We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, simple hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, simple hotel”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed for two nights in March 2012 in "Belvedere" - which as the name suggests is a good room for views over the rooftops of Arles. It had windows on all sides, which might make it a bit hot in summer, but it seemed to have an air-conditioning unit. The room was decorated simply but well and it felt very clean. The room is accessed by its own staircase up from the second floor, finishing with a wooden spiral staircase (so not a room to choose if you don't like steps). The bathroom is on a mezzanine level under the bedroom. It was very quiet (the street outside was also quiet).

The hotel is well located for the main sights in Arles (including the Amphitheatre from which it takes its name). It was also easy to get to from the motorway. Negotiatiing the narrow streets round the hotel was a bit tricky and the hotel does not have any parking. We left the car briefly outside to unload and then parked in the local multistorey carpark, 5 minutes walk away. The hotel has a special daily rate there. We had problems with the card the hotel gave us for this and the staff refunded the extra we had paid without us asking.

I expect that some of the rooms on lower floors may be a bit dark and not have much of a view as the buildings are all close together. We didn't use the common areas, but there appeared to be computers and free wifi access.

This is not a luxury hotel, but we found it clean, comfortable, well-priced and the staff were helpful. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: "Belvedere" is at the top of the hotel with windows on all sides, accessed by its own stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMLQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    262
    33
    13
    2
See reviews for
113
489
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very close to the amphitheater which is the main attraction in Arles. Shops and restaurants near by. Great breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for two nights in February 2012. Very easy check-in process, nice sized suite for a family of four, excellent breakfast and service each morning (Francoise was lovely, our little girls thought she was wonderful) and access to all the sites in short walking distance as we did the Van Gogh walking tour and the ruins. The only drawback was our suite was under the automatic entrance door and we heard it open/shut all evening - nothing serious but it's there.

Room Tip: If you don't wish to hear the door, ask for the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilynClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel is situated in the heart of Downtown, the Arena and the old theatre is within 30 sec walk from the hotel. The staff is the best staff in France i suppose... so professional, yet warm and VERY welcoming. Will stay there again for sure!

p.s the bedrooms are great, the beds are excellent!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gudnye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed for two nights in December 2011. Couldn't have been happier with the room(Bellevue suite), the location and the incredibly friendly service from Noel and staff!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntNYC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This hotel is a nice hotel, and in a great central location close to restaurants, sites and shopping. A little old, but nice, and a good value at the rate we paid of €76 per night. Clean, decent sized room with comfortable king bed. Small shower, but good. Electrical outlet in bathroom nice for using a curling iron. We were on the first floor which had a nice big window that opened up. There were metal bars on the window which was nice so that we weren't concerned about leaving the window open.

Arles is a lovely town. We really enjoyed it and highly recommend going there for a visit, but do note that it is a little challenging to drive around. Some of the streets are very narrow and some of the turns are a little difficult to make. We managed ok (we had a car), but we did see some larger vehicles (such as SUVs) that were unable to make some of the turns without having to back up once or twice. We were very fortunate to find a parking spot in a small metered lot right next to the hotel. Otherwise, there is a parking garage not too far away for €6 per day.

The air conditioner and free Wi-Fi both worked very well. The lighting in the room was also good. Noel, Fabrice & the hotel director (sorry can't remember his name) were all very nice and very accommodating.

The only two things that we feel need improvement are: 1) although there is a safe in the room, which we always appreciate, it was not bolted down. Kind of silly as anyone can simply walk away with it. 2) They seriously need to invest in some "Do Not Disturb" signs in order to protect their guests' privacy, and keep them from being scared out of their wits when someone comes walking into the room. And also, to protect their housekeeping staff from being very startled and embarrassed. We mentioned this when checking out but were told that the housekeeping staff is advised to knock twice before entering. Our chamber maid did not do that. She knocked once very lightly and walked in.

If in Arles again, we would definitely consider staying at this hotel again, but we will, in the future, carry our own "Do Not Disturb" sign with us when we travel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WED439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

While Arles is not big, the location of your hotel still matters, mainly because there is no metro so you need to walk a lot. If your hotel is located close to the main sightseeing sites, it will save you a lot of time getting around and Hotel De L'Amphitheatre is exactly that.

The main sightseeing sites in Arles are the Arena and the Amphitheatre and the main shopping and dining area is near the Place du Forum and the Place de la Republique. Hotel De L'Amphitheatre is in the centre of all these four places. Everything is within reach. In terms of the location, this hotel is a clear winner.

While the bedroom is comfortable but basic, the building is quite impressive. It is located in a 17th century building and the deco is classy with a touch of Provencal earthiness. The room comes with free wi-fi but there is also a skylight lounge where the hotel guests can use the hotel's computers. Very nice.

And for all these, I paid only 51 euro for a single room. This is the cheapest room during my 10-day trip to France but certainly one of my favourite hotels. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel du Forum
#9 of 56 in Arles
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Arles Plaza
#12 of 56 in Arles
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Property: Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing