We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dont go here!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were given a room which was very cold and uncomfortable. The furnishings were cheap antiques of the worst kind, ricketry and unuseable. There was nowhere in the bathroom to put anything. We complained and were offered another room which the madam said would be just the same so it would not be worth changing. We didnt know what to do, suddenly the madam lost her temper and told us to leave, throwing us out onto the street. . This happened at about 9.30 at night and it was pouring with rain. We walked around for an hour before finding alterative accommodation. During the course of our conversation with madam we asked if she would charge us for the week we had booked and she replied in english no i would never do that, howvever on returning home we find she has charged the full amount and at present we have not been able to retrieve a penny. We are taking legal action. I understand french quite well so i fully understood what madam was saying.

Room Tip: View the room before you book wherever possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davidtauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    49
    18
    15
    14
See reviews for
9
100
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed in May 2013. Helpful staff. We had problems with our rail tickets, and the staff arranged to have our tickets sent to our next destination. In addition, we had a comfortable room overlooking the street. The location is excellent being close to the roman ampitheater, Constantine baths, and roman theater. Great restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you avoid big chain hotels with mass produced interior design and where every room is identical, except its size, this hotel in the historic center of Arles has great appeal.
Finding it was tricky, but once we had arrived and the wonderful hotel staff parked our car for us in the lock up garage, of our stay here was delightful. We had a spacious room with a massive bathroom and a secluded sunny terrace looking out over the rooftops of Arles on one stay and a vast shady room looking out over the side street on another stay. Beds were large and comfortable with excellent quality linen.
There are no real facilities in the hotel, they can give you a nice glass of wine but the dining room is permanently closed. But breakfast is available in the square in front of the hotel and Gabrielle helped us plan many delicious dinners and lunches in some of Arles stunning restaurants.
The history of Arles is encapsulated in this lovely old building: matadors would receive standing ovations from crowds in the square from the hotel's grand suite; the stairwell is decorated with huge 1920s posters for the bullfight and there is a lovely Spanish/Moroccan feel to the light fixtures and décor; Picasso sat in the square to enjoy lunch before a bullfight; and of course there is Van Gogh's Night Café situated on the square.

Room Tip: We stayed in their top rooms: both were beautiful, simply decorated and very comfortable. Room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa58342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This location was stunning. The life in Arles is so vibrant. The room was great. Bed/Bath comfortable. Support at the front desk. All Positive.

Regarding Arles. In the hotel you could sense the presence of Picaso, Outside, Around every corner was a canvas painted by Van Gogh.

I loved everything about the hotel and Arles

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDRBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This historical (a little old-fashioned ) and wonderfully located hotel of the Old Arles has nicely decorated rooms, great service and is an address to keep if you go to Arles! So pleasant to go walking from there and visit the Old town, have a dinner in one of the many close restaurants or a drink around the central Place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

When visiting Arles there is only one place to stay and that's the Nord Pinus. A most unusual and quirky hotel that is probably now past it's finest days but is still very comfortable, clean and certainly different. We stayed here for 3 days and loved the hotel and the city of Arles (the Roman Amphitheatre is incredible). The Nord Pinus is located in the Place du Forum and all the town's attractions are within easy walking distance. If you are driving by car make sure that you have a sat nav as it is quite difficult to negotiate your way through the narrow streets to get to the hotel, however once there and if you have booked the garage they will take the car and park it for you and you won't need it again for the duration of your stay unless you are planning to visit areas outside the town. If you want to stay somewhere that stimulates your imagination and does not look like every other hotel then this is the one to go for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Co. USA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Again, please note that I didn't stay here, but felt the need to tell all how cool this place is.
I went in due to them having a Moroccan rug sale going on, we walked into their lobby to find a very swank James Dean photo exhibit hung on their walls. The hotel is dressed up with a North African style, nice lamps and such, hip looking furniture.
It's in a good location, but it could be loud due to it being right on a plaza that appeared to be frequented by many.
Just an FYI is all, Enjoy, Salida1048

Room Tip: didn't stay, but apparently you have to check one of these to get finished with the review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#16 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus

Property: Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Address: Place du Forum, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with Old World Charm in building dating from 1850; restaurant; multilingual staff; located in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nord Pinus
Grand Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing