We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well-appointed hotel in a noisy location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A well-appointed hotel in a noisy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We chose the Hotel de France based on the recommendation of the local Office de Tourisme. It being the low season (November), we were able to take advantage of a very good deal on a room for 2 nights. It was an interesting love/hate experience.

The hotel and our room were very nicely appointed. Our room was one level above the street. High quality amenities in the room, clean and comfortable bedding, beautiful art and decor. There was a modern-ness to the room which made it stylish and a pleasure to stay in. Bathroom facilities worked well and the room was spacious by European standards -- a King-sized bed, a separate and very comfortable reclined chair, plus a small desk area. Wi-fi was free and fast. Basically, we loved the room.

Until night fell. The Hotel is situated in Place Saint-Augustin, a VERY crowded and busy plaza just off La Rotonde, and which contains several cafes, bars, and shops. During the day, there was a decent amount of crowd noise, which was expected, but didn't bother us as we were out and about. We took a day trip to the Camargue (not to be missed!) and visited the Vasarely Foundation. When evening rolled around, everyone flocked to the cafes and restaurants to dine and chat, and the noise level grew steadily. Of course, the French dine late (as did we), but we found that the noise level continued to climb and climb throughout the night, being even louder at 12:30 AM than it was at 8:30 PM. We closed the shutters (which were in rather poor condition but were necessary in order to ensure visual privacy) as well as the windows. The windows cut out a good deal of the noise, but that is to say that the noise level went from a level I will describe as "standing next to a jet engine" (when the windows were open) to a level I will call "trying to sleep in the middle of a crowded train station" (after we closed the windows). Essentially, the windows did not cut out enough noise to make it possible to sleep well. By the way, Aix is filled with college-aged students (my French friends warned me about this), so anything you've heard about the French being quiet or reserved can be disregarded ... at about 1AM the whooping, screaming, and drunken hollering started, lasting until about 2:30-3AM. Finally quiet ... then the night workers started hosing down the plaza, then the trash truck came through ... it's a NOISY little square. After the first sleepless night, my wife bought earplugs and slept a little better. However, I highly advise you to consider the noise factor ... I am not sure if other rooms (possibly higher up or better windows) might provide better noise isolation, but I don't recommend room 1 if you are planning on sleeping before 3AM.

It's too bad ... the location is otherwise great, being right near La Rotonde and central Aix, walking distance to everything, and unlike Arles, the city was very much alive in November. And the room was very nice and comfortable. It's just that the location and the noise made sleep very difficult.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corniste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    105
    37
    15
    16
See reviews for
18
131
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel de France after selecting it from the website and 3 star rating.

We have spent 5 weeks staying in 2-3 star hotels in France. This hotel provided the poorest facilities and presentation of any of our other accommodation all of which were priced lower this property.

Chips out of the wall, towel hooks torn out of the door of the bathroom, lack of even a cup or glass in the room, shower that leaked water all over the bathroom floor with no drainage, exposed wiring and holes in the ceiling of the stair well, holes in the ceiling above the lift. In fact, the whole place was more like a construction site than the lovely property that is portrayed on the website.

There were some good things about this property- the bed was very comfortable, great shower (until it flooded the tiny bathroom floor), the man at the front desk who was very helpful and the windows which were effectively double glazed (Centrally located in a very busy and noisy square).

Room Tip: My tip would be to not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12387609876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Cozy and charming hotel, perfectly located on one of the village's numerous squares, within walking distance of everything: tourist office, bus station, Granet Museum, local markets, Cour Mirabeua (mais street), dozens of shops, restaurants, cafes... Very convenient for short breaks during the day. Nice breakfast, although you can find several options in the closest 100m. Friendly staff. Spacious and confortable rooms, with an incredible blanket we called "the cloud". Wouldn't think twice about recommending and coming back to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Our window faced the square, but the room was completely silent at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anajulia1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

What a GEM of a hotel! Perfect choice to enjoy this charming French town! With such a great deal on the room, I wasn't sure to expect... Our "prestige double" room was beautiful & bright, with a comfy king size bed, large walk in closet and lovely balconet that opened onto the lively pedestrian square. Breakfast was nothing special, self-serve and a little chaotic. Perfect location for exploring the best area in Aix on foot. Would definitely reserve here again.

Room Tip: We loved our Prestige room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLTravelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here and it was lovely. The room was on the third floor, with a view out onto the street, and it was presented beautifully. The location is perfect for exploring Aix en Provence as it is so central, right in the heart of the town, close to many cool shops and restaurants. The service was also fantastic - the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive to all of our needs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandratw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked a 7 night stay at the Hotel de France from 7th to 13th July. On arrival we were shown to a room that can only be described as a shoe box, I didn't think it was possible for a hotel to carve up it's rooms to this extent my partner and I could not walk around the bed, we couldn't unpack our two suitcases as there was no wardrobe and we had no where to put our suitcases but on the bed as there was no floor space!

Our first night at the Hotel in 32o heat was unbearably hot without the air conditioning we had been promised and paid for, we did not sleep all night because of the broken ac unit, when we complained they brought up an industrial sized fan which wouldn't fit into our tiny room. The next morning we complained but were greeted by an arrogant older gentleman who told us that 7 rooms had no air conditioning because it was all out of order. We asked to be moved to a room with ac but were told that that would mean an upgrade and they would charge us extra! unbelievably rude, discourteous, disinterested and not at all bothered by the fact that we had no air conditioning in our miniscule room. My partner asked to speak to the (absentee) manager but was told that he was uncontactable.

Subsequetly we had to spend the first day of our week in Aix traipsing around the city looking for alternative accommodation, we had chosen to stay in Aix during festival week which meant there was hardly any accommodation to be had, as a subsequence we stayed at the wonderful AUGUSTINE HOTEL just minutes from the Hotel de France for 3 nights, LE MANOIR for 2 nights and the fabulous HOTEL CARDINALE for 1 night, a very convoluted week of packing and unpacking - each ont of these hotels were beautifully decorated, spacious with air conditioning (apart from Le Manoir) and the staff at each hotel were fabulously helpful, kind and understanding, they all did their best to make sure our week in Aix was not a total write off.

DON'T STAY AT THE HOTEL DE FRANCE as its rooms are ridiculously small, there is no customer service, the absent manager (who is not based at the hotel) refuses to appear to deal with customer complaints and generally it is the poorest hotel I've ever had the misfortune to waste a night in.

Room Tip: THERE ARE NO GOOD ROOMS! seven have broken air conditioning systems - you will roast alive and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I has the chance to spend two nights at Hotel de France. It is very nice and very confortable. They give us a new room (just restored) on the 3rd floor. The salon where the Guest can have breakfast in the morning is marvelous. Everywhere there is the wi fi service. During my stay some people were working everywhere in the hotel for the maintenance, but only during the day not after 5
Pm. I think they will finish soon this. The location of the hotel is centrally located. I liked this. The small square on which the hotel is situated , during the day and night is always full of people sitting on tables drinking aperitifs.
A very nice place to stay. Rates are a litte bit high, but in Aix en Provence is diffucult to find a 3stars hotel centrally located with budget rates.

Room Tip: Ask rooms in the back not on the square, could be' very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobosand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#29 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#36 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#25 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 63 rue Espariat, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing