We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A positive surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Chimere Cafe

La Chimere Cafe
Reserve with
La Chimere Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 833 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$39
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milano
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A positive surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The restaurant is located in one of the small streets in the center of Aix. The appearance is somehow kitch, with dark colours and some red spots. Rooms are located below street level. Beside this, I was positively surprised by the food. Cuisine is a mixture of maghreb/french food revisited in a modern way, somehow fusion....or at least this was my take away...
Liked it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davide A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    142
    36
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I really appreciated wine and cooking was so good.....
Good location in the center of the town
I will definitely be back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john811111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation but cold.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have eaten here previously when the food was excellent. This time however the food though beautifuly presented was cold and the vegetarian meal though we sent an email request in advance was basically a few of the vegetable accompaniments put on a plate. I sincerely hope this was just a single night hitch and the food reverts back to its normal high standard.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesfinefood62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food/fun environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

La Chimere was our first dining spot in Aix and it was a fun and welcoming experience. The food was delicious, the environment unique and the waitress who served us made our dining experience at La Chimere alot of fun.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkl1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, Outstanding Food, Cosy Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had an excellent meal here at the recommendation of our hotel.

It was tucked away in a side street and away from the touristy centre (but only a moments walk).

We had a very friendly and charismatic waitress who made us laugh and recommended a great and affordable wine.

Downstairs smelt a bit dank but after a few wines and other diners arrived, the smells of beautiful food covered it up. We were the first ones there in the evening so it stood out.

We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhymin2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chimere Cafe also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Chimere Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing