We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe they don't like tourists”
Review of La Telline

La Telline
Ranked #45 of 272 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe they don't like tourists”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The food is really good. The Dorade was wonderful and the chocolate gateaux divine.
Everything was perfect, until we went to pay. The owner gave us the bill and, while we were beginning doing her compliments about place and food, she left us in the middle of conversation to go and talk to someone else she knew better. We remained there a few minutes waiting again for her, then we felt stupid and left, while she was still talking to the other people (anyway we decided to leave a good tip because the food was really good).
We are not used at all to behaviour like that in a place of this standing (or that pretends to be).
Such prices are justified by qualtiy of food AND service, independently if you are the owner's friend or just a "first time" client!
Simona and David from Suisse

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Seemouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    21
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly intimate”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We drove around for ages trying to find the restaurant and when we arrived were rather worried to find no cars in the car park. We walked through the deserted garden to the back door and knocked. We were welcomed through by I believe the owners and were advised that the one other table for lunch had cancelled! We decided to stay and brave it out alone! Owners were very sweet and polite but obviously no atmosphere. We had been recommended this place by a few French friends so we felt encouraged. Food was simple and proficiently cooked but that's really all I would say. Good French cooking but not outstanding. If you are going to make the trip - check they have other tables booked - not much fun dining on your own ! Strange we were only table in middle of peak holiday season ??

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“on the doorstep”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

fortunate to be staying at Mas de la Forge, and to have this restaurant at the end of the garden. Lovely regional food, in simple somewhat quirky surroundings. Food was both simple (dorade, camargue rice, salads, local wine) and exquisite - amuse bouches. Prices a little high, but this is a good place to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen_brember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Camargue cuisine at its best”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Since Chez Juju closed down in Beauduc, a legendary restaurant with an incredible history, La Telline is the best of the camargue's restaurants. I was in ares for the feria de paques and to start off the festival in Arles, a trip deep into the real camargue is a must. The decor perfect with an open hearth fire, the images on the site do no justice to he actual restaurant, full on saddles, old posters re Arles' corridas.

We started with tellines, accompanied by a fine Bandol, which was perfect. Tellines are always a slightly annoying to eat as they are small clams and the eat is difficult to attack out of he she'll, it can become frustrating, however it is worth the effort. This was followed by pave de taureau or fillet of camargue bull' accompanied by a light green salad and camargue rice and a wonderful cote du Rhine by Nicholas Croze. The pave was slow cooked over the open fire. The meat was cooked to perfection.

An olive oil with local herbs was offered to go with rice and offered a superb accompaniment to he meat and salad. A rice pudding, Armagnac and coffee finished the meal.

Overall experience, excellent. Price point at 60 euros a head fair. You cannot visit the camargue and not visit La Telline. Menu highlighted here are the house specialities. You will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 432ccdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The stuff of travelers' fantasies”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

La Telline is what one always hopes to find but seldom does: an intimate dining room, far from tourist crowds, whose passionate owners offer the highest quality and freshest local products, simply but perfectly prepared and served with joy. The namesake telline are an outstanding starter, as was lentil salad with marrow bone. Fish, supplied by the owner's family of fishermen, are grilled in the fireplace and boned before service. Several varieties are served to parties of four, others can be ordered singly. Eel was my choice and an excellent one. We were introduced to a surprisingly good local white wine, Domaine Saint Vincent "Charmentin" from Gageron, not 5 km away. We could ask for no improvements on our dinner, finding it an extraordinary value for the quality and delight.

We stayed for two nights in the owners' comfortable chambre d'hote, next door, Le Mas de la Forge, with a fine king-sized bed and excellent shower.

Florence and Jean-Paul are delightful and consummate hosts, generous with their hospitality and their time, cheerfully answering questions and making suggestions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Telline also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Telline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing