We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge le Luberon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
40
23
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
23
10
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great little hotel overlooking the river and Apt town center which is convenient on Market Days with easy access via the pedestrian bridge right in front of the hotel. Also close to several restaurants. Free public parking close by and the bus stops the other side of the river by the pedestrian bridge. No elevator but the stairs are manageable. Great location for exploring the Luberon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

lovely inn with large room. very comfortable, plenty of parking...close to shops and eateries. staff was very pleasant, although nervous with my english and lack of french. first time in france that we had room to spread out in room!!!lovely area and plenty to explore.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenandhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

My mother and I used Apt as a base for exploring Provence and the Luberon. We stayed at this pretty hotel for 4 nights, which was a good amount of time for us to see the local sights. The room we were given was in the St Catherine residence, and I think it was bigger than the one we had actually booked. We were charged only what we had arranged though, so we were more than happy. The room was big, with a sitting area and a little balcony. The furnishings were a bit tired, and the facilities not recently modernised (although I can only speak for the Residence), but it worked in a sort of rustic way.
We didn't eat at the restaurant as it was expensive. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast either unless it comes with your room - it is expensive for what it is. Better to get something fresh from a boulangerie.
We found Apt a very pleasant town to base ourselves. I like staying in places that have a bit of life other than tourism (although there were undoubtedly many tourists). The market day on Saturday is a must - almost every street in the town becomes lined with stalls of every description. I have been to a fair few markets in my travels and this one rivals all of them.
The PMU cafe on Rue St Pierre has great coffee, and we enjoyed the more diverse clientelle here than at the more upmarket cafes. There was also a great little creperie, Crêperie Grill Le Chant De L'Heure, situated upstairs on the main shopping road - 88, rue Saint Pierre www.chandelheur.fr. Great salads, crepes and cider.
The best day trip we did from Apt was out to Oppede in the Petit Luberon. The old town is amazing. Although you can drive into the town, we walked through the gardens before coming across the town. The walk up to the church at the top of the old town is not strenuous - my mother had just had a knee replacement and managed it, albeit slowly. Wonderful views from the top. Information points along the way explain the history of the town.
I would definitely stay at Auberge du Luberon again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JessicaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sblum, Propriétaire at Auberge le Luberon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2010

inform you that since June, 2010 there is a change of proprietaire and that our hotel was done again for nine. Our rooms are therefore clean and disposed with gout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed at this auberge for a week as we wanted somewhere central to explore the Luberon area of Provence and Apt was ideally placed for this.

The hotel is a lovely quaint old building full of Provincial style and the food was certainly of a high Provençal standard although you pay for this.

We stayed in a chambre type II room overlooking the town with French windows. There is a ceiling fan but no air conditioning and as the temperatures climbed to 35C this was only just bearable.

The position is just over a bridge overlooking the town. It is situated on the edge of a big car park next to the dried up river and close by is the main road through Apt. So traffic noise can be a problem.

Another option would have been to stay in the Sainte Anne Residence next door which is more expensive but has its own garden and pool.

There is no lift and our room was on the 2nd floor up some steep steps.

The room itself was decorated in Provençal style and colour but a little shabby.

Breakfast is a self service continental breakfast in a delightful breakfast room.

We ate out most nights but ate twice at the hotel restaurant as it was recommended.

Food in the restaurant is modern Provençal and of a high standard thanks to chef Serge Peuzin with an emphasis on using fruit confit (glazed fruits) for which Apt is famous.

It is expensive even for Provence and the service was extremely slow and a number of guests complained of the very slow service.

Eating on the terrace was a delight although you did feel you were in the middle of a car park.

Two other restaurants worth trying in Apt are the L'Intramuros which is a very quirky restaurant serving traditional Provençal food and worth a visit just for the surroundings. The other restaurant worth visiting is Le Manade serving food from the Camargue area.

We stayed in Apt until July 19 which was just before the French and UK school holidays and not too hot.

Apt gets very crowded with a lot of summer tourists from the UK, Germany and Paris and can get quite busy but it a good base to explore the Luberon. With hindsight we would have preferred to say at Le Couvent in the town but despite the reservations mentioned above, the Auberge du Luberon was a charming place to stay and gave a good flavour of Provence.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank stevehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sblum, Propriétaire at Auberge le Luberon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2010

inform you that since June, 2010 there is a change of proprietaire and that our hotel was done again for nine. Our rooms are therefore clean and disposed with gout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We usually stay in hotels so staying in an auberge was a slightly new experience for us.

The Auberge du Luberon is situated on the edge of central Apt so is in a great location for exploring the town and therefore close to restarants etc. There is a very small public square at the back of the Auberge with two benches and a tree for shade which we found a great spot for an afternoon 'chillout.'

Decor wise, the room we stayed in reminded me of staying with grand parents as a child, it was quite dark and furnished with solid simple old furniture with built in hanging space at the side of the bed. There is every thing you could need from homely ensuite facilites to TV and refridgerator. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay here so much that we stayed for 2 nights instead of the 1 we originally booked.

The food at the Auberge is heavenly and well worth an evening meal! The chef definitely took pride in all courses but we felt his favourite is dessert, as there was a huge and wonderful choice of home made gooddies.

There are several good restaurants in Apt, but do try La Manade. We couldn't get a table on this visit as it is closed on Tues night and all day Wed but this is something special and Michelin recommended.to boot.

On the whole, a good experience and will try other Auberges next year.

By the way, I enlisted the help of a French colleague to book this by telephone as they do not have an on line booking system.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sblum, Propriétaire at Auberge le Luberon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2010

inform you that since June, 2010 there is a change of proprietaire and that our hotel was done again for nine. Our rooms are therefore clean and disposed with gout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews