We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely dinner here!”
Review of La Gueule Du Loup

La Gueule Du Loup
Reserve with
La Gueule Du Loup is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 266 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We had a lovely dinner here!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We ate at this small restaurant at the recommendation of the owner of the hotel where we stayed in Arles. We asked if we needed a reservation (Saturday evening, early November) and were told no, we did not. We arrived at the restaurant which is a bit off the main square just before it opened. Lucky for us, as we were seated and then all but one couple had to be turned away as the restaurant was completly full! The customers seemed to be at least half locals, many of whom seemed to know the chef and waitress from previous visits. The meals were delicious, prepared before our eyes in the open kitchen on the first floor. And, each course was beautiful to look at as well. We had a delightful dinner and would highly recommend this small restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    141
    38
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home made restaurant”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

It's small restaurant, with only several tables. Staff are a family member, 4 or 5 people make the service only. Father is the chef. It starts from 7:15PM at night. Food is great although service speed is a little bit slow because only the mother and daughter are doing the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lives up to its reviews”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This restaurant gets good reviews from most travel books and travel sites, and we knew friends who ate there last year and enjoyed it. So we decided to try it ourselves. The food was first rate and nicely presented. The style is rather more formal and traditional French than is often encountered outside Paris - an unusual treat. It leans toward the pricy end of restaurants in this area, but it is worth the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Petit, mais Fantastique!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

La Gueule du Loup is a small restaurant about a block uphill from La Place du Forum. There were four tables in the downstairs dining room, two to three tables outside, and a few tables on the upper level of the restaurant. We began the meal with an amuse-bouche which was delicious and unexpected. My husband and I ordered the sole, while our son ordered the cuttlefish --- all were perfectly prepared and incredibly exquisite. The timing between courses was perfect, and the service was impeccable. Dining at La Gueule du Loup was a perfect way to end an incredible day in Arles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uninspired and bad value”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Based on the positive reviews, we went to this restaurant. Unfortunately, I don't agree at all. We had the "lesser" three-course menu (I think €27), and the neither the chevre profiteroles (bland taste, with not much caracter) nor the duck with port sauce were anything to write home about (well done, despite waitress asking us specifically about the level of cooking beforehand). In addition, the drink prices are rip-offs. A 25cl soft drink was €5.70 (!) and one litre of mineral water was €5.80 (!). All in all it is a cosy place, obviously run by a family, but definitely not worth these prices. We spent 15 days in various parts of Cote D'Azur and Provence so should have some to compare with.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin_B_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gueule Du Loup also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Gueule Du Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing