We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location”
Review of Hotel d'Arlatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel d'Arlatan
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just stayed for four nights. I found the hotel to be quite good and the location in Arles about perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was quite large. I believe Rick Steves used the term "faded elegance" and I would concur. This is not luxury but it was very functional, clean, and true to its location and history. I was very pleased with my stay. One word for drivers: the hotel location is challenging for drivers. VERY narrow streets with corners you can barely make. A small car is wise. Your GPS is useless and will lead you in circles, down dead ends, and cause you much grief if you ignore my advice. The hotel directions are perfect (they will email you) - do what they say. Then enjoy this nice hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Arlatan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I did a thorough research of in-town hotels and really wanted to stay at this one mainly because of it's rich history and interesting rooms. The perplexing issue however was not being able to choose and book directly online. I had booked the Hotel Ampitheater online as a backup in case my attempts at choosing a specific room at Hotel d'Arlatan did not pan out.
I finally called directly to the front desk to book and to ask questions. Luckily everyone who works there can speak some English; enough to accomplish a reservation.
We booked a suite for a higher price as opposed to a larger standard room. There are several sections to the hotel--all are old but some older and more charming. Our suite had a nice, walkout terrace with patio furniture and a view toward the Place du Forum but no stone walls or tall ceilings. The bathroom was a fair size with tub and double sink.
The room had exterior windows as opposed to the courtyard it was fairly tranquil at night. Stayed for 5 nights and never had the noisy early morning garbage trucks. In general, if you have issues with noise at hotels, I suggest downloading the "sleep pillow" app which provides a mild sound machine of sorts.
Our room, #46, was on the fourth floor with only one other room on this level with a very convenient and almost private elevator. A blow dryer is available at the front desk if there's not one already in your room.
The breakfast at 15euro is very nice. A spacious location with many options to dine in various rooms or outdoors. Fresh fruit, great yogurt, croissants, pain au chocolat, eggs to boil to your desired doneness, quality juices and teas are all part of the buffet.
The staff is very accommodating and willing to work with you. They share a nice camaraderie and sense of humor.
Wifi seems to be difficult to get in some rooms; best solutions is to do all of your computer tasks on the main floor either in the comfortable common rooms or the outdoor patio.
The whole town is pleasant and compact. You can walk from one end to the other in ten minutes.
The market on Wednesday and Saturday mornings is extensive and runs along the perimeter of exterior town border. There is a nice Monoprix in this same area to pick up small items of the variety store kind.
Renting bikes is challenging. You can ride to the Van Gogh bridge but beyond the town limits is congested and frustrating depending which direction you choose. We did not try the direction of the Camargue; it may be less busy.
Overall, there are many hotels in Arles. This one has a very pleasant location and staff. Just try to be clear about room choices as to not disappoint your expectations. Oh, and as far as the ancient ruins underneath the floor in the lobby, understandably, they had to cover it up as it was becoming too big of a distraction to outside tourists. You can still see the ruins from outside by peering through a street level window.

Room Tip: It's tough since no online booking option or precise room descriptions/photos. Maybe they will...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnc2oths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Is that a museum? is it an hotel? it is both, an hotel museum who can propose quite good size room for an affordable rate as a three star hotel within the old roman city of arles.

Parking is small but there is a valet service taking care of your car, nice.

breakfast is simple, a bit exotic, but good pastries, bread and coffees..

well done, I understand the hotel is under huge renovation and has been re-open a few days ago only...

Room Tip: choose the room on first floor for easy access to lobby bar.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 946WELDONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff was fabulous and went far beyond the call of duty when I had had a very hard trip into Arles. Much appreciated by an exhausted traveler. Comfortable, airy, nice combination of historic charming and modern. Get parking instructions before you leave home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed recently at this wonderful hotel fir the second time in Arles
The interiors have just been refurbished in a very modern yet classic style.
We had some misconnections with our TGV trip from Barcelona. Carole stepped in to reorganize our car hire- much appreciated. All the staff were just wonderful - we'll be going back .

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Although this hotel was recommended by many of the guide books that we consulted we were still pleasantly surprised when we arrived (Sept. 2013) from a tiring rail-taxi trip. The place was charming! Neat, clean, well situated in town. A high point was the friendly, accommodating staff. Nice lobby, courtyard/pool area and very convenient adjacent garage. We had a decent size two room suite, but did not see any of the other rooms. We were there for four nights and partook of one optional breakfast, which was fine. Heartily recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenS08816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were here in August 2013. Perfect location, our room was quiet and the hotel is charming. We had a stand up shower in our room, not sure which wing the reviewer below was in. The Art Museum is just around the corner, nice little restaurants and 2 bakeries in the square 100 feet away. Drink your coffee and eat in the courtyard by the pool. The train lets you off within easy walking distance, we walked along the river to the hotel. We rented bicycles in town and rode all around the perimeter of Arles. The history museum is not to be missed for a good background of the area. I just loved this little gem of a hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sernja2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#9 of 56 in Arles
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#7 of 56 in Arles
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#19 of 56 in Arles
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Arlatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Arlatan

Address: 26 Rue du Sauvage, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range: £68 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Arlatan 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel d'Arlatan is currently closed for total renovation works. Re-opening scheduled for 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Arlatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Arlatan
d Arlatan Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing