We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camargue cuisine at its best”
Review of La Telline

La Telline
Ranked #49 of 271 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Camargue cuisine at its best”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Since Chez Juju closed down in Beauduc, a legendary restaurant with an incredible history, La Telline is the best of the camargue's restaurants. I was in ares for the feria de paques and to start off the festival in Arles, a trip deep into the real camargue is a must. The decor perfect with an open hearth fire, the images on the site do no justice to he actual restaurant, full on saddles, old posters re Arles' corridas.

We started with tellines, accompanied by a fine Bandol, which was perfect. Tellines are always a slightly annoying to eat as they are small clams and the eat is difficult to attack out of he she'll, it can become frustrating, however it is worth the effort. This was followed by pave de taureau or fillet of camargue bull' accompanied by a light green salad and camargue rice and a wonderful cote du Rhine by Nicholas Croze. The pave was slow cooked over the open fire. The meat was cooked to perfection.

An olive oil with local herbs was offered to go with rice and offered a superb accompaniment to he meat and salad. A rice pudding, Armagnac and coffee finished the meal.

Overall experience, excellent. Price point at 60 euros a head fair. You cannot visit the camargue and not visit La Telline. Menu highlighted here are the house specialities. You will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 432ccdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    18
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The stuff of travelers' fantasies”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

La Telline is what one always hopes to find but seldom does: an intimate dining room, far from tourist crowds, whose passionate owners offer the highest quality and freshest local products, simply but perfectly prepared and served with joy. The namesake telline are an outstanding starter, as was lentil salad with marrow bone. Fish, supplied by the owner's family of fishermen, are grilled in the fireplace and boned before service. Several varieties are served to parties of four, others can be ordered singly. Eel was my choice and an excellent one. We were introduced to a surprisingly good local white wine, Domaine Saint Vincent "Charmentin" from Gageron, not 5 km away. We could ask for no improvements on our dinner, finding it an extraordinary value for the quality and delight.

We stayed for two nights in the owners' comfortable chambre d'hote, next door, Le Mas de la Forge, with a fine king-sized bed and excellent shower.

Florence and Jean-Paul are delightful and consummate hosts, generous with their hospitality and their time, cheerfully answering questions and making suggestions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“one of the best ever”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had a perfect lunch in La Telline last week-end. It was actually one of the best lunches in my entire life. Food was great, local cuisine, high quality, yet with surprising flavors. Everything from apperetof to desert was above expectations. Nice interior completes the story. Very good service. Would love to visit this place once again and certainly recommend to everyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia_Baluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arles
1 review
“Always excellent”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

As owners of a nearby B&B / Chambres d'Hôtes (mentioned but wrongly spelt in the italien review), we have eaten here at least a dozen times over 4 years and sent hundreds of customers, all without exception have found it very good or excellent. Some find it expensive, others not, others cheap so here a little explanation.
It really depends on what you are used to, if you live in London or Paris or on the Côte d'Azur it is cheap, if you're French (congratulations for reading this far) and from the Ariège or Dordogne, you will find it expensive, otherwise you'll find it correct.
The "problem" is the small menu (carte) has very eclectic prices so you can eat quite cheaply or spend a small fortune depending on what you choose. Bear in mind that if you choose the REALLY fresh fish you will probably be buying a whole one and eating twice the portion of an ordinary restaurant charging you typical prices for post-ship defrosted stuff, relatively speaking it isn't that expensive. Similarly for the côte de boeuf (min. 2 persons), you'll usually need to ask for a doggy bag and per person, the price is normal for that quality of meat. The cooking is not elaborate but the taste is great and natural and the ingredients first class.

And whilst I have your attention, it is nowhere near Villeneuve-Loubet as Tripadvisor still claims, it is in Villeneuve in the Camargue which has a grand total of 1 restaurant so this one would be both first and last in TA rankings.

As for our B&B (yes the restaurant owners are our competitors), we refuse to appear on TA, many reviews are anything but trustworthy and until they address the problems half seriously... you are welcome to ask details, anyone reading up to here is our kind of guest and I'm sure you can find us.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mistermaumau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant, lovely owners. Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Not cheap but a wonderful small restaurant run by the chef-owner and his wife. Beautifully decorated so that it is intimate and warm and classy at the same time. Would be very good romantic booking! We had steaks from the local bulls which were done over the wood fire. The fish was also really excellent. There was a good wine list with the very reasonable house wine which was gorgeous. We had a good bottle of wine, excellent starter and main course and it came to just under 100 euros for two.
They also have 3 B&B rooms.
I would definitely go back. It was a very lovely experience indeed and well worth the extra money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoppalongkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Telline also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Telline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing