We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arles...old is INN”
Review of Hotel d'Arlatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel d'Arlatan
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Arles
clear lake, mn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Arles...old is INN”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

the d'Arlatan is a former palace..roman ruins are all around, including a glass look through in the lobby..great location..friendly staff..rooms vary is size and price...ours was a 2 star at best, even though the hotel is rated a 3 star...swimming pool, courtyard and sitting room are nice..breakfast is optional as is staying in Arles at the d'Arlatan

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank inseineClearLake_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    95
    51
    12
    10
See reviews for
34
145
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a difficult time of finding a good hotel in Arles on short notice in September, but we were glad we spent a bit over our budget for the Hotel d'Arlatan. The location is ideal, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the room was charming and comfortable. Breakfast was pricey and we did not partake - you can do much better for less by going a short distance from the hotel to a cafe on Rue des Penitents Bleus that serves outstanding coffee and breakfasts. The common areas are quite pretty, and we enjoyed hanging out with the turtles while checking our e-mail in the courtyard (WiFi is free, but very weak in the rooms).

Room Tip: Room 16bis (16b) is a large and attractive double room with a view of the main courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Don't get the negative reviews except maybe they were ther right after us for the fully boked a over town Feria weekend!

Yes the bed covers could use an update..but who doesn't stw those at any hotel?

Loved the buildings, the setting, rm was large fr od centre city hotel, bed comfotable, loved the furnishings, our bathroom's dr looked ike another armoire until opened..then nice big enough space with tub and decorative tile

Desk staff helpful and friendly enough..printed out train info to Nimes for us.

Breakfast a bit pricey at 15 E, esp since many cafes in town open closer to lunch time, but certainly pleasant in courtyard! A tourist group wandered by whilst we were there, taking photos of hote/grounds.

Didn't use pool or car service but wud make this a good hub for folks touring area for day trips!

Room Tip: We looked over pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Absolutely the most horrible hotel I've ever stayed at ... and I have traveled all over the world. From the rude manager/hotel staff to the musty-smelling room, the horribly uncomfortable bed, the bedspread covered in someone else's hair, the bathroom that hadn't been updated since the 1970s and lacked even a shower curtain, meaning a flooded floor every morning, this hotel represented the worst episode in our two-week vacation in Provence. We booked three nights at the Hotel d'Arlatan ... within one hour of setting foot in our room, we had already booked a room at the Best Western approximately 1/4 mile away and left as soon as we could the following morning. As one French reviewer put it, 'Stay away!'

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinS2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Admittedly a beautiful, atmospheric, centrally located hotel; paid EUR 160 per night for one of its balcony rooms, but found the standard of service poor for the price. Friendliness of the reception staff was variable, only one member of staff serving breakfast so waits were rather long, only one dressing gown in the bedroom so had to ask for another, there were plastic rather than glass beakers in the bathroom for toothbrushes; some days we'd get a bath mat, some days not, our bins weren't always emptied, and very little storage space in the room, even though there was floor space to spare. By themselves not the end of the world, but when you pay as much as we did I would have expected something better. It felt like the management was relying on the history and atmospheric fixtures and fittings of the hotel to justify the price, and were economising on the level and standard of service. Not to mention much too small a pool in the central courtyard for their resident tortoises....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We really liked this hotel, great location right in the centre - well signposted and easy to find. Pleasant rooms (though our air conditioning wasn't very good), lovely outside breakfast/ bar area. Good choice at breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Small perfectly formed pool area. Good car parking service - which you did have to pay for. Good value for money - I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Traveling around the south of France we discovered Arles late on our trip. Researching hotels there online we came across a great late deal on this place. The hotel is elegant, mysterious and has the extra factor of an underground roman ruin as seen through the 'glass floor' of the bar area!!
Brilliant..... The location could not better and the hotel is an absolute gem. We're looking forward to a return visit, especially to fully discover the huge sunday market.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livemusictouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#6 of 56 in Arles
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Arlatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Arlatan

Property: Hotel d'Arlatan
Address: 26 Rue du Sauvage, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Arlatan 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel d'Arlatan is currently closed for total renovation works. Re-opening scheduled for 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Arlatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Arlatan
d Arlatan Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing