We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Mas de Peint
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Calm and secluded. Authentic and refined. Very helpful and efficient staff. Very pleasant dinner with nevertheless two observations: The price (€ 66) is overpriced by € 10/ € 20... The desert was rather simplistic (red berries and sorbet).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    28
    11
    10
    1
See reviews for
35
78
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mallorca
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This year was 'as expected' although I noticed a degree of decor-shabbiness creeping in; no doubt they'll fix that. The chef is a charming man, and his staff excellent...although his style is generally a little too subtle for my tastes. Desserts are wonderful. The range of cheeses on offer had become narrower and less adventurous than in previous visits.
My son went riding with the charming male-model lookalike owner of the hotel, Frederic. Came back determined to work here during his gap year. Can't be a higher recommendation than that!
(As a 'secret' tip, if you tire of the haute cuisine at the Mas, ask one of the hugely helpful ladies on reception to book a table at Chez Bob...of which, more elsewhere on this site)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godfatherMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Hotel is actually located in the Camargue National Park, about 28 kms from the city of Arles. It does deliver on the service. Staff are very pleasant and helpful, but it is over priced for what you actually get. Our so called Suite was basically a double bedroom with a King size bed in it and our son slept on a roll up bed in the hallway. The bathroom was really nice and had an extra shower room. There was no kettle in the room so you could not even make a cup of coffee and the buffet style breakfast at 22 Euros per head was very average. When my husband asked for bacon and eggs, eyes were raised and the chef oven baked him some eggs!
There was a beautiful pool area, but the water was too cold even in September. At 450 Euros per night I thought they should offer either a heated swimming pool, or some alternative activity for relaxation e.g. heated pool, sauna, haman and a gym would be great. The horse riding was very disappointing for our friends who had ridden before as we basically walked around a field. The gourmet dining experience was excellent, food very nice indeed, but again at 55 Euros per head we felt that there should have been a choice of at least 2 items for main course. As a vegetarian I could only dine there once because the inevitable sanguinous meat would end up on my plate the following night. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiedamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Very pleasant Mas with excellent food,sitting, swimming pool and service. Pricey but worth it. Also we had the chance of being there when they ran a Jounée Camargaise with Ferrade, Gardians' games, lunch with Cuisseau de Taureau followed by course à la cocarde in their own arena, which was great and was attended by a group of joyous French people from Toulouse. They have such days about 4 times a year,so look out!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigitteM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Mas de Peint is nicely located in the heart of Camargue, a wild reserve that is worth visiting. The Hotel is a little too manicured on the outside for my taste, but well decorated inside with authentic details (around bulls) with ceiling made of enormous wooden beams. It is all very well organised and the rooms are large. The swimming pool is great, but the best part is the horse riding in the owner's property of 500 hectars. Sandy will take you for a tour on the most adorable horses and she will explain the whole history of Camargue, how the ecosystem works, etc. Delightful. Although the restaurant area by the pool is super nice, don't stay for lunch; the food is mediocre and overpriced!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

RM7. No shower. Bad lighting. Hard cushions not pillows. No drinking water. Beams authentic but impractical for tall people in a superior room?!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

After a very warm welcome from Madame Bon and her son Frederic we sat under a rose covered pergola by the pool for a late lunch.
Lovely colourful gaspacho with a beautiful arrangement of extras, then a perfectly cooked slice of swordfish with a fresh spicy tomato sauce and followed by the most delicious fruit sorbets.
Its a peaceful setting, crickets and birds singing and a combine harvester at work in the distance.
Definitely worth the trip from Arles and is half way to the beach at Salin de Giraud.

Room Tip: Didnt stay the night, but it all looks lovely and charming and authentic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arles
12.6 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
15.4 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
217 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#16 of 56 in Arles
213 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
15.8 mi away
Mas de la Fouque
Mas de la Fouque
#1 of 42 in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mas de Peint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mas de Peint

Property: Hotel Le Mas de Peint
Address: Le Sambuc, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arles
#8 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Mas de Peint 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Mas de Peint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De Peint Hotel
Mas De Peint Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing