We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and services”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location and services”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were 3 ladies sharing a room with 3 beds at the Hotel le Calendal. Our room was very roomy, comfortable and clean. The breakfast (not included) was great and very convenient with a self serve set up. There is also a luncheon restaurant which seemed very busy. It was a cool rainy day so we took advantage of the spa. The spa looks much bigger in the photos than in real space. It really is a luke warm pool with a steam room and sitting area for tea. There is a massage room that we did not take advantage of. The staff was very friendly. The location is very convenient for walking around the old city.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and had an opening window. There appeared to be some rooms with courtyard acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Customers,

Thank you for leaving your impressions after your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned the spa has a steam room, big Jacuzzi and powerful shower and all that overlooking the arena of Arles. The access is included in the price of the room and only for adults (+ 18 years old). The Calendal counter is open 24/7 for the customers of the hotel if ever you would like to eat or drink something. There is a large choice of homemade sandwiches, desserts and homemade dishes that you can have inside or in the garden of the hotel. We hope to have the chance to see you on your next trip to Provence, meanwhile follow our Facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    455
    89
    25
    9
See reviews for
260
705
74
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel. It is very charming and loved the central patio. We are a family of four, with two small children. The room was more than accommodating. Very spacious and were able to move around very comfortably even with pack and play in the room. Beds were very comfortable. Liked the fact that the bathroom is spacious and has an actual shower (who takes a bath in a tub in hotel a hotel anyways?). The staff was amazing - nice and very helpful. Loved the fact that they have a list of restaurants they recommend- it helped us out quite a bit. Location is impeccable. Don't look any further, if you are going to Arles, you must stay at Le Calendal.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time and posting your impressions about the hotel after your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that everything satisfied you as well as the room and the staff. They will be notified right away, it is always motivating for them to know that the customers are happy. We hope to see you soon in Arles, meanwhile please keep posted on our Facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spa Calendal is a very friendly hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff make you feel at home.
Nice envirement. Rooms a bit old but has all you need.
Splendid Breakfast, Located at a great spot near Roman entourages.
Closeby the Hotel are nice and good restaurants.
The hole atmosphere is provencal, friendly.
In the morning we sat in the sun in the garden en at the end of the day at the terras in front.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your impressions after staying in our hotel. We are happy to read that we have made you feel just like at home during your stay. Some rooms may seem “old” they are being refreshed one by one, but even so we are definitely not a design hotel looking more for traditional provencal feeling. The Calendal is located in the city center just between the Arenas and the Antic Theater. We hope to see you soon, meanwhile to keep posted on the news of the hotel become a fan of our Facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I spent a thoroughly enjoyable three nights at this great 3 star hotel, perfectly located in the centre of Arles, just meters away from the 2000 year old Roman Amphitheatre and across from the Antique Theatre. Not luxuriously outfitted, but super-comfortable And spotlessly clean, this hotel, owned by Cecile and her husband boasts wonderfully attentive and helpful staff. A small negative is the very small, wall- mounted TV, the large, attractive spa is a great feature, super wi-fi connection. We highly recommend this hotel. Bargain price if booked on the internet and prepaid.


Peter and Gaye, Victoria, BC., Canada

Room Tip: Room 16 was an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and leaving your impressions of the hotel after a 3 night stay. It is a pleasure to read that you were pleased by the location and the hotel services. The TV’s are in the process of being changed for a bigger size in each room. The hotel as you mentioned has a spa and is reserved for adults (+18 years old). Open everyday from 8am to 8pm.
We are looking forward to see you on your next trip to Arles, meanwhile keep posted on our Facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What this hotel has going for it is the helpfulness of the staff, the 24/7 food service with good coffee, the spa and its location. The garden is also quite nice and our room had a large balcony which is hard to find. Just realize there is nothing fancy about this hotel. I would say physically it is probably on the lower end of the 3 star hotels I have stayed in. I was not impressed by the breakfast as there were no hot options, even for an extra fee, aside from a boiled egg. I also note that the carpets were not that clean. I had to pick up some coins I dropped and noticed that there were many white hairs on the carpet. I found the same in my friends's room. Perhaps the carpet color (blue) just shows this but it was disconcerting and I was happy we were not staying too long. The rooms were otherwise clean but this was a big deal to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Customer,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share this detailed feed-back in regards of your last stay with us in January.
Apologies for the obvious inconveniences caused by some problems you encountered while staying with us. For the buffet breakfast, we do are best to try and please all the customers as for the price and the choice of food.
For the carpet in your room, we’ve had a meeting with the cleaning ladies and have shown them your comment. They will now pay much more attention when vacuuming the rooms and the cleaning check of the rooms will be looked after much more closely.
Thank you again for the courtesy of your time. We all look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Arles is a charming, down-to-earth town, and the Hotel Le Calendal is located in the perfect spot. It has the feel of a small, friendly French hotel in the middle of an ancient Roman town. My daughter and I had a lovely, typically Provencal, room with a balcony overlooking the arena, which is literally right next door. The staff is extremely helpful with directions, recommendations, and - most importantly - car parking. Breakfasts are excellent, and and delicious pastries and sandwiches can be purchased for day trips to the nearby Camargue. Wonderful restaurants are located within easy walking distance, as are the easels indicating locations Van Gogh immortalized in his paintings. This is the perfect place to spend a few days exploring the beauty and history of Provence.

Room Tip: We loved our room with a small balcony facing the Roman Arena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Delighted that you enjoyed your room overlooking the arena. The hotel is located in the Old part of the city centre of Arles in the middle of the Arena and the Antic Theater.
Parking can be tricky in the City that is why a member of the front desk goes with you to the municipal parking lot that can be pre - reserved at 8 euros per 24 hours.
Happy to read that all our services pleased you. The bar is open 24h/7 for customers of the hotel if ever you wish to drink or to eat…
Thank you for sharing your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon in Arles meanwhile please become fan of our facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivoryton, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I spent Christmas Eve and Christmas at the cozy Le Calendal. Excellent location for day trips to other spots. Fabulous buffet breakfast, warm and friendly staff, and a comfortable room created a magical vacation. I think Santa's elves vacation in Arles, enjoying chocolate, scenery, and conversation at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was blissfully quiet. We did not utilize the spa but plan to do so when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments on the website Trip advisor following your stay at the Hotel Le Calendal.
It is a pleasure to read that all our services and staff satisfied you. The staff will be notified right away.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon on you next trip to Arles.
Meanwhile keep posted on our facebook page!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#9 of 56 in Arles
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arles Plaza
Hotel Arles Plaza
#12 of 56 in Arles
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Property: Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing