We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with Pool”
Review of Hotel le Rodin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Rodin
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Arles
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with Pool”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I have just spent 7 nights at the hotel and enjoyed it very much. Our upstairs room was a good size with an extremely comfortable and large double bed. It had very efficient (and welcome) air conditioning and a fridge. All the upstairs rooms have a small balcony (with a table and chairs) and overlook the pool. The pool area is very attractive and there were never more than 6 people sitting around at any one time. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly - even when I made a silly fuss about the bill when we were checking out - which was completely my fault because I'd misheard what was said (the bill was correct and was very reasonable). As others have mentioned, the hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the old centre of Arles. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential street so if you go into the centre on foot you need to turn a couple of corners and then most of this walk is along a main road (and that is a bit run down in parts). However, there is lots of passing traffic and we certainly didn't feel threatened or concerned at all when we walked back at night. The gates to the hotel are shut at around 9 pm (guests have the security code) and parking within the hotel grounds is secure. Our room had an efficient plug in device to repel any passing mosquito but anybody sitting outside or walking in Provence as dusk falls needs to slap on some insect repellant. We sat outside at a restaurant in Arles on our first evening and my husband was badly bitten.
We would certainly stay at this hotel again - preferably in the late spring or early summer when the sun isn't so fierce and when (we were told) the countryside is at its best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rallen3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    59
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
35
54
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

As others have said, 15 minute walk from Arles centre. We had a garden room with a terrace directly on to the garden and swimming pool. Pool kept at a lovely 30 degrees, very clean and garden well maintained. Hotel is in motel style with door to outside (felt very secure) and you can park opposite. We didn't have breakfast as we thought it expensive so walked ( or drove to city walls, lots of free parking) and then had breakfast inside the walls, lots of choice. Easy access to main roads. We ate out in Arles ( no restaurant in hotel) every evening and walked back, no problems but would not like to do it alone as it is through a very quiet residential area. Very friendly, helpful staff. Make sure your mosquito machine in the room has liquid in it - we got badly bitten when ours ran out!. Arles is on the edge of the Camargue, lots of mosquitos.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have direct access to the pool and large terrace area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosserUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Two nights we have been in arles in the hotel le rodin. We travelled by train and came by foot, 15 minutes to go, not really in the city center but this was no problem.We were in great silent neighborhood with a really beautiful pool. The hotel is old style but every detail is perfect, it is a family driven hotel. We asked for a lot of favours and the staff were positive to every demand. It was realy relax and perfect for the climate of arles.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

First of all, if you are looking for super-friendly staff, calm, and a great pool, this hotel could well be for you.

However, as a lot of other reviewers have also said, it is quite a walk from the centre of town (and not through the nicest of areas) and the décor of the place is both old and pretty ugly.

We also found the free wi-fi to be really patchy, which was extremely frustrating. The manager put this down to "the sizes of the tubes" when too many people are using it at the same time. He found the joke a lot more amusing than I did.

Some other member of our party were also very uninspired by the breakfast selection, which is fairly large, but with distinctly average-quality products.

With just a little investment, this place could be really lovely - it really needs to décor to be updated asao! For the moment, it seems to be coasting on the attraction of its (genuinely pleasant) pool and extremely nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonwhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

the hotel was very nice,the room was clean and a good size,the staff were friendly and helpful,it has good parking and a nice pool,its about a 15 minute walk to the centre.my only complaint is you can hear people in other rooms if they are noisy

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anywhere49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Hotel Le Rodin was the 3rd hotel of our 2012 Tandem tour of Provence. We stayed for two nights to enjoy the pool and explore Arles. The hotel is about a 15 to 20 minute walk into the centre of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room on the second floor was very good and clean having a balcony, air conditioning. mini bar, TV and safe.
The pool was large in a great setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indy
Level Contributor
866 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We (my mother, wife and myself) stayed at Le Rodin for 4 nights.
It was in a quiet residential neighborhood north of the old town.

My mother's room was on the ground floor and was large with a large bathroom.
Our room was on the top floor of the back section.
The staff were great in accomodating us as I did not want to stay on the ground floor.
They moved us, on our request, to the top floor in the back and it was perfect, quiet and secluded. A lot of this probably was due to being the only people in that section as it was off season and the hotel not full. Our mom only mentioned noise once when some rude guests were
Our room was large and comfortable with plenty of space to put our stuff.
The bathroom was large and also had plenty of space for movement and stuff.
The toilet was tiny and a tight squeeze.
There's a small entry way which provides another level of seclusion from the other guests.

The staff were very helpful, exceeding our expectations in making our stay the best it could be.

We did not try the breakfast but went to the nearby bakery, Fromenterie, at the corner of Rue Valentine Jaume and Avenue de Stalingard. South from hotel to the 1st stop sign and right to Stalengrad. We ate there for about a third of the price and most importantly it was delicious.
It's also a good place to get a sandwhich for later in the day.

Room Tip: Top floor back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Rodin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Rodin

Property: Hotel le Rodin
Address: 20 rue Auguste Rodin, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Rodin 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel le Rodin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rodin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing