We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located,difficult to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well located,difficult to find”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

After driving around for about an hour in the warren of little streets in Arles we eventually found this hotel after calling the reception for help.When we eventually got there, one of the staff took the car and parked it in the garage for us. I decided to leave it there for the duration, as Arles is not driver friendly at all.
The hotel is in a lovely little square filled with restaurants and cafes, which can be quite lively late into the night. The room we had was fairly small with a reasonably large bathroom and the bed was comfortable. The decor is unusual, quirky and stylish and reflects the hotel's history, which is illustrated by photos of past visitors including Cocteau and Picasso. The staff are friendly and helpful and the only downside was that there is no restaurant and breakfast (served outside on the terrace) seemed a bit expensive. Drinks were also expensive, which may have been the reason for the small but lovely bar being empty when we were there. Drinks were also served on the terrace, but only until 10.00pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpystickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    49
    18
    14
    14
See reviews for
9
97
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Cloud, Centre, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

The staff is friendly and helpful.
The location is great in a very animated area, don't stay here if you want a calm quiet night. Only the price brings down the value. 180€/night and 16€ for a continental breakfast (not buffet) it isn't worth it. There is another hotel just next to and price is half.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is comfortable and caring.It has all modern conveniences without losing its original French country hotel charm.Only slight inconvenience was toilet other side of room from bathroom and having to cross room to wash hands. Everything was done to make our stay a memorable one. Excellent continental breakfast though not cheap. We found price of food high in France after Spain which is better value for money. Arles market on Saturdays is fantastic. Nowhere have I ever seen such a fabulous array of vegetables spices cheeses and baked goods plus much more.However driving is a nightmare in Arles which is a maze of no entry streets.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Grand Hotel Nord Pinus is at the heart of Ancient Arles -- so much at the heart that two of the columns of the old Roman Forum are embedded in the facade of the hotel! It overlooks a little plaza which, with it's several sidewalk restaurants and lively atmosphere, is the real current heart of the town.

It is a venerable building, and that was just fine with us. All the essentials (bathrooms, etc.) are in good working order.Decor-wise, it is a deliciously retro place with photos of old movie stars and other distinguished guests on the walls along with some wonderful vintage bullfight posters in keeping with the tradition of bloodless bullfighting for which the city's amphitheater is famous. Don't go here if you want the sterile, American-style tourist hotel. This is for those who want to savor the real France with its quirks, characters, and the unexpected.

The staff was friendly and attentive, always willing to go out of their way in order to make our stay easy and pleasant. These people obviously love the place, and they love other people who share their enthusiasm.

Good value for the money, and a real experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the plaza side, and the side street will have convivial evening noise, but after about 11:0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were given a room which was very cold and uncomfortable. The furnishings were cheap antiques of the worst kind, ricketry and unuseable. There was nowhere in the bathroom to put anything. We complained and were offered another room which the madam said would be just the same so it would not be worth changing. We didnt know what to do, suddenly the madam lost her temper and told us to leave, throwing us out onto the street. . This happened at about 9.30 at night and it was pouring with rain. We walked around for an hour before finding alterative accommodation. During the course of our conversation with madam we asked if she would charge us for the week we had booked and she replied in english no i would never do that, howvever on returning home we find she has charged the full amount and at present we have not been able to retrieve a penny. We are taking legal action. I understand french quite well so i fully understood what madam was saying.

Room Tip: View the room before you book wherever possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davidtauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed in May 2013. Helpful staff. We had problems with our rail tickets, and the staff arranged to have our tickets sent to our next destination. In addition, we had a comfortable room overlooking the street. The location is excellent being close to the roman ampitheater, Constantine baths, and roman theater. Great restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you avoid big chain hotels with mass produced interior design and where every room is identical, except its size, this hotel in the historic center of Arles has great appeal.
Finding it was tricky, but once we had arrived and the wonderful hotel staff parked our car for us in the lock up garage, of our stay here was delightful. We had a spacious room with a massive bathroom and a secluded sunny terrace looking out over the rooftops of Arles on one stay and a vast shady room looking out over the side street on another stay. Beds were large and comfortable with excellent quality linen.
There are no real facilities in the hotel, they can give you a nice glass of wine but the dining room is permanently closed. But breakfast is available in the square in front of the hotel and Gabrielle helped us plan many delicious dinners and lunches in some of Arles stunning restaurants.
The history of Arles is encapsulated in this lovely old building: matadors would receive standing ovations from crowds in the square from the hotel's grand suite; the stairwell is decorated with huge 1920s posters for the bullfight and there is a lovely Spanish/Moroccan feel to the light fixtures and décor; Picasso sat in the square to enjoy lunch before a bullfight; and of course there is Van Gogh's Night Café situated on the square.

Room Tip: We stayed in their top rooms: both were beautiful, simply decorated and very comfortable. Room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa58342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#14 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus

Property: Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Address: Place du Forum, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with Old World Charm in building dating from 1850; restaurant; multilingual staff; located in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nord Pinus
Grand Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing