We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By far, the best dining experience in AIX Provence”

Le Formal - Caves Henri IV
Ranked #11 of 833 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$72
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“By far, the best dining experience in AIX Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We ate here first night of 3 nights... And tried to go back... It was booked. Understand why. Incredible creative food in a great atmosphere! Chef was creative serving up the best of seasonal ingredients ... This restaurant should be number #1...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotterfromny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    175
    56
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The happy side of French cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

There's so many crappy restaurants in Aix, or would-be fancy chef, that the Formal is a breeze of fresh air. Let's put it simply: if you're visiting Aix at peak season, it's probably the only place where it's impossible to go wrong.

The staff is professional, the restaurant -- although a bit hidden, and tucked under street level -- is cozy and warm. And the dishes are as good, well thought, and carefully prepared as indicated in all the reviews, so I don't feel I have to elaborate.

With this kind of restaurants, we really have to salute the professionalism, the constant care, quality, and love of the products that share with us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Delicious Fine Dining in Aix at a fair price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A really nice restaurant in Aix. The 7 course tasting menu was delicious and the dessert was exquisite, and the price was more than fair at 48 euros not including wine. I especially liked the chef's personal touch during our meal and at the end when he greeted us as we left.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a special dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cave setting downstairs, superb food and lovely wine makes this a great dinner location. Separate cave area for us just out of sight of the rest of the diners was perfect for our young kids to relax and enjoy a great restaurant. Perfect for a rainy day or evening meal for us without kids to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJ178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We left after being totally ignored”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We waited over 30 minutes but no one even came to take our drink orders. Manager was extremely rude and unwelcoming. Don't go!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Formal - Caves Henri IV also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Formal - Caves Henri IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing