We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant in Apt”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Platane

Le Platane
Ranked #4 of 91 Restaurants in Apt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in Apt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a great dinner on the terrace. Prix fixe had several choices and everything we had was freshly prepared, local ingredients, delicious flavors. They had a vegetarian option as well. Many local, reasonably priced wines to choose from.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    110
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend this place enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The best meal out we had in Provence, by a long shot... Excellent food, good service, nice location. Seek this place out if you're looking for good food in Apt

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HongKongStuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaucluse France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

It was a wet Thursday in an almost deserted Apt. Shopping done, we climbed the stairs to this restaurant in an almost hidden square (next to the cinema).

The welcome was warm and the pastis arrived promptly along with a recital of the day's menu €16.00 for three courses. Short and seasonal.

I chose the fish terrine with a citrus cream and he decided on a tartare of tomato, mozzarella and basil with basil oil and a small salad. Both were good though I somehow doubt that my terrine was made in-house.

We both settled on the sauté de veau with lemon and cumin. We were given the choice of crushed potato or polenta. Potato for both! The veal was lovely, tender and tasty and the potato was packed full of fresh herb flavours.

Both opted for the dessert rather than cheese - a rhubarb and blackberry clafoutis - not exactly local but delicious all the same.

The service throughout was friendly and cheerful but not overpowering.

We will certainlly be back, hopefully to sit on the attractive terrace under the plane tree that gives gives the place its name.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food under the shadows of platanes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a lunch menue for 19 Euro and you could choose between entree or dessert. For Main course we had delicious fish. As we chose a desert, we had tarte tatin, also delicious - everything was as you expect the french quisine to be. It was +33 degrees but the shadows of trees Made us feel very comfortable and enjoy the meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolpertinger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant terrace off the street level.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

While buying a present for my God - daughter I asked for a recommendation for lunch. With out hesitation the assistant said Le platane just around the corner. From the street level it takes a little confidence to walk up - past the point of no return so to speak- to the terrace . But clearly all customers stay when they get there. It was quite hot around lunch when we arrived with temperatures getting into the mid thirties so the shade was welcome. Service was excellent and food was very good with moderate portions from a optional formula menu which in our case of a starter and main was excellent value at €14.50 per head washed down with a €7 50cl rose.
A nice quiet change from the typical noisy street restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Platane also viewed

Villars en Luberon, Apt
 
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, Apt
 

Been to Le Platane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing