with the other review that the location is very convenient and also that the front door and entry area are kind of scary. But those shouldn't put you off the place. The staff is helpful and the daytime people spoke English. There is no elevator, tho, so you will need to carry your bags up the large spiral staircase. The rennovated rooms are just fine if you're not looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2004

The public area and front door will scare you off, but the rooms and bathrooms are OK. Corridors are narrow and the spinal staircase offers no help to those carrying suitcases. It's worth paying for a triple room, which nearly doubles the size of a twin. Good location, within walking distance from the centre and bus station. Otherwise Minibus #1 could bring you there. Taxi around 8-10 euros, depending on how many luggages you have.

7  Thank JJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELARTEAAIXCENTRE, Responsable réception at Hotel Artea Aix Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews