We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ancient charm, modern comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“ancient charm, modern comfort”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Central location was very important because my husband has trouble walking--this hotel was perfect, for our 2-night stay, close to everything and directly overlooking the two most important Roman monuments. The staff was a delight in French or English, helpful for every detail from parking across the street to great restaurant suggestions. Only detail missing was an elevator, but staff helped with the luggage so we had no problems. The garden courtyard provided a shady, tranquil escape, and our cheerful room overlooking the garden was blissfully quiet at night.

Room Tip: our interior room looked over the garden, had gorgeous sunshine in the morning and no noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting you opinion after staying two nights with us. It is a pleasure to read that you were delighted by the location and the staff; they will be notified right away. The hotel as no elevator, it is 4 different buildings with two floors at the most. For the luggage no worries our staff will help you at all time to bring it up to you room and bring it down on check-out day. We hope to have the chance to see you on your next trip to the south of France meanwhile please keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    449
    87
    25
    9
See reviews for
255
700
74
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We just walked in here to get some breakfast, as it was the only place open at 9am (!) when we arrived. For the buffet option which in our opinion, includes a very poor selection, cold croissants, no hot food station and coffee from a machine, be prepared to pay 12 euros per person. Total rip-off... The other option is to get the simpler breakfast version of 6 euros, which includes a cofee and a croissant, served at the front of the hotel. Still too expensive. On the plus side, the breskfast room offers a nice garden view and cute silverware. No opinion on rooms or service; as I said we are not staying here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensSoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guests,

We are sorry that the buffet breakfast was not what you expected when you walked in. The buffet breakfast has a large choice,
croissants, pain au chocolate, fresh bread baguette, multi-cereal bread, rice crackers, white bread
fresh orange juice, multi fruit vitamin juice , apple juice
eggs that you cook yourself, hard boiled or soft boiled (hot item)
yogurt, fresh fruit, fruit salad apple sauce
Cereals
jams choice of five , honey, nutella
ham, saucisson, smoked ham choice of three cheeses (brie emmenthal camembert)
Hot drinks : hot chocolate, coffee and hot water, teas. ....

All these items are available at 12 euros with FREE refill coffee and hot drinks.
Most continental breakfasts in France run between 6 - 8 euros for 1 hot drink 1 croissant 1 juice .
We do not understand your opinion concerning our 12 euros quality choice price but we note your disapproval. Furthermore, for our guests, we organize 3 different breakfast choices runing at 6 euros 8 euros 12 euros or even a la carte, in order to respond at best to different price needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a solid 3 star hotel. The rooms are old and small but you will have everything you need. The English speaking front desk personnel are so very helpful and take care of any request. Do know that the a/c is only available when the hotel switches over in total so if you are a little warm you will need to sleep with the window open.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time and posting you comment after staying with us. It is a real pleasure to read that everything satisfied you while you were here. For the a/c it is as you said when the hotel switches to a/c. The weather has been very weird that’s why we have kept the heat on so far. And as you mentioned you can sleep the window open no risk of mosquitos, it’s too cold for them right now!! Hope to see you again on your next trip to the south meanwhile please keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We ve been for three days at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, great location, our room overlooking large pro Amphitheatre! Breakfast very tasty and all people happy in helping you with reservations in restaurants and citytours! It worths all the euro spent

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zena876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dears Guests,

Thank you for leaving your opion after staying 3 days in our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied by the hotel the city and the staff. We hope to see you soon, meanwhile please keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I really liked Hotel Spa Le Calendal. It has beautiful garden with 500 years old tree. The Spa is very relaxing with swimming pool with bubbles and big window from which you can see Roman Amphitheatre. Location is great, service is also great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zlove_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time and sharing you comment on tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed everything about the hotel. The spa has a big Jacuzzi , steam room and powerful shower. It is reserved only for adults (+ 18 years old only). We hope to see you soon on your next trip to arles. Meanwhile keep posted with our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I spent one night at Le Calendal, and it was pretty much as described in the other reviews. It's a pretty solid three star hotel. My room was small but pleasant, nice bathroom, clean. The hotel is well located for the main attractions in Arles (right next to the arène and across from the théatre), and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was very reasonably priced, especially as I got a good deal booking on their website, and it was out of peak season. It's only about a 20-minute walk (and a pleasant one) from the hotel to the departmental museum with the boat from 50 AD found in the Rhone and restored just a couple of years ago and a stunning bust of Julius Caesar (one of only two extant) found in the Rhone also.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for leaving your impressions after staying with us. It is a pleasure to read that all our services have satisfied you during your stay. As you mentioned the hotel is located in the city center and near all the main attractions of the city.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you again on a next trip in Arles, meanwhile keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were 3 ladies sharing a room with 3 beds at the Hotel le Calendal. Our room was very roomy, comfortable and clean. The breakfast (not included) was great and very convenient with a self serve set up. There is also a luncheon restaurant which seemed very busy. It was a cool rainy day so we took advantage of the spa. The spa looks much bigger in the photos than in real space. It really is a luke warm pool with a steam room and sitting area for tea. There is a massage room that we did not take advantage of. The staff was very friendly. The location is very convenient for walking around the old city.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and had an opening window. There appeared to be some rooms with courtyard acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeekingSan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Customers,

Thank you for leaving your impressions after your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned the spa has a steam room, big Jacuzzi and powerful shower and all that overlooking the arena of Arles. The access is included in the price of the room and only for adults (+ 18 years old). The Calendal counter is open 24/7 for the customers of the hotel if ever you would like to eat or drink something. There is a large choice of homemade sandwiches, desserts and homemade dishes that you can have inside or in the garden of the hotel. We hope to have the chance to see you on your next trip to Provence, meanwhile follow our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#6 of 56 in Arles
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#11 of 56 in Arles
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Property: Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing