We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for our very first night in Europe.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I made the 6 hour drive from Paris to spend our first night in Arles. A lovely experience.
The hotel is situated in one of the towns tight and twisted alleyways.

The rooms appear to have been recently updated. Nonetheless, we stayed on the third floor, and the many steps were challenging. Also the private bathroom and bedroom were an additional flight of steps apart.

All in all though the hotel was clean and the staff was helpful. The hotel was well situated fir exploring this most interesting town.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redeaglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

We arrived in Arles and chose to walk from the train station. When we got to the city, it seemed like everyone we asked was a tourist! It took us quite a while to find the hotel. It was not a long walk, but it was longer than it needed to be.
The hotel is now two buildings; we stayed in the apparently more recently acquired one across the street from the main building. There were just three rooms, big ones, with one per floor. We stayed on the second floor.
Our room was big and comfortable, with a separate sink/shower room and a toilet room. You went to a hall area in your room to reach these, so you could use them at night without disturbing your partner. My husband and I both thought the shower floor was the best ever--looked like stones and was great.
Free internet was included but did not work for most of the trip--not just us, others had the same issue. There were two computers we could use, but French keyboards defeat me. I look like an idiot potential kidnapper in emails.
I had two problems with the room: first, abysmally poor lighting in the bedroom. Readers, bring your own. Second, the only outlet in the bathroom was for shavers only and there is no mirror in the bedroom. Anyone with an electric curling iron has no place to use it. Unless you travel with your own mirror or are talented at doing this job without a mirror. I am not.
We really liked this hotel, which was close to everything, and the two gentlemen who manage or own it are very nice. We would happily stay here again.
We had the breakfast two mornings and enjoyed it. It was not included in our rate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We went in October, so managed, after having found the hotel, to find a parking space round the corner, but in high season, this would be impossible. If you stop outside the hotel to drop your bags, you have to reverse back up the street to get to any parking.
The entrance area is very imposing, which is more than can be said for the rooms and especially the bathroom, which were dingy and dark and not very big. The shower was the narrowest I have ever been in! The rooms are definitely in need of major refurbishment, as are the bathrooms.
Having said that, the staff were friendly and helpful and we walked round the old city and found a very nice restaurant to eat in. Breakfast in the hotel was especially good and we had a good night's sleep as it was very quiet. But the stairs (we were on the second floor) are tricky and steep, so not good if you're not in top form!
I wouldn't necessarily choose this hotel again and can't really understand why it was number 1 on the list of Trip Advisor's best hotels in Arles.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Kfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel is wonderfully located right in the centre of old Arles. Parking is very difficult, although we were lucky because it was the weekend and we got a spot very close by. We took a room with a view and the view was wonderful over the rooftops and the room very good, although the bathroom and bedroom were on separate levels. These rooms are separate to the main hotel, just opposite, so you feel a little disconnected. The main hotel ground floor is very nice.
What let this place down was the lack of knowledge and/or helpfulness of one of the managers. There was a major festival on the day we were there but he knew nothing about it. When we observed that this was not very good (we found it by accident) he said we should contact the tourist office to complain about the lack of information. ??? Also, our room was not cleaned until 3.30pm.
The gentleman who greeted us though was friendly and offered a good restaurant recommendation - Le Criquet.
With a little more involvement this would be a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you choose the room with view be prepared to lug your cases up 4 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TukoPomojaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed here for two nights in September. It was a great location, easy to walk to all points of interest. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleDootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Wonderful modern hotel housed in an ancient building in the back streets of Arles about 1 minutes walk to the amphitheatre. Great location, wonderful service, lovely clean modern rooms, interesting building with lots of local art displayed on the walls. We fully recommend a stay here. We arrived on bikes and they were very accommodating.

Room Tip: Various prices according to location of room, some have a view others don't. We were at street l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTSBatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Another very happy customer. As a family of 6 we often struggle to find a place that ticks everyone's boxes. This ticked nearly all of them! We had 2 rooms next to each other - one with a double and 2 singles with a tastefully constructed glass partition, that gave privacy and would be perfect for a family of four. Each sub room had it's own tv. There was a desk and fridge also. Free wifi was available which the teenagers were grateful for, and there are two computers downstairs that are free to use.Our room was beautifully decorated, extremely spacious and had a huge vaulted ceiling. It was a struggle to leave such a gorgeous room each morning! We stayed in rooms 27 and 28.Location was perfect. Everything was in walking distance. Parking would have been very tricky if we hadn't be lucky enough to grab one of the nine parking spaces in a tiny car park just round the corner - less than one minute away. Slightly negative points were - no facilities to make tea or coffee, and there didn't seem to be hot drinks on offer during the day from the dining area. There was only a bath in both rooms with a hand held shower attachment -personally we prefer showers. Breakfast at 8/10 Euros was just too expensive for the 6 of us. We walked down into town and found a lovely bakery with a local cafe beside it. The owner was more than happy for us to buy our breakfast from next door and eat it while drinking his coffee! Reduced the cost of breakfast by well over 50%

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sf004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#27 of 56 in Arles
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range: £63 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing