We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room with terrace, sun lounges and views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great room with terrace, sun lounges and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I think we got the only room with a terrace and sun beds. It was huge!! With views over the amphitheatre and over 2 levels.

The staff were very helpful, carrying my wife's bags up the stairs and providing helpful tips. They seemed genuinely excited to help us see the best of the town. They came running after me too when I left my sunglasses behind (3 blocks away!).

The spa was awesome too and the tiny masseuse who didn't speak any english gave me the exact massage I needed after lots of driving (and dealing with my wife's bags). Breakfast was generous and having the little cafe was very handy.

It was a very relaxing, unpretentious stay that was great value. Exactly what we were after.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JR_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    441
    82
    24
    9
See reviews for
251
674
70
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Great location, friendly staff, good food options, comfortable room. Bathroom was good sized, bed was comfortable and we had a patio off the room. City was charming. Parking is off site, a sort walk but included. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAC28365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time and rating us out on Trip advisor .
We are happy you enjoyed our rooms as well as our food options . The parking you mention is off site but we try to go with our guests and accompany them when possible so that they do not get lost. Regards The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel was wonderful! Very clean, staff very helpful and great location!
The spa was an added surprise and benefit after a long day of travel.
Would recommend to anyone and would stay there again and I hope I get to come back some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndeej58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your rating . We try to meet guests' standards always !! and are happy thanks to you for our rating ! The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Completely average 3 star, seems overpriced. First room we got was really unpleasant, and the lady at the front desk said she didn't have any others. Only after we insisted did another staff member show us 4-5 other rooms. None were great but one was fine. Otherwise the staff was pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel is bigger than it looks - if you don't like your room ask for another. There are two p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonersThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Owner at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
We thank you for taking the time to rate us out on Trip Advisor .
I ' m sorry to hear that the first room was not at your convenience nor the others apparently.
All our rooms are different in size colour view bedding .... it is difficult to find what's best to match guests' standards.
You were very right to insist on seeing other rooms and I agree the first person you delt with should have felt your uncontentment.
Thank you for saying that the staff was pleasant and helpful.
regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel reminded me of a youth hostel for grown ups... in a good way. It had all manner of helpful information and tips posted all over the place, and a youthful enthusiasm that was catching. I loved the bar attached to it, making it very easy and enjoyable to pause for a refreshment on the way in or out. The room I had was excellent; it was on the top floor facing the Ampitheatre across the road and had a large balcony, reflecting the perfect location of the hotel itself. Excellent value for a three star hotel.

The bathroom was basic but perfectly functional. Parking arrangements were perfect after initial apprehension about driving through the old part of town to get there.

I found the staff initially a little brusque, but this was more due to their efficiency rather than anything else, and this soon dissipated after a few encounters.

I was only here one night, and I regret this: this is a very nice hotel in a very nice town and I would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barty2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, General Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your rating.
We do try to give the maximum of information to guests away from home and in a foreign country .
We hope that everyone leaves with a good feeling or France , Provence, Arles and the Arlesiens . We have noted your remark on our "abruptness", we will try to make our arrivals and check ins more "soft" ! Regards and Thank you
General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

In reverse order: I shower in cold water the morning of departure because there is no hot water in room. I immerse in tepid water in hot tub. I receive one-word responses from desk staff, with rolling eyes. I ask for quiet room; am placed on noisy hallway. Wi-fi works, but is very weak. This was by far the worst--and the only unpleasant--hotel stay in my recent trip to France. Yes, the location of the hotel is quite good, but checking out felt like being released from prison.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chowhound333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Owner at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Well it seems we missed it all !

I am very sorry for this unpleasant experience.

If you had asked for a manager or owner of the Hotel , we could have tried to make you feel more like a guest then a prisoner .

Our regrets .

The Management - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Even the extremely positive reviews, cannot prepare you for the very charm of Hotel Le Calendal. It is old on the outside (very old), but modern, clean, warm and friendly inside. Staff that is fluent in English make you feel most welcome and at home. The beds were comfortable and bathrooms neat and modern. The little enclosed garden is quaint and private and allows you time away from the busy streets - if you want it. We definitely enjoyed our stay there and will recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RapTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#6 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Property: Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing