We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place Deserving its 5 star rating”
Review of Hotel Particulier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Particulier
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night in this hotel while visiting the south/provence region of France. We loved it, from the welcome in the extremely narrow street in front of the gate to our departure, with much regret, the next day. The owner was there at our arrival, very courteous and professional establishment. The rooms are just perfect, ours had a lounge area opening on the yard with the swimming pool. The comfort is very stylish and the service top class. We were recommended a nice restaurant in the city by the lady at the reception, and it was really delicious. In fact we were there on the day of our 10th wedding annversary and this hotel made our stay a real special pleasure. The next day as we were heading towards St Remy and St Tropez subsequently, the lady at the reception gave us many wise advises, thanks to her we appreciated so muchnthe tarte Tropezienne and visited Lourmarin on our way! I wish we could come back to this so well hidden hotel and make it known to the ones we cherish.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had hoped to stay at the renovated Jules Cesar, but when the reopening was delayed (surprise!) we ended up here. Anyone considering going here needs to seriously consider the pros and cons. On the plus side, you will love the feel of staying in a mansion. The gardens are relaxing. The staff people are all very helpful. The rooms are a photogenic delight and are very clean. And we enjoyed taking the expensive breakfast each morning in the garden. On the minus side, the place is nearly impossible to find. We had 2 different GPS systems that failed to guide us to the location. And unlike other difficult hotels to find, and I have experienced many, it remains nearly impossible every time you try. I cannot overstate this negative. A second negative is the functionality of the rooms. The rooms were apparently designed by a photographer and a designer as opposed to anyone who has ever actually stayed in a hotel! There is no place to put down one's toiletries since the oversized sink occupies 100% of the space in the bathroom. How striking! How impractical! The modern shower has no tray for soap or shampoo; I guess that would detract from the sleek style. There are no bedside tables because there are ceiling to floor chandeliers at bedside. How lovely! How impractical! In sum, this is an upscale hotel with unfortunately significant flaws. The owners should stay here sometime, if they can find the place. This is the opposite of an "average" hotel. Hardly average. But I cannot give it a 5 or even a 4.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

one guidebook describes the hotel as having the feel of a private aristocratic residence and I agree. Our room was in the converted stable, with vaulted ceilings, huge beams. The décor was more modern, all white, minimalistic with a huge wooden armoire. There was a separate sitting area with wrap around couch and table. In addition there was a private patio with two chairs, chaise and table overlooking the pool and garden. To enter, one rang the doorbell and you were warmly greeting by one of the staff. Your room key was left at the desk when going out so there was no need for do not disturb signs, etc. The staff knew when the room was unoccupied for twice daily housekeeping. The breakfast was expensive but the service was impeccable in a lovely setting, either in the garden or in the candle lit dining room. Table setting included antique silver and linens. The staff were incredible Concierge was very helpful in suggesting and reserving restaurants. We did this in advance of our arrival as local restaurants are quite small. My only disappointment was that the pool water was chilly but our stay was in mid April.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 300beachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A special hostellery behind enormous wooden doors down a quiet street in Arles. A lovely and stylish interior awaits you, a friendly welcome and wonderful comfortable rooms. in addition there is a pretty garden and tempting swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Responsable réception at Hotel Particulier, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you so much for your kind reply.
Our guest's opinion is important for us and we still took care of it.

We look forward to welcoming you once again again in our house.

Kind Regards

Catherine
For Brigitte Pagès de Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having found Hotel Particulier (it is a little hidden gem that sat navs get confused with!) we were greeted as we were friends by hotel staff, then given a tour and history of the hotel. Our room was stunning with a perfect view the pool. The hotel is truly a hidden gem behind those front black doors, you really don't expect it to be so big and peaceful. throughout our 2 night stay the staff were extremely friendly and offered great knowledge of Arles and the best restaurant's to have dinner. We had a fantastic relaxing stay and shall be sure to recommend and return

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Responsable réception at Hotel Particulier, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your warm comments.
Your description of our house is so real and nice!

We are still doing efforts with the same attention to the comfort of our guests and want them to feel like home.

We really do hope to welcoming you once again in our house.

Sincerely yours

Catherine
For Brigitte Pagès

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Driving into Arles, you start to wonder why you decided to come here in the first place. Provence is full of such beauty but Arles was a bit odd..... and then it starts to pull you in.

On the second day I found a wonderful drive into Arles via some of the best little towns in the area. The front desk concierge was full of spot on recommendations whether for dinner, lunch or a drive to another town. Yes Arles was a very good base camp to see and discover what is probably the finest areas of Provence.

Hotel Particulier is among only two worthy hotels in Arles. This manor house and its annexes surround a beautiful tranquil little courtyard. Walking in through the gates, one immediately feels released. A dip in the pool is refreshing as are the aperitif's.

The staff is efficient and professional. The woman in charge of this affair is sexy, intelligent and a wonderful hostess. We enjoyed our stay of four evenings, and I recommend you stay at least this many to be able to fully explore the area.

The room we had booked was in the annex building. It was very clean, designed well and appointed with care. We slept with the windows open. Air quality was very good. Breakfasts were perfect and the setting was ideal.

Eating well and late in Arles is a big problem and by late I mean 21:00 which is early in other countries, and dining at the hotel is not possible, however there are some great spots within a short drive out of Arles that make up for it. In fact its the normal thing to do. I think there are three restaurants in Arles worth attempting and the front desk knows them all. The real secrets are out of town, a short drive, and the front desk knows them as well.

Lovely spot. Will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tokyo-debonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Particulier during our France trip last summer. After having been misguided by our GPS for a bit we finely found this hidden gem of a hotel! Once the big wooden door opens to welcome you into this hotel you don't want to leave anymore. We stayed in a big room with view over the courtyard and pool. The decor was simple and tasteful, a well executed renovation of an old "hotel particulier'. The small pool was perfect for a short dip to cool off after a walk through this wonderful city. Service at the pool was very nice and attentive, we enjoyed small details such as little flowers on the silver trays used to bring the drinks. The receptionists were very helpful finding restaurants and booking tables as well as giving tips on excursions around Arles. Breakfast was delicious and served outside in the courtyard by the pool. The bar was very hip and we loved the black and white artsy photos. There is a spa in the hotel too which we didn't visit so I can't say anything about. All in all we had a great stay and I can highly recommend this hotel for couples wanting to have a quiet and luxurious retreat while visiting Arles.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malimini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
255 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mas de Peint
Hotel Le Mas de Peint
#14 of 56 in Arles
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Cloitre
Hotel du Cloitre
#10 of 56 in Arles
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Particulier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Particulier

Address: Rue de la Monnaie, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Arles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arles
#6 Family Hotel in Arles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range: £336 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Particulier 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Particulier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Particulier Hotel Arles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing