We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, Good Value”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Excellent location in the old city, just a minute's walk from the Roman arena and theater. It's also within easy walking distance to the restaurants of Place du Forum. We spent one night in the top-floor Belvedere room -- it offered great views over the city toward the river. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We slept well; the hotel was quiet, the AC worked well and the bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean. The price also was quite reasonable. Parking can be a challenge: The hotel has no dedicated spaces. There are two small public lots nearby (one right by the arena); try to get a spot there and leave it for the duration. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmh1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    256
    31
    13
    2
See reviews for
110
477
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights in La Suite room in May 2014. Hotel room was quiet, two TVs, small fridge, safe, overall modern, lovely, and spacious with big tub and a shower, 2 sinks, all clean and modern fixtures. Large sitting room, spacious bedroom, large bathroom. We tried to reserve Belvedere but it was booked. Has no elevator, so be prepared to carry bags yourselves up to your room.

Staff was extremely helpful and gracious, at any hour there to answer questions, make reservations, make recommendations, etc.

We reserved a parking pass through the hotel at Parking du Centre which was a 10 min walk with suitcases (not so fun up the hill when we arrived, but manageable, we felt). Was fairly easy to drive into this parking lot from the highways around Arles (Google map it!).

Breakfast has two tiers: one for 8+ euros with just breads and coffee, and 10+ euros with eggs etc. We opted after first day to buy our own meats and cheeses from the grocery (5 min walk) and eat on our terrace, which was very relaxing, no big views but very quiet and nice. Lots of cafés around to get coffee. (Laundromat down the street from the amphitheatre if you need it.)

It was one of the nicest and most relaxing hotels I've stayed at in France, no complaints. Easy walking distance to all sights and great restaurants (a highlight was dinner at Le Gaboulet).

Our experience was great and I'd stay there again without question.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank km_travels_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were only staying at this hotel for one night and knew it wouldn't be the "most amazing hotel ever". The location was excellent for walking around Arles and seeing the amphiteater and the Van Gogh easels. The room was really worn and not very soundproof, but again, for the value and location, it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WhimsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is brilliant, and it's comfortable, and spacious for Europe. There is no restaurant, but nearby us the wonderful Le Criquet. Breakfast is standard continental, and overall the place is good value for money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank driverrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We had a large room and a good breakfast. Overall the hotel was a little soulless. It is in a very quiet location, not far from the amphitheater, but it felt a little sterile.

Breakfast was good - we went for the breakfast with salt, which included a boiled egg and some cheese.

The proprietor was very helpful when we lost the car park pass.

The hotel is easy to drive to to drop off bags etc.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gatobrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callian, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here during the Feria de Paques. Booked for us by the tourist office so sight unseen. Public areas beautiful and rooms decent size and clean and tidy. Well situated in town centre. Staff very helpful. Breakfast good
Will happily return next time we are in Arles

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamanCallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had I think the best room of this excellent and beautiful Hotel in Arles!Very clean, very quiet, charming and very good location in the middle of this lovely city.....Our very comfortable decorated bedroom had fantastic view all over Arles, Our room was split in two levels which I like very much, a very enjoyable stay, we will be back! The only drawback is you have to leave your car in a secured parking 15m away as there is nowhere you can park in this town as Arles is mainly pedestrian...go close at the htl as you can go, drop the luggage's and go park the car, the walk through the park is very nice as well.

Room Tip: Room 35 if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Logis Hotel de la Muette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#7 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#9 of 56 in Arles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Property: Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Address: 5 rue Diderot, 13200, Arles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing