We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food in unpretentious setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Galetiere

La Galetiere
Ranked #15 of 91 Restaurants in Apt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Godalming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in unpretentious setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had our very best dinners at La Galetiere last May. Jacki is a very experience chef and he went beyond our expectations inviting us in his kitchen to taste his "pieds et paquets". A fantastic traditional dish from Marseilles very rarely found in restaurants these days. My wife whole grille bream was perfectly cooked. The accompaniments are very simple as is the décor and the overall atmosphere of the place. It is like some of Peter Mayle's discoveries with the locals in his first book: only the food counts and the rest is accessory. And the prices are extremely reasonable. Lili and Jacki welcome made us feel special so we came a second time on our last evening of this gourmet week in a lovely part of Provence. We will be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CW_Godalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great menu small restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very few places to eat in Apt but this restaurant is well worth a visit when you find it . Chef is also the owner, great steak and fish dishes and really good wines. very warm atmosphere and welcoming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Apt to return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Situated in the old town, La Galetiere has an italian twist to its cuisine and Madame also speaks very good English (much better than our French).
it was recommended to us by our hotel le Couvent and the Galetiere did not disappoint. From the Carpaccio to the scallops
and ending with a delicious pear and fig tart, this restuarant is worth a visit anytime you are in the area

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank peterthepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A very rude front of house hostess”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Food was very good only to be spoilt by front of house maitre de. I think she was Dutch with attitude. Would give it a wide very. Shame. Chef suggest you teach her manners in dealing with people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotsPorridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calvados, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, hit & miss service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Ate there for the second time last Friday, food is great and well cooked, HOWEVER, the service on this visit was very poor, lots of huffing and puffing with little or no conversation, we were glad to get out of the place and gave dessert and coffee a miss. Our plates of food were served by chef due to the chaos front of house purely down to self management.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Galetiere also viewed

 
Villars en Luberon, Apt
 

Been to La Galetiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing