We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a feast for the eyes”
Review of Le Marche d'Arles

Le Marche d'Arles
Ranked #19 of 72 things to do in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Truly a feast for the eyes”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visit Arles at least once a year to see my husband's parents and I always have to visit the Saturday market, it is such a feast for the eyes. I marvel at the quality, quantity, variety and size of the vegetables - I have never seen tomatoes or garlic so big! There are so many things to make your mouth water - rotisserie chicken, cheese and meat counters, bread and pastries. They also have an amazing array of homeware, bags, clothes, and I have been amazed to find hats to fit even my small head (not fancy hats for Ascot, just ordinary sun hats or stylish winter ones, depending on the season). If only we had markets like this in England...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Champignons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    42
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,492 reviews
1,387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,312 helpful votes
“Its like a museum of fine arts”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Three shops with an impressive pedigree for excellence. The fame that precedes them was not far off the mark. It houses an extraordinary collection of antiques and vintage collectables,including commodes, impressive 18th century mirrors,tables and paintings to increase your collection's worth. This ain't your budget- end of where serious collectors come,but for us it was gentle and relaxed meander through a museum of life that fields delicacy and and finely decorative pieces.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
272 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise. A true "French Market"”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were fortunate to be in Arles on a Wednesday during the morning market along the Boulevard Émile Combes. We happened to be there while exploring the town on foot. There is a Saturday market as well. The boulevard runs at the bottom of the hill below the hill below the ancient Roman theatre and the famous amphitheater nearby. "French Markets" are commonly promoted and organized in the US and it was fun to be at the genuine article. It was fun wandering up and down past the stalls, many of which were offering samples of cheese, bread, olives, If you were planning on a picnic this was certainly the place to stock up on supplies. Fresh, cooked, and preserved foods were available. Herbs, spices, and freshly cut flowers were on sale too. We wished we could have sampled the "Poulet Rôti" or roast chicken; the rotisserie had potatoes at the bottom below the rotating chicken and the chicken fat was dripping onto the roast potatoes. It looked and smelled great. The market may have attracted lots of us tourists but the locals were definitely doing more than their share of shopping. We may have missed the reportedly more impressive Saturday market but we had a lot of fun that Wednesday morning

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Saturday is the day”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just returned from Arles after a week in a rental with friends. Since we got there late Saturday, and missed the market, we decided to go to the Wednesday one. What a difference.
The first 85% of the market was like a giant flea market, with junk for sale. The latter part is where all the food was and that part was nice. So the following Saturday, instead of leaving early to go to Marseilles, we drove into town to see what the market was like and are we glad we did. It's at least 10 times the size without the flea market stuff, but much better quality items for sale and tons more shops for foods, flowers, live animals, quality clothes, pottery, etc. A great market that was fun to walk around for hours, this is a must see if you're anywhere near Arles on a Saturday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RandR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
545 reviews
348 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“A ttreat for the senses”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Arles market is held on Wednesdays and Saturdays. The Saturday market in particular is extraordinary -- I was fortunate to have been there.

The range of fresh and cooked produce is enormous and very tempting. It is a visual treat as well -- so bring your appetite and your camera. This is rated as one of the best markets in Provence , which is indeed famous for its markets.

It's worth planning to be in Arles on a Saturday ( or Wednesday ) when touring Provence.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Roshni2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Marche d'Arles also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Marche d'Arles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing