We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating place, wonderful concept, excellent food.”
Review of La Chassagnette

La Chassagnette
Reserve with
La Chassagnette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 262 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$62 - US$129
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Chassagnette is a gourmet restaurant at 12 minutes away from Arles, at the very heart of the Camargue Regional Nature Park. With 1 Michelin star and 3 Gault & Millau toques, la Chassagnette invites you into a magical place that combines natural charm with contemporary design. This former farmhouse is a tribute to nature and art of cooking. The Chef, Armand Arnal, has the title of Maitre Restaurateur and draws its inspiration from that unique environment. The 2-hectare organic vegetable garden provides a colourful and fragrant setting to walk around and discover the produce that you will later find glorified on your plate.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating place, wonderful concept, excellent food.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my birthday here as I am a keen vegetable gardener and the concept really appealed to me. Upon arrival we were given the chance to explore the massive vegetable garden, which was a wonderful experience. The food was of course exceptionally fresh and the dishes were very original- a main course of a whole beefsteak tomato with tomato sauce and a whole array of other tomatoes: sounds like too much tomato but in fact was excellent. The rest of the food was equally fantastic. A few small issues with service. My husband's starter plate was taken away when he still had his mouth full. We then felt a little abandoned in a corner as the place filled up. It took forever to get our bill and then to pay it. On the other hand there were some very nice touches such as being given a slice of cake to take away as we left. Overall an excellent place for those who care about the origin and ethos of what they eat as well as what ends up on their plate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    84
    49
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Could do better”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Besides the mistake that we were charged a whole bottle of wine (when only ordered an additional glass- a mistake that could have costed 120 Eur so watch you bill!), the only one who could bring a smile on my face was a very charming 3 legged cat. Of course, the setting is great, but still can be better- try Mas de Peint in the neigbourhood-, the vegetables are fresher than fresh, there was no magic in the dishes delivered that could trigger a wow effect. Red rice tasted like boiled a little too short... On the other hand the Vacherin was perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank release_ikarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is our second visit to this fabulous restaurant, which has a beautiful vegetable, herb and fruit garden, all of which is selected for the chefs to use fresh from this organic garden. We chose the Discovery menu, which was out of this world. Very creative and such a naturally calm atmosphere. This time we went into the outer garden restaurant, which is covered completely by mosquito netting. Superb for eating outdoors. We can't wait to return again to this very special restaurant. Top marks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you are open minded for new experiences this is the right place. Great produce from the own garden cooked to creative meals served with very friendly and relaxed service. Go there, try iit and be surprised as well by the great wines which are served there. As soon as possible we will come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kali1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Evasive service”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It was a very hot day and the essence of hospitality would be to ensure guests had refreshments as soon as possible after arrival but sadly this was not the case-we had to practically beg for water and wine a considerable time after arriving. Service continued in this evasive manner to the extent we opted for no dessert or coffee-we simply had no more time or patience. Never an apology or enquiry about our enjoyment of the meal.
The meal and setting was a food stylists dream-but the flavours were bland and as evasive as the service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chassagnette also viewed

Fontvieille, Arles
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Chassagnette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing