We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Reviewed 27 March 2006

The Nord Pinus is centrally located in historic Arles, in the Place du Forum. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained with a helpful attentive staff. We came in March and were upgraded to a large room with a balcony overlooking the square. The only drawback was that the room did not have a shower, only a hand-held shower spray, and there was no safe.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 188 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Texas
320
Reviewed 9 December 2005

My husband and I spent a month in Europe for our honeymoon this fall, and this was by far our favorite stop in all of France and Italy. The hotel had been described to me by a friend as "the coolest hotel in the world" and I think that the description fits. It's very eccentric and arty -- the Chelsea Hotel, in Provence. Every inch of the place is decorated with old bullfighting posters, gorgeous black-and-white Peter Beard photos of Africa from the 1930s, fading photographs of Jean Cocteau (who used to stay here), old mosaic work, and so on. It has a beautiful, ruined air. We were amazed at how much there was to do in Arles that was in the same vein; in that one tiny town, there is a phenomenal record store, a large independent bookstore, an art house/movie theater/morrocan restaurant, and other chic but affordable places to eat(don't miss La Chacouterie). The only drawback, if you are exploring Provence by car, is that Arles has very, very narrow streets, and our first attempt to get to the Nord Pinus was a bit harrowing. But we adored it, and are already planning our return someday. If you go, make sure to have a drink in the quirky bar before bed...Oh, and if you go during Easter time or the summer, you can see a bullfight at the old Roman forum. Don't miss this!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
322
Reviewed 22 October 2005

Even though the name is still being worked into a lot of post vacation jokes, my wife and I found hotel to be a great place to stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and I was able to negotiate a good rate with the owner. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was updated and clean as well. It is located right on one of the central squares in Arles, which allows easy walking all over town. The building is very old but the pictures and art adds to the charm and makes the place very interesting. Great place for a couples vacation stay in a great town.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2005

This hotel is outstanding if you want to absorb real character and breathe in its charismatic history. It is cool, dark, mysterious and utterly charming...magnificent artworks by Peter Beard adorn the walls, the cozy bar is adorned with matador's costumes and photographs of famous visitors...Picasso, Jean Cocteau, Dominguin (famous matador), Fernadel (famous actor) etc. Also, its location is ideal for wandering the town. The staff were excellent...helpful but never fawning. We stayed in the apartment, which is a second floor suite with a large balcony overlooking the Place du forum. It is accessed via a private spiral staircase and has large rooms on split levels. Of a tour throughout Provence and Languedoc, this was the real favourite!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blesstheweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2005

The best place in Arles to have breakfast is just in front of the Hotel. One of three tables is in front of the remains of ancient Roman columns, so don't sit at this one unless you don't mind the odd tourist rudely ignoring your idyllic setting whilst they manouvre around your table in search of the best shot.

The hotel itself is the best you can get before it starts getting ruined by poshness. Certainly not your boring, plush but soulless 5* hotel. Good service (refreshingly laisser faire). The interior is as atmospheric as Arles itself, not a hermetic bubble.

I tried the restaurant. Very good food. Not as prompt as it could have been, but perhaps that's just a one-off. If you order an expensive wine (like me) make bloody sure you really can tell if it's off or not on your first tasting - I stupidly thought expensive=reliable. It means quality, but given the age of the wine, you have to reject the inevitable duds. I suffered in silence rather than admit my incompetence. I'm sure the wine waitress would have helped me out had I asked her opinion.

The lift is old, and the square spiral staircase is older still - it slopes inward due to age and is a tad disconcerting despite being rock solid. Give it a go.

Yes, this hotel is for those who aren't addicted to their car. Great fun negotiating the narrow streets to get to/from the hotel, but the hotel's car parking is ideally for the duration of your stay, and perhaps you car brought out only for the odd day trip.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Man_from_La_Manche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2005

OK, the name is very strange, and I never did get an explanation. Don't let the name fool you, the hotel is very nice, the room we had was huge, and the bathroom was even bigger. The room had no AC so the window was open and the sounds ease up around midnight. The location is right on the central square and cannot be beat. Driving there is not easy. You will drive in lanes wide enough for only one car, and once you park, leave your car alone until you leave, you don't need it. In retrospect, I would make Arles a daytrip and stay someplace with a pool.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlaHockeyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2004

This was our second stay at the Nord Pinus, and it was just as wonderful the second time. We splurged with a two room suite. It was spacious and full of charm.

The staff at the Nord Pinus go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel for its great rooms, convenient location, and professional staff.

5  Thank ShowMeState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#20 of 56 in Arles
221 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
380 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mas de Peint
Hotel Le Mas de Peint
#14 of 56 in Arles
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#12 of 56 in Arles
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus

Address: Place du Forum, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Arles
Price Range: £164 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with Old World Charm in building dating from 1850; restaurant; multilingual staff; located in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nord Pinus
Grand Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing