We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“four star hotel with a five star restaurant”
Review of Le Mas d'Entremont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Mas d'Entremont
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
nashville tn.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“four star hotel with a five star restaurant”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We and another couple stayed here for four nights in September, and were impressed. The rooms were large. The grounds beautiful, and the staff was fantastic, but the thing we most enjoyed was the restaurant. A friend of mine had said that he found Le Mas d'Entremont by chance after having a terrible experience at another hotel in Aix. He had returned several times since then. His was high on the hotel, but raved about the food. We agree. We ate there two nights, and I had one of my all time favorite meals. It was a veal dish that was perfect. I would advise my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boblNashvilleTn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    68
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
112
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This complex of sensibly plush bungalows, pool, gardens and very decent restaurant is on the old Avignon Road, just up the hill from Aix (and the oppidum), sheltered from main road: a perfect hub for the Festival and more, i.e., the Luberon, Var, Avignon, Manosque, Marseille and the airport.
It was astonishingly convenient. Understanding the roads: a must.
The restaurant was very traditional and good fare, you're not expecting
a Mich 2 stars, and we found the ample breakfast of an array of fresh very local products exactly what we needed to get us through to dinner wherever, knowing we'd encounter at least one town market during the day. SO convenient!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We really enjoyed this hotel. The room was large by French standards , very clean, large bed and nicely appointed bathroom with double sinks. A really nice feature of our room was the small outside garden/patio - it was surrouned by a hedge with a wrought iron gate, had two lounge chairs and a table with two chairs. It was a great place to sit and have beer after a day of sightseeing. We would have a dinner there but the hotel restaurant itself was in a nice sheltered courtyard and was attractively lit after the sun went down. The food was great and to us, the only negative was to have to order all courses at the start of the meal - it would have been nice to select desert after we found out how full we were after the main course. There were extensive grounds with a pool and fish pond with a fountain. We walked around the grounds and there were some wonderful views. The main criticism was the horrendous price for a breakfast (17euros) - too much for us. We later found a little pattiserie in Celony , about 2km down the main road where they also served coffee. Unfirunately it is hard at any time to make the left turn onto the main road because of the traffic; however , we found it easy to turn right and after a few hundred meters turn left into a small factory area and get back on the road heading in the desired direction.

  • Liked — Room with garden area, restaurant
  • Disliked — overpriced breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

This is a comfortable, quiet and well located hotel on the edge of a fascinating city.
The hotel is spread through spacious grounds and our room had its own terrace/garden.
The welcome was friendly and efficient at the start of our 2 night stay here. The staff were helpful.
The room was clean and well prepared. The disadvantage of our room. and I suspect others, was that because of the tall trees surrounding it, it was extremely dark (almost gloomy). This would have its advantage on very hot days with intense sunshine, but that was not the weather we had. A glass wall was an attempt to overcome the dark effect but to keep it secure iron bars were in place which gave an effect from the interior of being in prison!
The swimming pool was large and well appointed. The availability of wifi internet browsing was easy and cheap.
The food offered on the evening menu was exceptionally good as was the service and clearly this is a major strength of the establishment.
Breakfasts were good with sufficient choice to keep it interesting.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The darkness of the room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

What a wonderful place. There were 6 in our party; my wife and I our 2 daughters (8 and 10) and my wifes parents (late 60's early 70's).

It is quite an old place and not plush as in terms of an American Chain hotel; I make that observation because of prior comments. It is very much in a Provencal style. The grounds are fantastic and such a wonderful setting.

Our daughters spent (a LOT) time by the pool which was a good size and well looked after an maintained. The rooms were older, but substantive in size; and we got WiFi, which was useful.

The food here is fantastic, both outside on a balmy evening, but also inside with the huge windows open looking out an a large pond and fountain. Just so idyllic.

And the property is close to Aix (about an 8,5Euro Taxi fare from the Rotonde in central Aix). About 5-10 mins journey

And in closing the staff were incredibly helpful and tolerant (especially with my poor attempts at French).

I would unreservedly recommend this property; FORMIDABLE!!

  • Liked — The Setting and the Food
  • Disliked — Having to Leave!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

What a great find after staying at some expensive, yet mediocre, hotels in Provence! We checked out of our previous hotel near Avignon early after problems with its phone service and headed to Aix. While there, I stopped by the Travel Information Center to try to find a last minute booking. Fortunate for us, the agent recommended Le Mas d"Entremont a mile or two outside of Aix. Situated just off the highway, but down a long country lane, was this lovely hotel with an even lovlier view. Our room was located in a one-story building that had its own outdoor patio surrounded by shrubs and trees. Inside was a king-size bed and a modern bath. But the best surprise was yet to come...a set of stairs that led to a small second bedroom ideal for a family traveling with children, in-law, etc. In our case, we were with our teenage son, so it worked out great. IThe room even had its own t.v. There was also a small kitchenette with a refrigerator in another area off of the our bedroom. All of this for the reasonable rate of $188 U.S. dollars.

  • Liked — The patio, scenery, and room
  • Disliked — restauant was expensive
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We just spent two nights there. It's only a few minutes from Aix and is an ideal place to stay to relax and cool down in the summer. Off season, its very quiet and somewhat dreary. We had a large room with a very nice terrace. The room was average. We had to change rooms when no one could get the key to work on our second night and we had to sit around for over an hour waiting for a locksmith to dismantle the door.

We had an outstanding dinner in the restaurant which was doing a very
good business with people from the Aix area.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#3 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Chateau de la Pioline
Chateau de la Pioline
#20 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas d'Entremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas d'Entremont

Property: Le Mas d'Entremont
Address: 315, Route d'Avignon | Celony, 13090, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mas d'Entremont 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Mas d'Entremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas d`Entremont Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing