We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Porte de Camargue
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location - great breakfast”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great, clean hotel. I wouldn't recommend for long stays, but we were there for 3 nights, and it was comfortable and clean. Breakfast is a bit more than just a continental breakfast, thus ample enough to last you until lunchtime at least. Very well located, and walking distance (if you are comfortable walking) from the old town and attractions. Parking is limited and not available on the premises (and do take a GPS, else you will have trouble finding the hotel). However, there are lots of street parking around the hotel. We struggled with wi-fi, and had to sit in the lobby to get wi-fi, but that was okay - we didn't NEED to be connected.

I can recommend this place as it is well priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    129
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
166
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed here for a week in september. the hotel is basic ,but thats what i expected so no big surprise there. the couple that run the hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful. I really liked the location although it may not be to everyones taste but i found it extremely handy for walking to the centre which took 5 minutes and for getting out of the city to the camargue or avignon etc it was perfect and easy to navigate.The area is residential and very quiet at night and it has a village feel about it,with a supermarket, a bar and a couple of restaurants nearby if you want to stay local.The locals i found to be very friendly and helpful . The hotel itself is a little dull and stuck in a timewarp is probably a fair description, but thats ok as i said earlier ,i wasn't expecting a lot. there is a large roof terrace but sadly no bar....I think this would make a big difference.we ate breakfast only once in the hotel and it was fine but the rest of the time we went to cafe d'autrefois in Arles which was a real find.Would i stay here again? probably not, but if you are on a budget it will be hard to find a better value place to stay than this in Arles.it is what it is so if you want a little bit of luxury its not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecornIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
735 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We slept one night at the hotel Porte de Camargue. The room was just OK and I don't really understand the great TA reviews. During our stay there was no wifi in the rooms. The new owner (since August) explained that he switched provider and that this should be fixed soon. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the centre and it is fairly easy to find free parking around. On the positive side prices were good.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The hotel is well situated on the other side of the river but an easy walk to all the sites. It is in a quiet area. Friendly reception and helpful. rooms are a nice size and clean and comfortable. breakfast was excellent. We really felt we got good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Welcoming staff. We were given room immediately even though we arrived at 10.30am.
Delightful reception area with computer.
Situation. A short walk over the bridge to the historic centre of Arles. Lovely quiet spot by river. Roof terrace. Staff very willing and booked taxi for us. Breakfast with fresh fruit. On bus route to Camargue

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetsybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I chose this hotel because of the reviews I'd read on tripadvisor while planning our trip to France..
and this is the first time I've been so disappointed..
I'm good with simple, clean and "great value" for the price, but, I was a bit shocked by the state of our room. The carpet (which looked like carpet underlay) was worn right through to the floor. When I was taking the bed cover off I noticed large dark stains on the white underside, the mattresses crunched when you lay on them as if covered in plastic, the sheets were clean and pressed but so thin in spots that there were holes in them...the shower curtain needed to be washed badly, the bottom edge was stained and it had what appeared to be blood stains or black mold? These were the things I could see...which started to creep me out about the things I could not see!!
Our hosts were very agreeable, the breakfast was good, the location of the hotel was across a bridge from the old town, which was a nice walk.
Would I recommend this hotel to family and friends? NO, I'm sorry, I would be embarrassed to send them there.

Room Tip: I can not recommend any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We felt so welcomed at this small hotel. You can tell the owners took a lot of time and care in everything they do: from the items they offer for breakfast (love the cantal cheese) to the decorations in the room. We were able to find parking spots for our rental car when we needed to around the block but sometimes we felt like we got the last spot.

A very comfortable hotel (and a bargain at that) and one we will come back to on our next stay in Arles. (Room 21, twin room, 65E).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#13 of 56 in Arles
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#5 of 56 in Arles
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acacias
Hotel Acacias
#15 of 56 in Arles
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porte de Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porte de Camargue

Property: Hotel Porte de Camargue
Address: 15 rue Noguier, 13200, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Porte de Camargue 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porte de Camargue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porte De Camargue Arles
Porte De Camargue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing