We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant”
Review of Le Cilantro - CLOSED

Le Cilantro
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had one of the best meals of our lives here, on a small terrace watching a superb sunset. Eye-wateringly expensive but justified: this is a very good restaurant with a Michelin star and an excellent choice for a special treat. Imaginative menu, beautifully cooked food (an artichoke puree was sensational) and worth splashing out on a bottle or two from their excellent wine list. Delicious amuse-goules served between each course. Service is somewhat formal, and we got an obviously new young waitress who was nervous but trained to perfection and gained in confidence through the evening to merit a generous tip!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerbilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bal Harbour, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but Not Worth a Detour”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

There was nothing wrong with the restaurant. The garden was nice, not great, but not bad. The nibbles with the drinks were 50% good. My starter, les petits farcies, was very good. Both of our main courses, fish and vea.l were very average. The cheese was well presented. The sorbets were fair. All in all nothing miserable, but nothing dazzling.

The service was attentive, but with only 5 tables in the garden it would difficult not to be. All in all a disappointment for a one star restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is a tough one to rate. Pricing aside, the food was good, service professional (although a bit slow to start with - got the impression that our primary waiter was avoiding us initially due to a perceived language barrier), etc.

My only gripes were that we were seated in the back area which is pretty devoid of any atmosphere though not unclean or anything, and that the wine list had nothing particularly affordable which is tough in a foreign country where you might not recognise any producers.

A squadron of waiters served us during the evening. We went with the daily tasting menu of three courses with 2-3 choices at each course. Each dish was quite crafted and definitely tasty though small, as is not uncommon with this type of restaurant.

If you're looking for rustic, earthy, affordable, this is not the place. If you're not quite on a budget and want interesting food, give it a shot.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FightingPrawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but not quite good enough”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The restaurant is nicely decorated, with an interesting entrance. Unfortunately we chose to sit on the "terrace", which is like a dead-end bit of pavement on the other side of the street, with poor lighting. I had frogs' legs to start with, which were tiny, and not up to much. The main course of veal was excellent, and made up for the starter. the desert was good-ish. The service was all OK, but could have done with a proper Maitre D / owner character. If I return then it will probably be for lunch, at a more reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTaitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Worthy of its Michelin Star. 30 euro menue v good but had 65 euro menu on second visit. wow!! Wines not cheap but really good.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cilantro also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing