We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We loved this hotel for several reasons: great location (our room overlooked the Roman Amphitheatre), friendly staff, unique building and the garden courtyard. By looking at the front of the hotel, you would have no idea that there is a lovely garden at the back, and is perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine after a day of touring. It was so peaceful there and our group appreciated having a nice place to meet up to discuss our days adventures. The room was small but decorated beautifully and had lovely windows. Since the hotel is built over 4 buildings, the rooms are all different, not a cookie cutter design. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinigirlPicton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guets,

Thank you for leaving your impressions after staying at the hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed everything of the hotel. We try our best to satisfy all are customers , and when we read your comment on Tripadvisor , it motivates the staff.
We hope to have the chance to greet you again on your next trip to the south of France, meanwhile please keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    439
    81
    24
    9
See reviews for
251
670
70
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Second time to stay in room 4 at the Hotel Spa Calendal. I love it!!! The room is so pretty and the view from the terrace cannot be beat. The service is wonderful. Everyone is so helpful. Only two suggestions: Carpet on stairs could use an upgrade and breakfast choices could be improved.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comment after your stay at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to welcome you. The staff will be notified about your comment right away it is always encouraging to have comments like yours, thank you.
For your suggestion about upgrading the carpet in the staircase we thoroughly agree and now waiting for company answers in order to change this .Mean while please keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is an old hotell with all its charms. The staf is so very helpfull and pleasant. They helped with our luggage (through the garden and) up some narow stairs to our lovely room. We were breathtaken when we could look out on the remains of the old roman amfitheater. The room itself, space enough and a nice bathroom. The beds were good. Pleasent to sit on the sidewalk with a glas of roze and let the scenery pas by.
The breakfast, not the most pleantiful, but enough, I liked the "cook your own egg" with your sandglas timer so you get it just so long cooked as you want.
The parking is 5 minutes walk away, but since we stil are able to walk nicely, this was no problem at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a rom with a amfitheater view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kva_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for leaving you impressions after staying with us. It is a pleasure to read that all our services and over all impression of the room satisfied you. It is always encouraging to read comments like yours. Thank you. We hope to have the chance to see you again on your next trip to the south of france, meanwhile please keep posted on pour Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Central location was very important because my husband has trouble walking--this hotel was perfect, for our 2-night stay, close to everything and directly overlooking the two most important Roman monuments. The staff was a delight in French or English, helpful for every detail from parking across the street to great restaurant suggestions. Only detail missing was an elevator, but staff helped with the luggage so we had no problems. The garden courtyard provided a shady, tranquil escape, and our cheerful room overlooking the garden was blissfully quiet at night.

Room Tip: our interior room looked over the garden, had gorgeous sunshine in the morning and no noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting you opinion after staying two nights with us. It is a pleasure to read that you were delighted by the location and the staff; they will be notified right away. The hotel as no elevator, it is 4 different buildings with two floors at the most. For the luggage no worries our staff will help you at all time to bring it up to you room and bring it down on check-out day. We hope to have the chance to see you on your next trip to the south of France meanwhile please keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We just walked in here to get some breakfast, as it was the only place open at 9am (!) when we arrived. For the buffet option which in our opinion, includes a very poor selection, cold croissants, no hot food station and coffee from a machine, be prepared to pay 12 euros per person. Total rip-off... The other option is to get the simpler breakfast version of 6 euros, which includes a cofee and a croissant, served at the front of the hotel. Still too expensive. On the plus side, the breskfast room offers a nice garden view and cute silverware. No opinion on rooms or service; as I said we are not staying here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensSoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guests,

We are sorry that the buffet breakfast was not what you expected when you walked in. The buffet breakfast has a large choice,
croissants, pain au chocolate, fresh bread baguette, multi-cereal bread, rice crackers, white bread
fresh orange juice, multi fruit vitamin juice , apple juice
eggs that you cook yourself, hard boiled or soft boiled (hot item)
yogurt, fresh fruit, fruit salad apple sauce
Cereals
jams choice of five , honey, nutella
ham, saucisson, smoked ham choice of three cheeses (brie emmenthal camembert)
Hot drinks : hot chocolate, coffee and hot water, teas. ....

All these items are available at 12 euros with FREE refill coffee and hot drinks.
Most continental breakfasts in France run between 6 - 8 euros for 1 hot drink 1 croissant 1 juice .
We do not understand your opinion concerning our 12 euros quality choice price but we note your disapproval. Furthermore, for our guests, we organize 3 different breakfast choices runing at 6 euros 8 euros 12 euros or even a la carte, in order to respond at best to different price needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a solid 3 star hotel. The rooms are old and small but you will have everything you need. The English speaking front desk personnel are so very helpful and take care of any request. Do know that the a/c is only available when the hotel switches over in total so if you are a little warm you will need to sleep with the window open.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time and posting you comment after staying with us. It is a real pleasure to read that everything satisfied you while you were here. For the a/c it is as you said when the hotel switches to a/c. The weather has been very weird that’s why we have kept the heat on so far. And as you mentioned you can sleep the window open no risk of mosquitos, it’s too cold for them right now!! Hope to see you again on your next trip to the south meanwhile please keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We ve been for three days at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, great location, our room overlooking large pro Amphitheatre! Breakfast very tasty and all people happy in helping you with reservations in restaurants and citytours! It worths all the euro spent

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zena876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dears Guests,

Thank you for leaving your opion after staying 3 days in our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied by the hotel the city and the staff. We hope to see you soon, meanwhile please keep posted on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Jules Cesar Arles MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Property: Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. The Comptoir du Calendal is the perfect place to have simple homemade soups salads quiches gratins .... and wonderful organic bread sandwiches some even available for vegetarians. The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . Home away from home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing