We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, big room, nice quiet location out of town”
Review of Le Mas d'Entremont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Mas d'Entremont
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“great service, big room, nice quiet location out of town”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here over our honeymoon and very much enjoyed it. The rooms are obviously a bit older (though the bathrooms are modern) but that's the idea with this property. It's just out of the city centre but we actually liked it - a quiet property and frankly certain parts of the city centre seemed a bit too noisy.

You definitely need a car but if you have one, it's very convenient - less than 10 minutes out of town. Parking is also free. Without a car it's a bit of a dealbreaker as probably a bit too inconvenient to travel back and forth into town.

Unfortunately we did not get to try the restaurant.

We'd recommend this hotel to anyone who likes older properties that have a nice charm with friendly service and a decent sized room. There is also a small pool and some nice trails to walk on the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bssc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    70
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
113
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here 5nights at the beginning of our trip. We stayed in a junior suite which was large, with huge sitting room. The bathroom was modern and up to date with great robes and towels. The restaurant is fantastic and we took 3 dinners here. The set up is also lovely, large pool which although not heated as most French pools are not was great for swimming. Here was one area that needs looking into. There are chaises but no one takes the time to put the covers out. They are all thrown in a closet near the pool and left to the guests to find. Also,we did have a terrible problem with the Internet . The staff was very pleasant. Just not sure if it warrants a return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigger1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
296 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a night on a road trip back to Calais. In some ways it is exactly what I expected, in one way it is a little disappointing. First, it is in a lovely setting, albeit off a major road (but then, you're not staying here because you want to be in the centre of Aix). You'll be impressed by the entrance and foyer, in terms of style and furnishings. The grounds are lovely, including the large pond. The breakfast the next day was superb - especially the home-made yoghurts and jams, and the breads.

Where we were a little disappointed is the room. It was an okay size, but whether it was trying to be 3* or 4* wasn't very clear. Some of the furniture and the wallpaper were screaming luxury, but then some small pieces were quite tacky (the bedside tables, which looked like woodshop projects) and the basic motel-ish bathroom condiments). We did like the terraced balcony off the room.

Service was friendly, especially at breakfast. Breakfast was a tad expensive at 19 euro each, plus wifi was not free. At these prices, both should be included. Ask ahead about dinner, as it might not be served on certain nights!

Overall, this was a nice place, but the bedroom felt more like 3*.

Room Tip: The terrace rooms with balcony are the least expensive but have a pleasant view of the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Mas for Three nights 6/23 - 26/13. Our experience in every aspect was superlative and exceeded our expectations by far. The rooms, buildings, grounds, pool, restaurant, and service were perfect. This villa like setting was a virtual oasis - but still within a 4 +/- mile easy straight shoot drive to Aix. The critical commentators below must have stayed at another hotel. Very romantic, enclosed in its own tree, shrub and floral enclave, great for couples, honeymooners, etc. My thanks to the owners and the very professinal staff for a wonderful stay. Jim O'Brien

Room Tip: I believe our room was # 22 with a wonderful terrace overlooking the pool and the other couple was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConMac72547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the first week in July 2013. This hotel is located 5 minutes (ok, maybe 10 minutes in heavy traffic) from Aix-en-Provance downtown. I choose this hotel based on the TA reviews and on its website, specifically because it looked very french. It didn't disappoint, quite the contrary, it was much better than I expected. I am giving a 5 stars not because this is 5 star hotel, but because it has exceeded my expectations on what it intends to be and on value. The place is beautiful, quiet and has a chateau feeling to it. When we arrived, the room was ready and we were greeted immediately. The check in was fast and eficient. The room was large on European standards and it had a lovely balcony (the room is a little bit dated, or antique, you decide, I didn´t mind because the bed was so comfy). The bathrooms are remodeled and great (but no showers, only a hand shower - I was happy to take baths). I was also very pleased with the hairdryer quality, it actually worked very well (which is rare even in high end hotels). At first I was concerned that our room looked over the restaurant patio because of the noise, but it didn't bother us at all. In fact, it was so quiet we slept in every morning.

Breakfast was 19 euros but it was very nice, with fresh eggs, pasties, fruits, not a huge breakfast but plenty and with great quality. I recommend the breakfast, specially with nice weather, once you can enjoy the patio.

I thought this hotel location was the perfect base to explore Provence, we drove to Avignon, Cassis and Valensole and the roads were great and everything was around 1 hour away. Aix has a very lively night life with tons of restaurants and we had plenty of choices. This hotel was great specially if you have a car because it is a little far from downtown. In the last note, they didn't charge for parking, which is rare (take Negresco for example in Nice, we had to pay 30 euros per day).

Great experience overall, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chazinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our family of four stayed here for three nights in two inter-leading rooms that shared a bathroom. The hotel is beautiful and has a big garden. The rooms were very big and spacious and newly renovated. I would recommend that you have a car if you stay there, because it is outside of Aix en no shops within walking distance. I loved staying there. The hotel has a very unique atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aletta618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

What a peaceful, relaxed, beautiful place to stay in Aix-en-Provence! Stayed for 4 nights late June 13. The weather was amazing, but this place is just spectacular. The photos do not do it justice, greenery everywhere, Provincial style buildings & furniture and attentive but discreet staff. We had a 2 bedroom apartment/ suite with a huge bathroom, separate bath & shower. The second bedroom was upstairs in like a loft, had its own tv so great for the kids. Kitchen also so if you want to get some supplies from town for breakfast/snacks then you can do so. Fabulous restaurant on site (closed Sunday dinner & Monday lunch) not cheap but great food & superb wine.
Breakfast (buffet style) is wonderful served in a sunny courtyard area, or inside if you wish.
Lovely pool area, water cold but would be great on a hot summer day.

IMPORTANT NOTE: it is probably best if you hire a car when staying here, especially if your stay is over a Sunday. It is VERY difficult to get a cab in town on a Sunday, or indeed any evening. Just beware as restaurant is closed for Sunday dinner, so you really have no option apart from travelling in to town. City centre is prob a 8-10 min ride, and not possible to walk as situated on a busy highway.

Room Tip: We had apartment/suite #18, at the back of the property, very quiet and a large apartment, suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oz4vawds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
810 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chateau de la Pioline
Chateau de la Pioline
#18 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
413 reviews
4.3 mi away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas d'Entremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas d'Entremont

Property: Le Mas d'Entremont
Address: 315, Route d'Avignon | Celony, 13090, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mas d'Entremont 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Mas d'Entremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas d`Entremont Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing